California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
These cinnamon rolls are delicious. Of course you need some baking skills with this recipe. I didn't give this recipe 5 stars because I do think it was necessary to change a few things from the original recipe. I didn't think it was very much like a cinnabon but they are still good. I like my filling plentiful. In order to achieve that I used more butter, cinnamon, and sugar. I doubled the amount called for in the recipe. I suggest rolling the dough pretty thin. (I found that the Cinnabon rolls have a thinner dough that is rolled up more) The baking time is pretty accurate but always double check rolls. (never open the oven unless they are done or you will lose the necessary heat) I have made these cinnamon rolls numerous times and always change it up by adding something else. Try pecans next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greengodgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: National City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Whole Jar of Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
These are absolutely the best pb cookies out there. I've made these more than once and always get requests to make more. They are very moist and delicious. I don't think it is necessary to change anything from the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greengodgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: National City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ninety Minute Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Best cinnamon rolls I've ever had! I prepped these the night before (formed the rolls and put in a greased 9x13" pan), covered and put in the frige until morning. Took them out 30 minutes before baking and topped with cream cheese frosting post-bake. Very sweet, but paired them with some fresh fruit! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLIMMETTE

How to Make Farinata

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I first had farinata in its birthplace, Liguria, Italy (specifically, the little town of Riomaggiore in Cinque Terre) and fell in love with the tasty, umami-packed flavor. I like a lot of Chef John's recipes - this was easy to make but I would not say it was totally authentic. That said I think I like this version better, as the ones we had in Italy were flatter/thinner and had less of a delightful crust. I feel it benefitted from a light sprinkle of additional salt and paper before eating to really bring out the chickpea flavor. Otherwise I made it exactly as directed and turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIMMETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Multi Grain Pilaf

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
i chose this recipe bc i had some leftover white wine that i wanted to use up.. i cut this in half and used all white rice (1 cup).. i subbed chopped onion for the mushrooms.. used 1.5 cups water and the half cup of wine.. i was worried about it lacking salt/flavor as some commented and added 2 tsp chicken bouillon instead of 1.5 tsp.. next time i would reduce it a bit as it was a little on the salty side.. it makes me think of rice my mom or gram would make.. thank you for keeping me from throwing out that last bit of wine and making good use of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baklava

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
My father loves Baklava so I make it for him at least 2 times a year. I used more nuts and added almonds and walnuts. I also didn't use all of the syrup because I noticed that is too heavy if you do. Great recipe though! !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinnamon McDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Made exactly as described except for halved the oil per other reviewers. Huge hit and now a staple in our home. I would minimum double, triple, even quadruple the marinade. Next time I will actually marinade overnight. Thanks for a great recipe. You're making me look like a great cook to my new husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT

Olive Oil Lemon Cake

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I have had olive oil in cakes before and liked it so I had high hopes for this recipe. The flavor for me was fine..the thing that didn't go over well for me was the texture. The thing I like about Bundt cakes made with butter is the edges get a crispness that I really like... this did not have that at all. The cake was just soft... all soft. I think having soft edges would have been ok if the cake had some almonds or something.. anything to supply some texture, but there was nothing. If you like all soft cakes, this would be a good cake for you.. not so much for me as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Marie Miller

Magic Mango Bread

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Good recipe, great way to use ripe mangos. Looked at a few mango bread recipes, liked this one with the coconut. I didn't have raisins, didn't have walnuts, so added chopped pecans instead. substituted nonfat plain Greek yogurt for the butter. My house smelled fabulous. The bread is delicious, tasted it warm. The only thing that is a bit strange is that the bread is a good texture, but the mango pieces are soft....but still delicious. I think I would chop the fruit smaller or run in the blender next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
This was yummy. I grilled the chicken until nearly done THEN basted with the honey mustard so that it REALLY stuck. I'll make this again. We were pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Apricot Pie

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I used this recipe to make an apricot pie, using apricots from my backyard's fruit tree. I did substitute my preferred pie crust (called Foolproof Pie Dough, submitted by me on this site) but the filling was pretty much as stated, except I did use 3/4 sugar and 1/2 brown sugar, as I had a good portion of tart fruit. I did do an egg wash on the crust before putting in the oven so it came out a nice golden color. I would recommend doing that. I did add the sugar after as well. Next time, I may do it before baking. The apricot filling was a bit watery when I was mixing it together, so I added a heaping tablespoon of corn starch. I also sliced the apricots into small bits rather than quartering them. After it was baked, it was still quite watery (but the crust was not soggy) so I think next time I will put in more corn starch or replace the flour with Instant ClearJel. The taste, though, was perfect. Not overly sweet and not too tart. All in all, a good use of the fruit I had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Turkey Picadillo II

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
this was pretty good but missing something.. i think i was expecting the olives and capers to be more pronounced.. i subbed dried cherries for the raisins and probably should have doubled them as i doubled the beans.. i reduced the cayenne to 1/4 tsp and could have gone up to 1/2 tsp.. 2 would have been way too much.. i should have seasoned the turkey as it was cooking b/c it was lacking something in the final product.. i salted to taste and added some onion powder at the end.. condiments will be added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nakiah Burnes

Strawberry Lemonade Cocktail

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I made lemonade and then mixed with fresh strawberries that I pureed in my magic bullet. I put half in the shaker and added 1.5 oz grapefruit vodka. For the other half I tried Peach Schnapps. I sugared the rim and used a strawberry for garnish instead of lemon slice. My hubby liked the peach better, I'm more of a sour kind of girl. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakiah Burnes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA
Photo by Erika

4H Banana Bread

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Delicious! Just added one teaspoon of ground cinnamon and instead of all white sugar, I did half white and half brown sugar! Other than those minor changes, followed the recipe exact and we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oroville, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Good flavor. I added more of the spices and added allspice. I agree with other reviews that the molasses is a very strong flavor. Next time I will use 1/2 molasses and 1/2 corn syrup. I scooped mine with a small ice cream scoop, sprinkled with sugar and flattened with the bottom of a glass. They turned out very flat with a crispy edge and a chewey center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Reed-Shoemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Best banana bread I've had :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*

English Muffin Bread

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Easy and wonderful! Was such a huge hit when I made it for a brunch, I had to make more for just us! I halved the recipe and baked it divided between 2 mini-loaf pans. Forget buying over-priced packages of muffins at the store, this recipe is easy, will save you money, and please your taste buds and belly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
This was a great basic recipe. It would be great with sausage instead of hamburger and other vegetables as well. It makes homemade so simple and delicious. Good bye to bottled spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vanilla Ice Cream VIII

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I used this recipe as a base. I halved the recipe for my electric machine, using a 15 oz. can of coconut milk and enough almond milk to make 4 cups. Then I added one REALLY ripe banana and 2 T crushed pineapple (I cut the sugar back to 3/4 cup)... FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dodger_girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Scallops

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Excellent! I confess I added a little Old Bay. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States