Palmer, Alaska - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I took the suggestion and tried it with half sour cream, and it was very good, and creamy. The fam loved it too, there were no leftovers! :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueberry muffin
Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Zucchini Casserole I

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
My Husband and I loved this recipe! We doubled it for the 9x13 pan, using 3 eggs, 1 large red onion, and only 2 cups of cheese (We used Mexican Four Cheese and it was amazing!). It was perfect!!! The only change we thought we should make after that was to use more Zucchini - 5 cups Zucchini or one Large Zucchini. Teenagers did not like the texture. Hubby and I ate more than 1/2 the pan ourselves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mints98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Rice Breakfast Porridge

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Absolutely Wonderful, I followed the recipe to a T except subed raisins for the dried fruit. This taste great!!!! I will be making again for sure :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
As fruit (except rhubarb) in Alaska is shipped and not vine ripened, the sugar content was perfect but I too, will increase the fruit to 4C each for the amount of topping. After serving it last night to some friends they requested it for their barbeque tonight! Also, I like to thicken my fruit mixes on the stovetop before assembling for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkthonak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

Slammin' Salmon

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Very yummy & easy to make! I didn't have peanut oil so substituted veg. oil & it worked well! Great salmon recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cucumber Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I absolutley love this recipe, and my family raves about it. We've made this several times this summer, and will be making 25 pounds of it this Saturday for my Daughter's Graduation Party. I use Kraft Cucumber Ranch Dressing Salad Dressing. I do not chane a thing and follow exactly! YOU CANNOT GO WRONG WITH THIS ONE! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mints98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Ever Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I loved it the way it was written (I only added one extra tomato), and my teens and hubby said there was way to much dill. I plan on making this for my Daughter's Graduation Party, but will make two changes based upon my family's comment about the dill and the fact that I found this exact recipe at www.redgold.com. I will use 1.5 tablespoons of Dill, and instead of the Roma tomatoes, I will use two 14.5 ounce cans Petite Diced Tomatoes with Sweet Onions. Is it creamy? YES! But that's what made it taste so good the next day! Much better after sitting overnight! A+ Thank you for sharing! This just may be my go to pasta for future outings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mints98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Really good... Slightly strong on the lemon, I like halving it and letting people add more if they wish. A little bit salty as well, so be sure to use unsalted butter if you don't want a saltier fish. While good on tilapia, I think this would work fantastic on a stronger white fish such as halibut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This is the BEST pie crust recipe I have ever made! I halved the recipe and had no trouble getting a double crust for a standard 9 inch pie dish. It made my rhubarb pie shine. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Columbia, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Falafel

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Really tasty! Had it in a pita with some plain yogurt, cucumber, tomatoes and lettuce. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

Broccoli and Cheese Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Very good! I used white rice instead of yellow. I used cheese whiz. It was a bit high in sodium but soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

French Leek Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Excellent! Best recipe I've found on here! I have made this several times and have made a few modifications since the original didn't set up enough for my liking. I used 5 leeks and increased the butter to 3Tbsp, substituted half & half for the light cream and for the cheese I substituted 1 C mozzarella and 1 C shredded parmesan for the 1 1/4 C Gruyere. This makes it a bit firmer and more like a quiche. I also added a can of baby shrimp. I crave this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

Knoephla, Potatoes and Sauerkraut

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Made this last night and it got rave reviews. A few things I will change next time though - Make the kneophla smaller, closer to the size of the potato chunks. Also, add more sauerkraut! This looks like it would be a bland recipe but we found out that it required NO spicing up whatsoever! I added salt to the kneophla water and that was it. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

Savory Baked Eggs

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
It was tasty, but had some egg issues and had to cook it for twice the recommended time. Unfortunately, I was hoping for "dippy" eggs but instead the yolks came out hard, of course. Still working on finding that middle ground where the whites aren't runny but the yolk is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

Scottish Bubbles and Squeak Patties

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Excellent flavor in this recipe but had an awful time trying to get them to stay together as patties. I tried non-stick spray and oil both and neither worked very well. After trying this recipe a second time and being unsuccessful with the first batch, I just ended up making a kind of "hash" with the rest of it - threw it all in a pan unformed and turned periodically. Very tasty nonetheless, despite the form issue, and this has become a regular meal. My family likes to top these with mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah)

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Quite tasty and very simple to make! Required a bit more water than it called for though, so you have to watch and make sure you've got enough in there at all times. I mixed all the onions in with the lentils instead of leaving some for the top, and just topped with yogurt. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

Potato Leek Soup III

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Best soup ever. I did make a few alterations though - I doubled the leeks (can you really ever have enough?!), used vegetable broth as we abstain from non-seafood meat (DO NOT use vegetable stock - it doesn't taste nearly as good) and substituted half & half for the heavy cream. Excellent!! Also, this freezes beautifully. I have to make double batches because I can't keep enough of this soup around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

Death by Chocolate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
HUGE HIT at my office meeting!! As if there wasn't enough chocolaty deliciousness already, I used Fudge Brownie flavored coffee from Archer Farms (Target brand). I think I was able to scrape enough out of the bowl when I got home to give my boyfriend a small bite. Will DEFINITELY make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

Spinach Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This casserole, while super easy to make, ended up being rather bland and the bread crumbs didn't "crunch" as they were supposed to. Definitely needs a little spice - I ended up adding some Frank's Red Hot, some salt and a lot of pepper to make this a bit tastier. Not sure I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This bread looked beautiful but the time was too long - I took it out of the oven after 45 minutes and it was a bit dark and dry (family still loved it though!). Next time I make it I'm going to start watching it around 35 minutes. [Also, I dyed the eggs using food coloring gel (several toothpick fulls) in a cup of hot water and 1/4 c. white vinegar. The dye didn't run at all on the bread except for right where the egg was sitting.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States