Wasilla - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
I am giving this 2 stars as there were a couple of people in my house that loved this recipe, the rest asked why I didn't just make my lasagna. I wasn't impressed at all. I followed it exact, something I rarely do and probably shouldn't have this time. I found it to be too bland, and adding the cheese into the sauce was a horrible choice in my opinion,but the sauce itself needed a lot of help in the flavor department, perhaps some sauteed bell peppers would have helped there as well as fresh herbs. I found it lacking texturally as well, the mouth feel completely turned me off, I couldn't distinguish the layers I expect in a lasagna. Maybe with more veggies in the layers to give it some bite and some variety in flavor would improve it greatly, but over all just found this to be a disappointment and will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Grace

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
This is delicious! I did as other reviewers and did 2T of balsamic and 1T of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cheesy Potato Casserole from Ore-Ida®

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Super easy and great for picky eaters. We have been making this for years and everyone loves it. It goes quickly at potlucks, but also keeps well for leftovers (if there are any). My only suggestion, is layering the ingredients & adding about 1/4 cup of milk to the soup/sour cream mixture (which is otherwise VERY thick). I place a layer of hashbrowns first, then spoon a layer of the mixture on top, repeating layers. Seems to hold together better and cook more evenly. It can also be quite bland without adding some extra spices, so I usually add some garlic powder, onion powder and whatever else to taste into the soup/sour cream/milk mixture. And for cheese lovers- sprinkling a layer of cheese on top, over the crushed cornflakes is a nice addition. This is a great recipe to make ahead of time and bake when ready- very hearty comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This was very good. I used 6 eggs and split in between two 9" pie pans next time I will use 8 eggs. I like that you can add anything you want to the recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Little Smokies

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I was originally looking for a recipe that used grape jelly... But am more than glad I tried this one! These were delicious- perfect amount of sauce and the flavor was spot-on. The only change I made, was using onion powder instead of diced onion. I suppose minced instead of diced would have been okay, but something about chunks of onion in the sauce did not seem appealing with such a smooth texture, so I feel satisfied with substituting onion powder and the flavor was still really good. This was super quick & easy. Really convenient to mix up ahead of time & then throw it on to cook later, when ready. I'll be keeping this for upcoming agendas that require quick & easy appetizers or party snacks! Definitely prefer this over some that all for grape jelly. The flavor of the brown sugar & bbq sauce goes perfect with lil' smokies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

Cocktail Meatballs

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Loved these! Although, I can't rate the meatballs, only the sauce. I use the 'Meatball Nirvana' recipe from this site (incredible!!) and the ones on this recipe seem would be a bit bland compared to those. Thats my only reason for not giving this a 5 star rating- the flavor of the actual meatballs outside of the sauce is incredibly important, it can make all the difference between a dry or bland dish underneath the sauce. And if your short on time, it is super easy to grab a package of frozen meatballs, thaw & throw the sauce on top in the crock pot! But the sauce was excellent- this was very well liked and disappeared pretty quickly. Will be saving this for future use, only with a more diverse & flavorful meatball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Photo by angelinamarie3

Cheese Ball I

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This was super easy and really good! I thought the entire packet of ranch dressing mix would make it taste overpowering... It didn't, and was great! But it is VERY important to get the "dressing" mix and NOT the "dip" mix! Otherwise, it would be waaaay too salty- I have made that mistake before. I had to omit coating it with pecans, due to someone having an allergy, so I chopped half the amount called for and only added it mixed in to one side. (I made cute flags to label each side.) For a little kick, I added in some diced jalapenos. This was loved and will be a keeper in regular rotation for parties & appetizers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Made as written with 2 cups of walnuts and it was excellent!! This will be my go to for banana nut bread / muffins and I have tried many a recipe. I made muffins with a crumb topping for work, this recipe yields 36 muffins with the additional nuts bake at 325 for 25 mins. Perfection!! Crumb mixture: 1 1/2 c oats, 2/3 c brown sugar, 1/4 c melted butter, 1/4 c chopped walnuts. Mix until crumbled top muffins prior to baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This recipe was EXACTLY what I was looking for! I was highly disappointed in some other "high-rated" or overly complex recipes. A simple sugar cookie is best, especially with good flavor & dough easy to work with for cutting shapes. My cousin is autistic, and I chose this recipe due to the simplicity. He had a total BLAST making these! The dough was a great consistency to easily cut shapes. I only recommend rolling the dough to about 1/4-1/2 inch thick & only baking until slightly golden-brown so they will still come out somewhat soft instead of crunchy. These were easy to make, they were easy to roll & cut shapes, and most important- they turned out looking very nice for decorating & also tasted great! This one is a keeper for me, and my cousin who loves to bake. I suggest anyone who is looking for a simple & great tasting/decorating cookie try this recipe out- especially if you have younger or a special-needs child who is eager to impress others with a fantastic cookie! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

Indonesian Satay

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This was ok, marinade was good and simple but the sauce was pretty bland and tasted to much like peanut butter. I will be sure to add some extra spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smothered Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This is definitely lacking flavor, the bacon and onion on top was the only flavor. I added more lemon pepper than the recipe called for and also marinated it in buttermilk but the chicken it self was very bland even with using bacon grease instead of oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This was nearly perfect! A few ingredient adjustments here & there (less sugar, more onion & no parsley). Great side dish for any occasion... Thank you for sharing. But- adding a few hard boiled eggs really makes the difference. With the eggs, it is nearly perfect... And paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Photo by angelinamarie3

Quick Potato Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I scaled this down, for smaller portions. It was great, minus an ingredient or two. It really HAS to be tweaked. Cucumber is interesting, but I prefer pickles or relish. More flavor than a tasteless cucumber. I substituted pimentos for tomatoes. Do not prefer celery- omitted that. And used all diced onion instead of green onions. Good recipe, but I think some things need to be adjusted or replaced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

Creamy Rice, Chicken and Spinach Dinner

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This is a great recipe base with lots of options for customizing it. I didn't have spinach or roasted red pepper Italian dressing. Substituted regular Italian dressing and sauteed red bell peppers, onions, and some extra garlic in it. Added some leftover cubed cooked chicken breasts and let it all cook together for about 3 minutes. My boys who despise anything rice, ate this up with no complaints even asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Grace

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This was alright, not sensational, I felt there was something missing in it, as it was a bit bland. Next time I think I will double the topping on it and add brown sugar instead of white and maybe cinnamon and nutmeg to the sweet potato mixture. It was probably the most disappointing dish on the table at Thanksgiving, but that said it was disappointing when compared to a spread of dishes that everyone raved about, this had to be my most successful Thanksgiving yet as there wasn't a single dish that anyone thought wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Grace

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Creamed Corn with Onion and Chives

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I loved this recipe it had a southwestern taste to it, someone at Thanksgiving suggested that next time I try adding some black beans to it and serve it with tortilla chips as a sort of dip and I may try that next time. It was definitely a hit and will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Grace

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I adore stuffed mushrooms, unfortunately most of my family don't really care for mushrooms of any sort. I decided to take a chance and made these for a Thanksgiving appetizer. I followed the recipe with a couple of changes, I added bacon to the filling, and I dipped the mushroom caps into bread crumbs. I was able to make these up two days ahead of time, covered with saran wrap and popped them in the oven right before guests arrived. They came out perfect, the plate was emptied in no time and even the non-mushroom eaters were devouring these, not a single one left, and I doubled the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Grace

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Key Lime Pie VII

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
My significant other is from Florida and when I asked him what kind of dessert he wanted for Thanksgiving he requested Key Lime Pie. I'd never tasted or made a key lime pie before so was extremely nervous. Read all the reviews here and chose this recipe which I followed exactly as it was written. Everyone raved about it, it was hands down the favorite pie on the dessert table and super easy to make. He said it came out perfect! I will definitely be making this pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Grace

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dad's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This recipe earned 5+ stars. I added potatoes instead of green beans, personal preference. Other than that I follwed the recipe as is. The pie wasn't too rich. The seasonings were well balanced. It definitely wasn't bland. My guinea pigs were a 5, 6, and 7 year old... along with a picky anti pot pie eating husband. I talked him into tasting the filling. He said, "Wow, I guess I'll be eating that instead of frozen pizza." Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tessasmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Photo by angelinamarie3

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This was not bad... But somewhat bland. Followed the recipe nearly to a 'T', but it REALLY needs some enhanced flavor of some sort. I'm still confused as to why the directions say to sauté the garlic then set aside for "another use"? Wasted garlic doing that... But these need some garlic or onion salt, before coating with the egg wash. The coating was great- so was cooking time. They did come out near perfect, only thing lacking was flavor, as they really were quite bland. I also think this recipe calls for WAY too much eggs/bread crumbs! Wasted about 2 eggs & nearly a cup of bread crumbs. I would suggest using only 1-2 eggs & 3/4 cup bread crumbs, along with adding some onion or garlic salt pre-egg wash on the chops before coating & cooking. One thing I did different, and am glad, was throwing the chops back in the bread crumb mix after browning them on the frying pan, before placing them in the oven. They would have come out quite soggy & even more bland if I had not thought to re-coat with the bread crumb mixture before baking. Otherwise, this was a nice change in pace for pork chops! We did enjoy it, but just felt it could have used more flavor. And the cooking time was pretty spot-on... Any longer & they would have been much too dry. So we will keep this & make it again, just adding a few changes to spices/flavoring next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States