California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Wylma's Breakfast Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I am happy with this one. I did tweak. I used full amount of sausage and halved everything else. Left out the green onions and added my own seasoning. Came out just the right size and perfect.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrwag

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Photo by LindaT

Spaghetti with Buffalo and Tomato and Basil Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Nice taste, but a tad on the sweet side for me. I used Wild Boar - couldn't find buffalo and had boar in freezer. Quick meal and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Bev's Chocolate Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Very good recipe, I added a whipped cream topping instead of the mirrangue because I needed the oven for anther dish. The pie was so simple, but soooo good. I made two, one for Christmas Eve and one for Christmas day. This pie wasa big hit at both parties! Thank you for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by Cynthia Ross

Roasted Rack of Lamb

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
If the flavors of Rosemary and Extra Virgin Olive Oil float your boat, then this easy and elegant recipe is for YOU! Don't even think about using canned bread crumbs or dried Rosemary. Fresh is best. Results are very, very nice. Why dine out when you can cook like this at home? (Use a meat thermometer for perfect results. It took about 15 minutes for the meat to reach 140 degrees. Let it rest several minutes before slicing to get these results.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Photo by SER

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I made 1-1/2 recipes (exactly as written) and was able to yield 11 jars for gifts. I did take the advice of many to bake them directly on the oven grill and it worked beautifully! They were moist but fully cooked. The cloves added a wonderful taste to this bread and as they were Christmas gifts for neighbors, it had a great holiday taste perfect for the holidays. Greasing the jars, and using straight lined jars made getting them out easy. Thanks for this great recipe Linda Jean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by LindaT

Chicken Butternut Squash Posole

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
As the recipe is written, it is a nice but rather bland soup. I used a roasted garlic salsa that I really like but it didn't add nearly enough spice to the soup. I have never had a posole that didn't have some cumin, chili.. etc.. and I really felt it needed that. I did like the butternut in this. I did not add the optional cream. After I jazzed this up with some spices, I really did enjoy this. so do make this.. but have your spices ready
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by LindaT

Butternut Squash Patties

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Yummy.. my only change was to use a spicy salt. I love butternut squash, but I like it best with a little heat to offset the sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by FrackFamily5

Chocolate Chip Cheesecake I

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This was good. Very easy to make. The flavor is mild and I missed the tang that added lemon or sour cream would have added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Perfect Crab-Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I didn't have an EGG!! But I don't think it made a difference. They sure are cheesy. They have a very mild flavor so I added a scant 1/4 tsp of cayenne. Was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by FrackFamily5

London Broil II

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Wow. Made this for Christmas dinner. I used 3 gorgeous sirloins instead of flank meat. Marinaded the steaks overnight about 16 hours. Very good flavor. I would recommend the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This was a good base recipe. It needed a bit more flavor for us. I'm sure it's wonderful for introducing to kids, and it was truly simple to prepare. Thank you Alyson for a good base recipe I can use to make my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Despite being skeptical, I made this for Christmas Dinner. I put a rub of butter and Montreal Steaak Seasoning instead of Herbs de Provance. 4.5 roast, 22 minutes at 500, then l hr and 40 minutes until the therm. read 130. I took it out then as I didn't want to overcook it. It was perfect. I had enough drippings to make a thin gravy. I let it sit out overnight and the internal temperature was 63. I put bunjie cords on the oven door so I didn't open it by mistake. It was amazing to me that the meat actually cooked with the oven off. It was beautifully pink. I will use this recipe from now on. I can always rely on a recipe from Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I made exact to recipe. You need to make this day before and refrigerate overnight. Otherwise, it will not properly set. I found this rather bland. I think it is a good base recipe to add to. Next time I will use 8x8 baking dish. I used 8x10, and still too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

King Crab Appetizers

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Super good! Took others' advice and used the phyllo tartlets in the grocery store freezer isle, for a time saver. (And to be sure we like the filling, before we make them again for New Year's Eve!) Very rich and perfect. I used a small melon baller to portion each scoop into the mini phyllo tartlets. Bake for 20 mins and they're perfect! I had some filling left over after filling 15 tartlet shells, so I would say you may get 22-25 if you also use the minis? Just a guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allrecipefan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Kings Beach, California, USA

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Move over green bean casserole...this is it! I just added a bit more rice (another half cup). A little bonus...it's even BETTER the next day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allrecipefan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Kings Beach, California, USA

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
We were very excited to try this and really wanted to like this. Following the advice of many reviewers we used 10 eggs, italian bread, added a little cinnamon on top, and for fun threw a few strawberries on as well. The result was just... not good. It had a strange off flavor, almost like a salt. Once you got past that it was just a very bland flavor. None of us finished our plate. We will not be trying this recipe again, which says a lot for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This dish sounded amazing but was a huge disappointment, and that was a huge bummer since it does take a little time to make. I served it to company and no one could finish it. The pesto is very greasy with lots of olive oil. I did not find it creamy at all, in fact it was very strong. It smelled much better than it tasted. I did not change anything at all, I followed it to the letter. After tasting it, I am quite surprised at the amount of stars because usually recipes with this many stars are really good. I won't be making again. Also, I could not find a jar of pesto that large and had to buy two - it was expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stevens

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Photo by Pearl

Herbed Greek Roasted Potatoes with Feta Cheese

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pearl

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Sooooo gooood!!! The flavor was perfect, the lamb so tender, the gravy it produced was also perfect!!! We just had this for Christmas dinner and it was a big hit :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This dish was a huge hit with both adults and kids at my family's Christmas dinner. I used 3 whole sweet potatoes, wrapped in foil, and roasted for 1.5 hours in the oven. I substituted the white sugar with 2 tbsp maple syrup, but otherwise followed the original recipe. It was so warm and fluffy...just all around everyone's favorite dish. The sweet potatoes are sweet enough as is so next time I will eliminate the white sugar or maple syrup all together. Definitely making this for all of our Christmas dinners from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywaiwai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States