California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

BBQ Salmon in Butter Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
UH-MAZING!!! This made the salmon filets so moist and juic, which I have found a problem with other recipes. I didn't change a thing! Would definitely make again!! Even the kids thought it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Reinhold-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Easy Shredded Chicken Taco Filling

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
i loved the way the chicken came out. Super moist and melt in your mouth!! I did not use the cumin or chili powder because I feel it gives it that processed " taco seasoning" flavor. Instead of tomato sauce used salsa. Before I added the chicken I sautéed chopped garlic and half an onion. I also used onion powder and garlic powder to taste. I will definitely use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Reinhold-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Brown Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
The dough was very sweet as well pretty gooey and on the thinner side. I refrigerated it for about 45 minutes until viscous enough to roll and hold together. I was concerned that they were too rich, but once they baked the flavor evened out nicely. I Baked them for 9 minutes on a light cookie sheet with wax paper and one darker cookie sheet with wax paper. The lighter cookie sheet cookies were super soft on the bottom. I had to flip them over and bake for an additional 6 minutes at 2 minute intervals to insure they didn't burn. The darker cookie sheet cookies came out better, slightly golden brown on the bottom. Flavor was good but I didn't love the texture. These were a little too light and "airy". Think I'll look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Reinhold-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic-Sauteed Asparagus

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Good flavor, but not convincing enough for my kids to love it. I personally would make these again. I did steam them x5 minutes. They were a little too soft. I will definitely steam them for a little less time, as aldente is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Reinhold-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This is pretty good. The first time I made it, I followed reviews and used day-old rice but forgot to double it (since 2 cups raw rice = 4 cups cooked, more or less). I thought the veggie/egg to rice ratio was perfect that way, so now I use 4 cups cooked rice and double everything else except the vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT

Seitan Pepperoni

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
LOVE this stuff. Used soy sauce instead of liquid aminos. had this on pizza and with scrambled eggs.. wonderful stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This construction makes the best Chicken Parm, keeping the breading crunchy and toothsome, not gummy and drowning in a sea of sauce. I copied the assembly from the video exactly. Because I was using cutlets I didn't need extra cooking time in the oven, so stuck them under the broiler to melt the cheese. Made almost as written, scaled for 2 cutlets with 1 cup Panko and ? cup grated Parm. Lacking fresh basil, I amped up the flavor with Italian seasoning added to the Panko mix and a sprinkle of fresh parsley when I plated the cutlets. I used Chef John's tomato sauce (slightly modified), it is my standard tomato sauce for years and works so well with so many things, Chicken Parm being no exception. Total winner, and completely company-worthy. I served it with some Vermicelli and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Photo by Yoly

Spinach Brownies

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
These are so delicious!! Based on the reviews, I used only 1/4 cup butter and sauteed onions and finely chopped garlic. Once they were translucent and aromatic I added the fresh ribbon-cut spinach and sauteed until wilted. I used a blend of cheddar and jack cheeses instead of the mozzarella. Will make them again, trying different cheeses and maybe adding mushrooms. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Downey, California, USA

Greek Chicken & Tomato Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
So I'm on this blasted diet and while I would love to smoother this in ranch dressing and onion ring bits, I can't (sad sorrowful face). 5 stars for nutritional value and fullness factor. This will not knock your socks off, but all things given it's darn good. The chicken itself is full of flavor and insanely juicy. The Kalamata olives and Feta cheese give much needed flavor. All in all, I'm happy. But it's better in a wrap. I should know - John just made one and it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

Vanilla Ice Cream V

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
My daughter is an ice cream aholic, but she uses splenda in place of sugar!!! I'm one of those people who can tell if something has artificial sweeteners, but I thought it was "Slendid" (no pun intended)!!! It's the only way I'll eat it. Blessings!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Tabitha & me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This was delicious, it was my first time making carrot cake and it was very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Port Hueneme, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Gnocchi Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Every time I make this rich, creamy, delicious soup, people beg for the recipe! For those who think it's bland, I found 1 1/4 tsp. salt and 1/2 tsp. ground black pepper to be just right. (I also like to add 1/2 tsp. ground turmeric, which imparts a lovely golden color and a subtle hint of flavor, but it's totally optional.) The cornstarch slurry does make for a very thick soup. If you find it gets too thick, and you prefer a thinner soup, skip or reduce the slurry. You can also thin a too-thick soup with more broth or milk. BTW, Trader Joe's carries potato gnocchi in the dry pasta section for a fraction of the cost of grocery story prices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Green Onion Gravy

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Very good and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Photo by bd.weld

Coconut Curried Rice with Cashews

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This aromatic rice is full of flavor, with just the right amount of spices! I used Uncle Ben's Basmati rice so the cooking time was closer to 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

Slovak Stuffed Cabbage

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This was my first time trying this recipe and it came out delicious! I will likely do it without the sauerkraut next time. I'm not a huge fan. But overall, this was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Potato Candy

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
OMG, don't do it :/ It was like sickeningly sweet potato soup and I used TWO lbs of powdered sugar and it still melted right off of the waxed paper. My kids are so sad and I am too. It wasn't cheap wasting all those ingredients. I'm going to try again for them tomorrow but I'm going to make the dough my own way. This definitely isn't right and the recipe needs to be fixed or removed before people waste even more food and money :( Wosh I could give it NO stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellye8498
Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken With Mushrooms

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Loved this recipe. Being it is just the wife and myself, and we are on a budget I took one breast and pounded it to make two. I took the mushrooms and put them in a pan with butter and garlic for 2 minutes. Lined the bottom with the mushrooms, put the chicken in the egg wash and seasoned bread crumbs to brown. Put the breast on the mushrooms topped with the other we sautéed and put Campbell's golden mushroom soup with half a can of white wine and shredded mozzarella cheese. Came out so moist, it is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

Braised Corned Beef Brisket

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
We cooked this today. I thought it was better than boiled. More beefy flavor. My husband said he likes it both ways... boiling it of course is much simpler. Well cooking it in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Banning, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Corn Chili

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I wanted it for lunch so I used 2 cans of chicken instead of the chicken breast. Also added 1/2 onion and 3 cloves garlic and browned them on the stove. Added 1 can cream corn and 1 can regular corn instead of beans! Will make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauragreer
Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brie Cheese Appetizer

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Awesome! I got great results without any changes! Definitely a 5 star keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States