California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Ragu No Boiling Lasagna

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
It was a great base..I added sautéed onions and bell pepper along with ground Italian sausage to the tomato sauce...I used half ricotta and half cottage cheese. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cotati, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
I made double batches two ways and both were stellar: 1) Swapped out 1/3 of the flour for whole wheat, used regular chocolate chips, and no nuts. 2) Swapped out 1/3 of the flour for whole wheat, added 1/4 cup cocoa powder, added 1/4 milk, and no chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
I have to admit that I didn't measure the ingredients so maybe that's why mine wasn't salty as others reviewers complained. I laid out the broccoli on a cookie sheet and sprinkled the oil and seasonings on top then stirred them around on the pan (no need to dirty a bowl!). My son ended up adding parmesan cheese to his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talena

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
I'm not a fan of mushrooms, so I didn't put any on my plate to taste, but DH loves them and happily ate all of mine. The chicken has a good flavor and the recipe is simple. The recipe I usually make doesn't include cooking Sherry so this was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by livinhapaz

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
One of my favorite dishes from my chicken collection. Will repeat for sure. Not changing anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livinhapaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Strawberry Goat Cheese Bruschetta

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Delicious!! Another keeper from Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cedar Planked Halibut

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Yumm! I love halibut & kind of consider it the "lobster" of fish, so delicate & pure. This grilled on the cedar plank added an amazing flavor profile. Hubby loved it for his birthday dinner!! Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine Wood

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Photo by Yoly

Vietnamese Iced Coffee

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
I had some sweetened condensed milk left over from another recipe when I stumbled upon this recipe. I scaled it down for 1 serving since DH will only drink it black. I have never been a coffee drinker but I can see getting hooked on this. I have made it twice in two days and I still have enough SCM for 1 more serving. I guess I'll be having it again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Downey, California, USA

Spicy-Sweet Glazed Salmon

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
This is one of the best recipes for salmon with salad, hot or cold it covers all the bases of texture, flavor and temperatures. Sweet, tangy and earthy greens, we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA

Jalapeno Popper Dip with Bacon

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
This is very similar to a dip that I make except I use 5 or 6 minced home grown Serrano peppers and I DO NOT remove the seeds or veins. I also add 1/4 tsp salt, a clove of pressed garlic, minced cilantro and green onion to taste. This makes a nice stuffing for pounded and rolled chicken breasts. It's not a favorite for kids but it's great for adults who like some bite to their dip or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
This is a terrific basic recipe. I've made it my "go to" recipe for summertime salmon, sometimes I add some dried herbs to the marinade like basil or some dried ginger if I have fresh ginger I just chop a piece of it and add it to the marinade baggie. If I use ginger I use OJ instead of water. I always grill it on a hinged griller that sandwiches the salmon before placing it on my BBQ, liberally sprayed with Pam. I leave the skin on too, but that's a matter of preference, we like it because it keeps the fish moist. I only marinade the fish for an hour, because I like to taste the fish and not just the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA

Chicken Andouille Gumbo

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
I departed from my usual south american menu and made this for some friends from Louisiana. They loved it! Naturally, there is always a bit of tinker room with any recipe but, I didn't stray much with this one. Served with Dirty Rice, it's killer!I did make the Okra in two batches, one fully cooked and one crispy at the last.Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dinomite's Fluffy Bites

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Always bring Dinomite's Fluffy Bites to a party! This recipe rocked my socks off and I kept having to go buy more and more and more kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clairene Maryann Guerra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Photo by Koriekiss

Texas Pork Ribs

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
We really loved this recipe! Used the cooking method and the rub but just our bottled sauce from the fridge to cook onto the meat on the grill. 3 hours in the oven (i wrapped in foil) and about a half hour on the grill left the bones clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Dinomite's Fluffy Bites

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawerner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dinomite's Fluffy Bites

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
BEST. RECIPE. EVER. THUMBS UP WOULD MAKE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Occidental, California, USA
Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talena

Oven Roasted Red Potatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
I made these as directed and they were delicious. There is no need to change the recipe unless you want to make a different dish. The onion soup mix did not burn and the flavor was good for such a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talena

Spicy-Sweet Glazed Salmon

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
This was a simple marinade that worked really well with Salmon. It didn't overpower or mask the taste of the fish but added a nice flavor. We will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
I made this in my 10.5" cast iron skillet and it was amazing! I used 2.5 cups of blueberries. The taste was delicious and the crisp edges were sooo good! Next time though I'll need to add half again as much batter for that size pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I'll Eat It!

Portabella Nirvana

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Love this recipe. It was quick and simple to make and full of flavor. I did cut it down to about 4 oz of dressing and added some Old Bay. This is a great last minute meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I'll Eat It!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States