California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Braised Corned Beef Brisket

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This was great. Don't waste your time boiling again. It's easy, low mess and very foolproof. That makes this a real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Mini Ham, Swiss, Rye Sandwiches with Cranberry Onion Relish

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
WOW, I am such a dodo bird! Lol I gave this Sammie a face but forgot to tell you how Terrific it was!! Lol I obviously made a regular sandwich. I everything on hand and I was hungry;) The sweet, tang of the ingredients is perfect! Great party food! Thank you USA TODAY;) Think I'll make it again soon;)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Grilled Zucchini Pizza

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
We had the big zucchini that needed to be fixed into something, then I see in an email "Attack of the Giant Zucchini" hence this review. The family liked them. The only problem was the seeds, removed them or spit them out. We used the broiler since we don't have a grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Warm Chocolate Peanut Butter Pudding Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Rich, chocolatey and peanutbutterey... trifecta. My new favorite dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Portuguese Sweet Bread I

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I think it tastes just like that Hawaiian bread from the market. Portuguese? Hawaiian? Who cares??? It's delicious!! Absolutely yummy!! It'd make a great hawaiian grilled cheese... mmm, think I'm getting an idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Honey Butter

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Great ratio. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Mama's Ambrosia

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Delish!! Exactly what I was looking for. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Sweet Teriyaki Beef Skewers

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This was easy and very good. Just plan ahead or you'll blow it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Ham Breakfast Braid

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I too need a video to explain the braid. The instructions just do not give a vivid picture for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

Jennifer's Granola

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I substituted coconut oil for the canola oil. This is a good basic recipe. I plan to add raisins in my next bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana

Sandie's Seven-Layer Bean Dip

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
The 16 year old 'eaters' said, "The Piggiest Eaters LOVED this!" It was gone, gone, gone! The 'Bomb dot Com" was uttered along with the sounds of OH MAN. I think this was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Amish Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Excellent macaroni salad. I love the sweet, tangy, crunchy texture. The only thing I didn't do is add the bell pepper, just personal tastes. I think I found the perfect macaroni salad. Thank you Connie for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
For a healthier version and just as tasty I substituted Honey for the Brown Sugar, Olive Oil for the Veg Oil and used fresh garlic instead of powdered, marinated slightly longer for a fuller flavor and broiled in the Oven 5 minutes each side. Wa La! Yummy Salmon! Thank you for this recipe :+)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Kaiser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
My husband loved these. He ate three the first time he tried them. I am tempted to try the cool whip, but why mess with something that works?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Dominguez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Running Springs, California, USA

The Way to a Man's Heart

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I'm rating this recipe on how it would've turned out, had I done it right. I blew it but I could fully tell that it would've been awesome!! I'm eager to try this again. It's def a 'catch a man' dinner, delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Southern-Style Meat Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This is my go-to! Love it love it love it. Freezes well. Here's my tweaks: I used one pound of ground turkey and one pound of chicken breakfast sausage, also used only .5 tablespoon of chili pepper flakes and did not use salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrwag

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Photo by Nicolec79

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolec79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA

Creole Chicken II

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I followed this recipe pretty closely - and I was pleased with the result. I wouldn't change anything, and I certainly would not omit the raisins. Even my partner who does not like raisins, said they made the dish. I had thighs and drumsticks, so I used those instead of whole legs. Took off their skin and tossed them in the brown sugar. Quickly fried in the oil on all side before putting them in the baking dish. I used peanut oil (groundnut oil) because I didn't have olive oil. I think the can of tomato paste I had was just under 6oz - didn't have any other paste, so I only used that. I had a package of golden raisins, so I used those (probably not a full cup). I have a milder chili powder, so I used 2 Tablespoons of that. Didn't feel like going out to pick fresh parsley late last night - I used about a teaspoon of the dried parsley instead. I've read at least a couple reviews saying they didn't enjoy the recipe and they burned the garlic because there was too much going on. I line everything up before I begin cooking the garlic/onions - that way I can move quickly and add things right away. Also, make sure your oil isn't so hot it instantly burns the garlic. Hope that helps - the recipe is worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
The Apple Dumplings are to DIE for! This recipe reminds me so much of Apple Pie, but the mini version of it. Since I didn't have cinnamon ice cream, I served the apple dumplings with vanilla ice cream. It was a HUGE hit in my household, so I would like to try the pie crust for the Apple Dumplings instead of using cresent dough. Hopefully, it'll taste good!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msdramaqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Espresso Bark

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States