California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Sherry614

Lemon Garlic Salmon

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Simple and classic preparation really makes the salmon shine. I served it with candied ginger carrots on the side, lemon, and my home made tartar sauce. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry614

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramels

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Mmmm, these turned out so good! I had made another Caramel candy which turned out perfectly smooth, but kind of boring in flavor, and I wanted to try something new. I love the brown sugar flavor in these. I did read at David Lebovitz's blog that brown sugar (b/c of the moisture, I think) can cause the texture to suffer in caramels, but I am either not observant enough or I didn't care. These had the richer, deeper flavor that I was after. I cooked them to 244 degrees per reviewers recommendations, and they are soft and chewy the next day. This will be my go to caramel recipe now. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Yum! Quick & easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

Crispy Edamame

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I love edamame, but this was just....yuck! I followed the recipe as written but they were dried out and flavorless. I didn't even eat them all. Sorry, but I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeniferken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

Portuguese Sweet Bread I

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Very good. Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neeceeusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Avalon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Such good flavor! Simple ingredients with an awesome result. I served over mashed potatoes. Perfect for starting on Sunday afternoon and enjoying a wonderful dinner with crispy dinner rolls and a nice salad. 10 star worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA

Amish Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
The texture of this bread was fantastic. The crust was flaky too. It was not dense but fluffy. The flavor was good too. Thank you for a nice change. I used grapeseed oil instead of canola. Thanks to the reviewers who gave the tip about the water amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This is tangy and not overly sweet. Made as written except I did not have vanilla. It was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Made as written but omitted the raisins. (Fam doesn't like them). My issue is that my cake was done at 40 minutes. I used a 9x13 pan. Initially, the cake was dry but after refrigerating overnight I did become moist. Flavor is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I had high hopes for these cookies but unfortunately they didnt turn out well. They stay soft and are difficult to handle. The taste is good but are not a cookie you could share at a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Cake Mix Pumpkin Bread and Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I would not make this again. It was O.K. and it had a good texture, but I have more flavorful recipes for a can of pumpkin and a spice cake mix. It freezes well. I used a caramel flavored frosting and also whipped cream to fancy it up some. I made it as a cake in a Pyrex 9 x 13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

Oven Pot Roast

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This came out so delicious! I subbed chicken broth for the white wine. After an hour I added carrots and potatoes, and sprinkled some salt on them. At the end I put in the broiler for a couple of minutes. SO good! The meat was so tender, the veggies perfect. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Cranberry Orange Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Excellent and very easy to make. I subbed the zest of a navel orange plus the juice of half of it for the can of mandarins. The berries are tart but it's great with the sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Bodega Bay Cioppino

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Needs less tomato sauce (about 2/3), and 1-2 tbs. tomato puree to thicken it. Tomato sauce base needs only 15-20 minutes, otherwise will be overcooked. Needs half the onion, and when it is done, 1-2 tbs. olive oil. Any combination of seafood works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hajni Cheek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Martinez, California, USA

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
YUMMY! I have to agree with BRANDI19, it is hard to roll out, but overall a pretty good cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Swedish Pickled Cucumbers

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
There are several recipes for Pickled Cucumbers on this site and although all are a bit different, they are all delicious and serve a purpose of adding a needed variety to your menu for the evening. Just by adding something cold, sweet and a little crispy is a wonderful compliment to color and texture on your plate. I make up this recipe or another very like it, put it all in a jar, seal it and serve it throughout the week, probably 2 or 3 times. Not really as a side dish but more as a garnish, it's just that little something extra that adds a bit of difference and shows that you care.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA

Cornbread Muffins I

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Too dense and floury for my tastes, frozen corn doesn't taste as good as canned or fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesse Camilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef and Noodles

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I only had ground beef so I browned that and left it in big chunks. I followed the rest of the recipe but did double the stock and I am glad as I actually would still have liked a little more gravy. Hubby liked it, even though he hates peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macaroni Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweetened Condensed Milk

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Will never buy the canned stuff again! I used dry whole milk, so I left out the butter. Also used half coconut sugar and half regular. I store it in a mason jar in the fridge. My favorite use is for making blended vanilla frappacinos ...blending with cold coffee, almond milk, vanilla whey protein powder, a splash of pure vanilla extract and several shakes of cinnamon. Thank you for sharing this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry614

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
These are really good. I used a little less butter than called for, maybe 1/3 cup, and added chocolate chips. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States