California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Creamy Tomato Soup (No Cream)

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
Absolutely delicious! I made this tonight using sourdough bread from Boudin's Bakery. And an immersion blender makes blending soups so much easier - no transferring between pot and blender that way. Highly recommend this recipe!! The fresh basil adds such great flavor that I wouldn't substitute for dried unless you absolutely must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyjojoe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iola, Kansas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kitchensinkfoodie

Roasted Sage Broccoli

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
I love broccoli so I had to try this recipe. I used fresh garlic and a bit of garlic powder. Used fresh Broccoli not frozen. Taste was really good. added a bit of red pepper flake at end for some spice. First time I roasted broccoli came out good. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchensinkfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yoly

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
Excellent recipe. I used 1 pound of potatoes seasoned with salt, freshly ground black pepper, thyme and red pepper flakes. After the first 30 minutes I added one whole cut up large red bell pepper and four sliced garlic cloves. My DH and I thoroughly enjoyed these potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Downey, California, USA

Bread Pudding II

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
OMG THIS IS SO GOOD!!!! I just tried this recipe today, and in 10 minutes more than half of it is already gone! I used a 9-inch square pan and white sliced bread. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Squares

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef and Bean Chile Verde

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
First of all I'd like to respond to Rock_Lobster's review. My intention is to be helpful & not hurtful. If you crumbled the burger very fine like you would for tacos or burritos, I imagine it could easily look like cat food. When I make any type of one pot dish like this using burger, I break it up into very large chunks & let it simmer in the sauce with or without the stovetop searing. the burger gets very tender & absorbs the flavors of the sauce. It breaks up into smaller pieces but still remains very chunky. If you make this again I hope you give it a try. I don't know many people who like to eat stuff that looks like cat food. I went against my normal routine of making the original recipe 1st then altering it to my liking later. The "you can make it quickly on a weeknight" concept is what got my attention. I had a lot of leftover beef roast from the day before - cut it up, threw it in the pot along with the uncooked veggies. Within the hour, dinner was served. When I make this again, I will be using burger because I know it'll be delicious. I will be adding a lot more heat to it though. My crew likes things HOT! The cilantro thrown in near the end of cooking sounds good. I'm going to try that also. I almost forgot - I tripled this recipe to serve 4 guys & myself - If making it for the entire crew I'll have to triple the tripled version - (even for non-football players, I agree the original recipe is not enough for 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARROW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
I just made this for my family and let me tell you........it is SIMPLY AMAZING!!!!! I wanted to give it a fair trial, so I followed the recipe to the letter with 2 exceptions: I added the salt and sugar in small batches, testing after each addition. For our tastea, it only needed half the salt and sugar the recipe called for. I used salted butter (all I had) to make the roux, which could account for it. I also added a little black pepper at the end because that's how my kids like it! I can honestly say that I have no intention of EVER buying canned tomato soup again!!! P.S. The cloves set it off beautifully!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALICIAPAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Banos, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

Cream Corn Like No Other

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
Wonderful! For 20 some odd years, I've held off making creamed corn as dear husband doesn't care for it. I had an extra ear and a half of corn on the cob in fridge and suddenly decided 20 years was too long to go without and old favorite, so despite hubby's protests, I went ahead and tried your recipe. I could have strangled him when he came in to snoop a little and sample *my* corn ... I couldn't keep him out of it! Made as directed only scaled down to a serving of 3, used half & half as I was out of cream, and kept the sugar to a minimum (maybe a tsp). Wasn't sure about the Parmesan cheese on top, but decided to give it a try (using Pecorino Romano) - and loved it. The cheese gives is a wonderful little nutty/salty taste. Thanks SO much for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

Chicken With Mushrooms

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
This was really *really* good. Not knock your socks off, but man it sure stands up there with those good old fashioned comfort food kinda meals. We will be putting this on our weekly rotation for sure. I only used 1 chicken breast that I butterflied and then quartered (used a middling size pan - I think it's probably around 8x10 or so). Made a mixture of cream/mushroom soup and chicken broth, then added the mushrooms (sauteed in olive oil with a little garlic), and then the seared breaded chicken breasts. Mine only had to cook about 20 minutes or so (added the cheese on during the last 10 minutes). I was worried that the chicken would turn out dry as it was just sitting there above the sauce, but it was wonderfully moist! I was also a little put off by added mozzarella cheese, but again - it worked wonderfully with the chicken. Served over steamed rice along with creamed corn (AR recipe Cream Corn Like No Other). We were both really quite pleased. Thank you so much for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Slow Cooker Hearty Mixed Bean Stew with Sausage

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
We don't eat sausage so I left it out and added tomato sauce and a green bell pepper. This is a complete meal itself and super easy to make, not to mention the house smells amazing when you come home from work or school in the afternoon. I suggest serving it with a small side salad and fresh warm bread from the oven. This is a perfect fall meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
Great with green chiles, but next time saute the veggies a little longer and a little less cayenne. Yet Chef John does it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
Delicious! Much better than anything bottled and very easy. My family loved it! Followed the recipe almost exactly. The only change I made was to use brown sugar rather than white and loved the results! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous House Dressing

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
This is so easy to put together and so tasty. I'm not sure what it's supposed to copy, but on it's own, it delicious. Gonna dip some chicken strips in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Tomato Bisque II

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
Excellent!! I, too, used a large can of crushed tomatoes but followed the rest of the recipe. Excellent tomato soup and will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by Linda T

Tuscan Risotto

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
Easy and delicious. I wasn't able to find the Tuscan broth at three different store, so I used regular and added the Tuscan broth flavors.. rosemary, sage, thyme. Lemon, onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Johnsonville® One-Pan Italian

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
This was excellent. The only change I made was to use 8 ounces of Italian sausage and already cut pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA

Easy Creamy Caesar Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
Simple, easy and definitely tasty to make. I use anchovies from Italy and also the oil they are packed in (just 4 additional teaspoons of it) and this dressing is a hit every time. I chill it out of the food processor for 20minutes in an ice bath in the freezer and it is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiiGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
This was yummy! I doubled the recipe and used about 2/3 a bag of the frozen chicken breast tenderloins. My sons family loved it, even asked for the recipe. WIll keep this one on my list for a hardy Winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msbehaving

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Peanut Butter Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
Made these for my cousins bday. Got rave reviews! Only thing I did different was added chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Supreme

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
Throw in some meat and veggies, and it's not horrible. Both adults, the 2 and the 1 year old cleaned their plates. We talked about what a strange dish it was, however, throughout the entire meal. I don't think we would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States