California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Parma Wrapped Chicken with Mediterranean Vegetables

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
i used this as a base for what i had available in the house.. green beans, green bell pepper, russet potatoes, carrots, mushrooms, and regular bacon.. i wanted this to be more herbal, but i stuck with just the thyme.. i steamed the potatoes a bit to ensure they would be fully cooked along with the other veggies.. this is somewhere between a 3.5 and a 4, but given the fact that i didn't use the exact ingredients and bf enjoyed the meal, i'll stick with giving it a 4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Mediterranean Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
this was so tasty for being so simplistic.. i used Greek Seasoning Blend from this website for the greek seasoning.. i used fresh green beans that i steamed and fresh roma tomatoes that i chopped up for the canned.. like others, i used regular italian dressing.. i didn't use the exact measurements listed and just eyeballed everything.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veronica Becerra

Chef John's Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I have a lemon tree in my yard so I've had to search for as many delicious ways to use them as possible. This recipe is one of my favorites. Normally, I'm not a fan of lemony desserts but I decided to give this one a try because I have hundreds of lemons and my boyfriend also loves lemon bars. Once I made this, I was hooked! Absolutely perfect combo of the lemon and crust. I'm a huge crust lover so I did increase the crust by a third to make it a bit thicker but other than that there are no complaints. Very fresh and not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Becerra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This is a fantastic pancake recipe that is not only quick but pretty simple to make. I might try the buttermilk version but I make this one all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Becerra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scalloped Corn

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I've actually made this twice, I'll be making it again Thursday. It's a must for the holidays!! Everyone has absolutely loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maili

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Crispy Panko Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Excellent chicken. I had very thick chicken breasts so cut them into 3 thin layers. 2 breasts made 6 nice little chicken pieces. I followed this Mazola recipe to a T and they were perfect. Such a quick weeknight meal, I'll be making this again for sure. I had some leftover honey mustard sauce that went perfectly with our rice and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Caesar Salad Supreme

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was, hands down, the best caesar salad I've ever had. My husband and I both can't get enough of this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was awesome. Substituted veggie "ground beef" as I am a vegetarian and still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Chavez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Crab Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Great soup base but not quite right for me and my family. I used a high end can of lump crab meat and canned crab seems too crabby/fishy tasting for this recipe in my opinion. A pound seemed like way too much. Fresh mild tasting crab would have been ideal but I wouldn't pay for fresh crab for this recipe. Next time I think I'll use this soup base (minus the green onions again) and add some potatoes and chopped clams instead of the crab. I'll give this one a few more tries with some changes and maybe a different brand of crab meat and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftyPancakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was delicious, as printed. I've tried lots of recipes for mac n cheese. This one is really good, although it didn't make enough for leftovers!! This recipe is more creamy than most. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Glazed Sweet Potatoes with Bacon and Caramelized Onions

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I didn't change a thing, this recipe is perfect as it is , and great for Thanksgiving! I made it last year, and everyone raved about it! Making it again this year, and can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiralynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Semolina and Egg Pasta

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Love this recipe! Pasta has never tasted so GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPMsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

Sweet Corn Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I had never made cornbread before. I followed this recipe and it turned out GREAT! Loved how moist they turned out. Served this with chili beans and OMG my family were happy campers! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPMsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

Moist Banana Muffins

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
My two year old enjoyed these very much! Will definitely make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPMsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

Kathy's Roast and Vegetables

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This recipe came out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPMsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
These are great biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPMsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

Bread Machine Bagels

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I made these last week and LOVED them! I ended up making onion, sesame and cinnamon raison bagel and they all turned out great! I am making more of the onion bagels next time - delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPMsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

Italian Bread Using a Bread Machine

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I made this the other night and it turned out great! I followed the instructions to a "T." Yes, I'll use this recipe again. The next time, although, I'll experiment with herbs; however, it's great just the way its written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPMsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

Mom's Apple Fritters

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
These are good, though the batter is a little plain. Used pears instead of apples. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

Irish Potato Farls

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I make these, but never used a recipe; a friend showed me how to make them 18 years ago when we first moved to Ireland. They are bland, they are intended as a food carrier, not as a food by themselves and are usually eaten with breakfast or another meal. In Northern Ireland they are sometimes deep fried after cooking as part of the "Ulster Fry" they are good that way too, but I prefer just the griddle version. To reheat just place under a grill, in a toaster/toaster oven or use the griddle again. You can also stick between two damp paper towels in the microwave for about 20 seconds but any longer may make the tough. They are very good with canned beans also with jam, honey, melted cheese or bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melodi Grundy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States