California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by ReadMyLips26

Supreme Apple Butter

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This was so tasty ( I might go get some right now) The flavor was right on it was super easy to make. I didn't have brandy so I used cider instead. I used McIntosh apples and kept everything as stated. When it stated to cook until easily mashed it confused me as to whether or not to mash then or later, so I partly mashed the apples and continued to simmer the last 2 hours before pureeing to my liking at the end with my hand blender thing. (can't think of its name!) Will definitely be making this again! I served it with Cinnamon Bread I from here also.......pure wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Roasted Carrots

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
These were so GOOD! While looking for a new way to try carrots for dinner I stumbled upon this, simple, easy and oh so delish! Even my husband said how good they were. I used whole peeled carrots and I did line the pan with foil, highly suggested unless you feel like scrubbing later. Just the right amount of carrot/sweet/savory ratio. Will be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cinnamon Bread I

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Why, oh why, are so many reviews filled with their modifications of a recipe and then rated? I made this exactly as stated and it was a wonderful alternative to the yeast cinnamon breads I usually make, and half the time too. I do not normally have buttermilk so I use a substitute; 3TBS vinegar,add enough milk to make one cup and let stand ten minutes. Voila buttermilk, has always worked for me without fail. Such a moist bread with the perfect amount of cinnamon flavor. I made double the topping, did layers of batter, topping, batter, topping and slightly swirled it to perfection! So pretty and yummy! I mixed the dry and wet ingredients separately and was unsure of how to beat it ( hand or electric?), so into the kitchen aid it went on medium for 3 min. No problems at all. I love this recipe and will continue to make it in the future. I made Brandy Apple Butter also from here to accompany it, pure deliciousness, Bon appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This was yummy. I microwaved my potatoes for 5 minutes and then wrapped them in foil with butter and salt and tossed them on the top rack of our grill. I grilled the steak with some seasoned salt. I added radish and we used our favorite dressings. Love a salad for week night dinner. Super quick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This recipe is fantastic! I admit that I only made the filling and skipped the pie crust and top because I love chicken pot pie fillIng all by itself. :) It's faster and less carbohydrates for a healthier yet still hearty and comforting meal, too. I used chicken thighs because I'm out of chicken breasts, and it was still great. I poured the filling in a ceramic dish, covered with foil, and sliced a few slits in it to mimic a pie. Only needed to keep in the oven for 15 minutes since there wasn't any dough to bake. The flavor was incredible! Very quick, easy, and yummy...doesn't get much better than this! Thanks for sharing your recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Mmmmmm, so good! I used two 14 oz cans of tomatoes and that was plenty. Really good flavors in this, thanks for sharing. Oh, and I didn't drain the tomatoes. I think that's a misprint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua

Chai Tea Concentrate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This tasted great compare to the store bought concentrates and was fun to make. I had to go to a natural food store to buy ginger and whole cardamom pods, and cloves. I would make this again! I served this cold and also sometimes with espresso ice cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Vanessa Greaves

Simple Moscow Mule

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
So refreshing! I used Jamaican ginger beer and domestic vodka instead of Russian, so what would you call that? I also threw a sprig of mint in there just for looks. Because presentation is everything. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Greaves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Raspberry Balsamic Vinaigrette Dressing

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Dude, all I have to say is Yuuuuuuuuuummmmmmm! Perfect blend of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsazsa Gardea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Coconut Lime Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This was sublime! I reduced the chili by half and it had the perfect amount of heat. (still too spicy for the kids though.) I added shrimp also... seemed like a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pseudolife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Tamale Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timmi & Lizzi In The Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

Maple Salmon

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Excellent! I don't like salmon, but this I like! It's moist and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Beef Stroganoff Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Made for dinner tonight. I think I used too many noodles so hubby added catsup and said it made it really good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Strawberry Limeade

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Great treat for my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Used ground turkey and added shallots and mushrooms because I had them left over. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Allegany, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Of An Oatmeal Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Sauce for Salmon Patties

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
We really liked this sauce. Followed the recipe exactly, maybe next time I might add something, like garlic. But it is a great, and easy, recipe as is. I even used non fat milk, and it came out nice and thick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

Scrumptious Salmon Cakes

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I made these last night, and they were wonderful!! Didn't change a thing. I made 4 patties since I halved the recipe, which means we get the other 2 tonight!! Thanks for this recipe. I followed another reviewers advice, and used a lemon sauce with them- the recipe is from this site- "Lemon Sauce for Salmon Patties".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

Vegetarian Korma

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Made according to this procedure: Pre roast carrots and potatoes for 30 minutes in oven. Fry the oil in pan on low with spices and onion for about 5 minutes. Add potatoes and carrots back in, along with ~1/2 cup water or more and tomato sauce, and salt. Cook 5 minutes then add red bell and jalapeño and cook another 5 minutes. Add ginger, garlic, cashews, raisins, and unsweetend shredded coconut. coconut. Simmer until done (20 min or so), adding water as needed to keep from drying out. Cool completely. Remove red pepper slices, purify with food processor or wand, add pepper slices back in. When ready to eat, reheat and add in freshly cooked peas, cream, and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5

Chicken Fajita Melts

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Thought this was a neat take on fajitas and a melt. It was easy to make and it was pretty tasty. I did take other's advice and toasted my bread. In fact, I added a bit of butter and garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States