California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Very tasty! I think there is more topping than filling so next time I would increase the filling ratio by a third.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easiest, Most Delicious Meringue Buttercream

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Ugh! I followed directions. It came out creamy and fluffy, but tasted like sweet whipped butter. When I chilled it, it became solid like cold butter. I used it to frost cupcakes I brought to a party and was embarrassed to admit that I made it. It's a good thing I piped the frosting on the cupcakes before I chilled it otherwise it would have been too rock hard to pipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Hillyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Palisades, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld

Easy Peezy Sweet Toasted Cheese Sandwich

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I'm basing my review on this recipe as written. Hawaiian bread is already sweet. The sugar just adds to the sweetness which results in sweet cheese. I made half with the sugar and half without. Without the sugar this is easily a 4 star recipe. I served these on half rolls topped with the cheese. I will make these again without the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by Linda Trem

Simple Feese (Vegan Fake Cheese)

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
This was different and I am glad I tried it. It really just tasted like almond butter with cheese... rather than cheese. Maybe more nutritional yeast? It wasn't bad.. just a little odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Pretty in Pink Sangria

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
This was the best sangria I've ever had! I made this for a 4th of July bbq and everyone raved about it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Schuster Altmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA

Cinnamon-Laced Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Just made this coffee cake for the first time, and I'm about to go back for seconds (it's still warm from the oven)! It's so good and reminds me a great deal of the one my mom used to make way back when we were kids. I didn't have any sour cream, so I substituted non-fat vanilla Greek yogurt, and it's yummy! I made just 1/2 batch and used a 9X9" pan, and I didn't have any nuts to add, and that's fine, too. My mom rarely, if ever, added nuts to ours, so it was another way to remember my childhood. I'm a fan of brown sugar, so it's helping my sweet tooth, for sure! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Ritchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
A little heavy on the butter (to the point that the potatoes look a little greasy as written). I like to use roasted garlic, a little less butter than called for, and eyeball the milk until I get the consistency I want. You really can't beat the flavor of these potatoes! I just like mine a little fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Lemon Dressing

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
This was a fresh tasting dressing. Would also be good dressing on chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatloaf...a Little Southwest Style

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
This will be my new go-to meatloaf recipe. It was excellent. I used salsa with a medium heat level and mesquite bbq sauce. Followed the recipe to a "T", and I found nothing that I would change; it's perfect as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Twice Baked Potato Casserole With Bacon

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
What's not to love here?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Lamb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maritime Blueberry Buckle

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Fresh blueberry heaven with homemade vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Lamb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Glaze for Ham

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Orange juice, brown sugar, dash ground cloves, dash ground ginger, corn starch. boil, drizzle on sliced ham and back at 350 degrees F. for one hour covered in foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Lamb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld

Chicago-Style Hot Dog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
The perfect 4th of July recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

Green Onion Ranch Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
This is a great party dip. Super easy to make with a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Picetti-Grosjean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Photo by Linda Trem

Sriracha Cheese Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
So delicious.. thank you Christine for the recipe... and your friendship. You will be missed by many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by bd.weld

Best, Unique Grilled Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
This grilled cheese sandwich really piqued my interest. My taste buds were doing a happy dance after tasting this. Definitely unique. Thank you for sharing bentbrandt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

Amy's Delicious Turkey Burgers

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
WE loved these burgers. They are the best turkey burger you can make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Nice, moist, dark and very quick to put together. I have a few chocolate cakes that I like as much taste-wise, but I can throw this together while I'm fixing dinner if DH has a whim. I cool for 30 minutes and then put in the freezer for 15, and it's cool enough to frost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Asian Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
this came out a lot better than i expected.. i did deviate quite a bit based on what i know me and bf prefer.. left out the brown sugar.. subbed rice wine vinegar for the orange juice.. garlic chili paste for the sweet chili sauce.. and 1/2 tsp garlic powder for the fresh.. added 1/4 tsp each of ground ginger and onion powder.. i marinated three 5 oz chicken strips and one 7 oz bone in pork chop (i read online that as long as you bring them up to proper temperature it's safe to marinate them together).. the pork took to the marinade a lot better but the chicken was still tasty.. i could see how this recipe could lend itself to more of a sweet profile.. but that's just not our style.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
love this recipe! wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsazsa Gardea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States