California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Alabama Fire Crackers

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and lessened the oil to 1 cup and 1/3 with 2 bags of oyster crackers and followed the rest of the recipe exactly. I made these for snacks for our camping trip and everyone gobbled them down with the same kind of surprise that I had. These little crackers with a weird mix of ingredients were actually really this good. I wasnt a believer and now I am for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Walnut Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
The filling batter tasted better than the pie when it was cooked, but it was still pretty good. I would probably play around with the recipe if I were to make it again. I made a graham cracker crust that had only butter and graham crackers for ingredients and would choose one that included sugar next time as I didn't find the pie to be quite sweet enough. It was good but could be improved upon with homemade whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Graham Cracker Crust II

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I'm not sure why this gets such rave reviews. The directions are completely confusing (what is a "square" of a graham cracker? To me there are 4 little rectangles per one large rectangle, with half being the only square.) I started off with 1/4 cup butter and 4 large crackers, increased it to 8 crackers when it was obvious that 4 wasn't nearly enough for a 9" pie crust, and eventually settled on 6 TBSP of butter to 12 large crackers. It worked, and it stuck together after baking it better than I would have guessed, but it didn't taste that great. I would not make this crust again. I would go for a recipe that calls for sugar. I made this with the Maple Walnut Pumpkin Pie and it wasn't very good (but the pie itself was pretty good.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Momma Moots' Pork and Pierogies Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I didnt really care for this dish, my BF thought it was just ok as well. We both wanted more spice or something to brighten the flavors. I used thyme instead of rosemary because I like it better and thought meh its just ok. We have a lot left over and I'm hoping it tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Old Time Soft Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I have my dough chilling right now, I was out of butter so searched for a recipe using shortening; many reviewers added butter and gave it 5 stars. I have also been guilty for altering recipes so I won't act as the review police! lol but I do know that would affect the outcome much... Here are my substitutions: 3tsp baking powder for baking soda, sour cream blended w/milk for butter-milk and upped the vanilla by a tsp. to hide the extra baking powder taste. Hoping for the best here because I wanted some sugar cookies today! My plan is to add a powder sugar glaze; I have both maple and lemon extract so I may do both since I doubled this recipe... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
very nasty , thru the whole thing out ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stoner69

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Using the exact recipe but halving everything. This was the BEST BBQ pulled chicken. Chicken wasn't dry. Sauce perfect. I cooked 3 boneless chicken breast thawed. On high for almost 3 hrs. Removed and using forks made bigger chunks so wouldn't turn to mush. Cooked for almost another hr on low. The last 1/2 and hr took lid off so it wouldn't be dry. I'm cooking it right now and oh sweet baby ray tops it off!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanci Kerp Brand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Calico Beans

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I've made these for years and they are perfect! I sometimes leave out the ground beef if using this as a side dish with other heavy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Bice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Autumn Apple Salad II

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Nice salad! I didn't use the dried cherries, I put fresh blueberries instead. Next time I might try using walnuts instead of almonds. I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Baked Italian Meatballs

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Nice, easy recipe. I added 1/4 C grated parmesan cheese and one egg to the meat mixture. I formed meatballs with an 1/8 C measuring scoop and ended up with 20 meatballs. I skipped the blender step- really unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA

Chef John's Mushroom Gravy

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I made this gravy tonight, and although the flavor was excellent, it was WAY too salty as written in the recipe. I was worried about that extra pinch of salt to help "draw out" the water from the mushrooms, which only made it worse when simmering down the broth and concentrating the flavors. Next time, I'd use either unsalted butter and/or low-sodium beef broth. I used it over mashed potatoes and buttermilk meatloaf, which paired perfectly with the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Osowoofy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Getting ready to do this for a second family reunion and they disappeared the first time so making a double bunch! Added a little hot turkey sausage....very little.....and put a cranberry in the middle as a surprise: Big hit! Made them about 3/4" each as an appetizer with picks. Fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Carroll

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

Vegan Lasagna I

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
On my quest to find a vegan recipe for company I ran across this recipe. I made a practice lasagna and added zucchini to the second layer and mushrooms to the top layer. I really enjoyed the lasagna but the jewel was the tomato sauce. I think the secret was using the stewed tomatoes rather than regular canned tomatoes. I've already made another batch of sauce for the freezer. Thanks for a great recipe. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Photo by katrwag

German Chocolate Brownie Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Really fun recipe. Next time might chill the dough and thumbprint them for the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrwag

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Moussaka

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
The best, the very BEST moussaka, that I have ever eaten! I thought 4 eggplants would be too much but it wasn't. I found it is also important to let the dish sit for 30 minutes after taking it out of the over to let everything firm up. We loved this recipe and will absolutely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Apricot Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
THis is something I made in the 70s. Tried and true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA
Living In: Granite Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I cheated and used pre-seasoned baby backs from Costco but followed the remainder of the cooking instructions per recipe. I even omitted BBQ sauce on a quarter of one rack because one of my kids doesn't care for BBQ sauce. These were awesome as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

Chicken Fiesta Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Its quick and simple to make and pretty flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Wonderful! I hate fried porkchops, but husband was craving them. Preheated oiled sheet in oven; dredged chops in a mixture of Italian breadcrumbs & processed stuffing mix, then proceeded as directed. Mine were super thick and cooked perfectly 12" one side, 13" next side. Served with remainder of stuffing (which I added cranberries, celery and onion to), homemade applesauce, and sautéed fresh green beans. Mine came out delightfully crispy on the outside, moist on the inside. Even hubby (who was originally upset I refused to panfry) devoured. Thanks so much for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

Coconut Tofu Keema

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Left out some of the tomato sauce (2C) and hot sauce sense some people in my house don't like spice. It was great. I served it with both a side of naan and brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abirleffi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States