California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Lisa's Favorite Carne Asada Marinade

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Love love love this, I made it last minute and it only had an hr to marinade but I was perfect , I didn't use all of the marinade and ate it with breakfast:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Vega

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hesperia, California, USA

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Okay only if you add more powdered sugar but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Easy and addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Giblet Gravy II

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This is the kind of recipe I love. After making a batch of homemade pan gravy, I wonder why anyone would even CONSIDER buying it in the jar? This is so good. Very easy. The picture I'm uploading is the chunky version, containing small bits of sage and cooked giblets. Next time, I might blend it so the gravy is super-smoothe. But it's good this way, too. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Seriously? "Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup"? This was absolutely horrible. And yes, I did follow the directions, with the exception of the cilantro, because I don't like that taste. My husband and I both thought it was pretty much "tasteless". Two spoonfuls and it was down the garbage disposal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GourmetGale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This is such a great base pizza recipe. To help liven it up, I spread olive oil and garlic onto the crust before baking, yum! It's such an easy recipe that I can feel confident in making pizza often in my home. No more paying for processed pizza, this tastes better and is better for you. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha Brewer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodland, California, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Butter

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I have been making this for years. I buy the soft butter in the tub, it is about 15 oz. I take it out of the tub and put it into a bowl. Then I add Italian seasoning, garlic powder, minced garlic packed in water (mash out the water) if you choose to use salt then make it garlic salt. I use Lawry's garlic salt with parsley. It has a green cap. I buy it in a big container at Costco. If you don't want to use salt then use garlic powder. I mix all the ingred. to my taste then I put it back in the original container mark it garlic butter and put back in the frig. I use it for everything. It stays nice and soft so you can use it easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbrae, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Stuffing Skillet

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I cube the chicken so I don't have to cut it up for small kids later. I add garlic and onion, then too with Frenches Fried Onions and there is always empty plates! This is a favorite of the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Holiday Left-Over Sweet Potato Muffins

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I turned this recipe into muffins for an easy-to-eat-on-the-road snack and they came out perfectly! I used up all of our leftover sweet potato casserole and half a Newcastle Brown Ale in the batter (drank the other half). Added a cup of golden raisins and sprinkled demerara sugar on the tops for a little texture...and voila! The BF is raving about them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkatano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Followed the directions, except used my own garlic seasoning on the chicken, after the egg wash. Used approx. 1/3 cup of butter and sprayed the 13X9 with Cooking spray. It was delish and something different from my usual chicken dishes. Winner Winner Chicken Dinner! Thanks for the recipe! Will definitely make this again. Cooked in in my convection oven at 375 for 25 minutes and then turned it up to 400 for an additional 7 minutes. Perfect texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Very good chili recipe that is not too overwhelming with heat. Has good flavor used chicken Italian sausage with ground top sirlion. Served over brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA

Butterscotch Bread Pudding

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This recipe is way too good. I followed the directions of the "most helpful" review using white chocolate chips mixed with the butterscotch chips and raisin bread. I also used half milk and half heavy cream. After taking it to a church event and getting lots of compliments, I made it a second time halving the brown sugar (Splenda). This is a keeper, though its too rich for too often. Sorry no photo. It went too fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Really the best flavor. Watch them though the cheese will burn if your oven runs a little hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Lampman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lodi, California, USA

Butterscotch Bread Pudding

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This recipe is way too good. I followed the directions of the "most helpful" review using white chocolate chips mixed with the butterscotch chips and raisin bread. I also used half milk and half heavy cream. After taking it to a church event and getting lots of compliments, I made it a second time halving the brown sugar (Splenda). This is a keeper, though its too rich for too often. Sorry no photo. It went too fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Ok what sold me on this recipe was Chef John's extremely entertaining video but this may be my favorite crock pot recipe yet. I agree wither other reviewers that the potatoes took more like an hour to cook and I used tiny white potatoes cut in half! I put the baby bok choy in closer to the end (maybe about 15 minutes?) as to not get super mushy. I also love spice so I tripled the amount of curry AND used panang curry paste because it's what I had on hand. I love the other reviewers idea of adding kaffir lime leaves. Trying that next time. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Cayucos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
So delicious! I was pleasantly surprised! These will be going into our rotation for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Hamburger Bun Croutons

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Melt-in-your-mouth croutons! My favorite crouton recipe ... Easy and versatile. After coating in olive oil, I seasoned with seasoned salt, garlic powder, and Italian seasoning blend. Finished with black pepper. Fun to make! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry614

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Party Mimosa

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This recipe was great with our breakfast casserole! I always thought a mimosa was just OJ + champagne, so when I read this, it peaked my interest. Unfortunately, my grocery store didn't have the apricot-mango nector. Fortunately, I found Mango Pineapple juice, so I used 24 ounces of that, and it tasted great! I also read that a reviewer put raspberries in hers, so I plopped 2 raspberries in each of my crystal glasses...it was pretty. :) I will definitely make this again when I want to have a fancy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Garlic Roasted Broccoli

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Everyone loved it! But the difference is really making certain that it starts to char
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Cabbage Balushka or Cabbage and Noodles

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
i was looking for something to make for bf's lunch this week and stumbled across this.. it came out so good i had a small plate of it for lunch.. i cut this in half and used 3 T of margarine instead of the whole 1/4 cup.. i think my onion and cabbage were on the smaller side because i felt the dish could have had a little more of both.. i added a clove of garlic.. went heavy on the pepper b/c bf loves it.. and used chicken bouillon granules instead of salt when seasoning to taste.. i also added some turkey slices that i diced up for a protein component.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States