Soldotna - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
So easy and just yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chunky Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Very good soup. A bit off the diet, but it was cold tonight and sounded good. I threw in a cube of Knorr chicken bouillon for more flavor and upped the servings to 12. Nice quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Delicious! Suggested alterations: low sodium broth, low sodium SPICY V8, only 4 oz heavy cream, and 3 oz fat free cream cheese (instead of butter). A little thicker and DELICIOUS... if my math is correct: 1c = 95 cal & 10 carbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Very moist and delicious! I put chopped walnuts in the pan before pouring the batter in, and alo added a tsp. of vanilla. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nova Scotia Blueberry Cream Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Yuk. No flavor at all. I think this would be better with rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Dump Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Could this get any easier? Very delicious, especially warm out of the oven. As one reviewer suggested, I mixed the yellow cake mix and butter in my food processor and it turned out great. I also used about five cups of berries because that's what I had so I just threw them in and it was perfect. The topping wasn't browned at 30 minutes of bake time so I added another 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Not at all impressed with this. Easy enough to make, but I think it's quite bland. This is more like a brownie than a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Penguins

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I'm giving these five stars because of the cuteness factor. They are time consuming and my husband thought I had too much time on my hands. However, my guests loved them. I can't stand olives, but had to make them for conversation if nothing else. Next time I'll prepare some type of iceberg to put them on for real effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I am not really a fan of cranberry sauce, but have to say this recipe is really good. I like the simplicity of it and it just tastes fresh. I chopped up half a Granny Smith apple and cooked that in with it. Sweet with that tartness....so good. I also didn't use water, just fresh squeezed orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rock Salt Encrusted Prime Rib

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Don't change anything. It's weird, but so good and perfect as the recipe reads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lasagna Roll Ups

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Sub in cottage cheese instead of ricotta to cut down on calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Snickerdoodles I

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
These are just delicious. I used butter flavored Crisco and it worked great. Tried a different snicker doodle recipe from this site that had butter in it, but not as good...great flavor, but flat. I'm sending these in the mail to my son in college. He's gonna love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Cookies III

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Delicious! Just like we used to make in home economics class in jr high school (a long time ago). Sent a double batch with my son to share with his traveling high school football team. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Cheesy Potato Dinner

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I used Simply Potatoes Southwestern style and they were really good. I doubled the recipe and brought to a work potluck and none were leftover. I liked the kick from the potatoes, but next time I think I'd use the regular kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rubbed and Grilled Pork Loin

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
My husband bought a 7-lb pork loin on sale so I came to this site to find help. I was out of onion salt, and subbed parsley for the coriander. I seared as directed on a very hot gas grill, but because of the size I couldn't turn half the grill off. Instead I turned the heat to low and moved the roast to the upper rack to finish cooking. WOW is all I can say here! I cooked it fat side up and it came out fabulous. I will make tj again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vanilla Wafer Cake IV

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Wow! Simple yet just delicious. Very dense and sweet. I didn't frost and I'm glad...would have way too sweet that way. However fresh whipped cream would be perfect. Made for a luncheon and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Coconut Squares

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
OMG!!! these are amazingly delicious. I'm not a fan of lemon, but I was compelled to make these for a meeting. They were a hit! My kids gobbled them up like crazy and now I have to make more tonight. I added a half cup of coconut to the crust which made it more tasty. I didn't put the coconut on top until the last 15 minutes of baking in fear of it burning, but next time I'll add right away. Most of it didn't brown because of it. Still delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mai Tai

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Fabulous, easy... love the addition of coconut rum. Brings me back to sitting by pool in Hawaii.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcannava

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Soldotna, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hearty Lasagna

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This is the first time I've made lasagna with egg and ricotta. No wonder my OTHER lasagna wasn't very good (made it like my mom used to). Well, it was terrific. I actually made 16 pans of this for a dinner and even the mayor complimented the "chef" during his speech. I will use this from now on. BTW...I made it a week ahead, I did NOT cook the noodles, I then froze it. I took it out the night before and placed in the fridge and then let it sit out all day. I baked at 325 for two hours and let sit 30 minutes before serving. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Potatoes and Onion

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This is our favorite grilled item in the summer. I use butter and olive oil both, and also add a few cloves of garlic. I can usually get about four servings wrapped in one foil pouch. The best part is no dirty dishes for clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States