Palmer, Alaska - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Kim's Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I made this cut in half to start... but GREAT! only thing I don't agree with is adding sugar. I am not a fan of a SWEET macaroni salad (adding sweet relish would be good enough in place of sugar). so I skipped the sugar. everything else came out wonderful! only other changes I made- I added the sauce ingredients to taste (the mayo seemed off, like it was not measured right...). I also added a pinch more pepper, and a pinch of paprika. what I LOVE in a good macaroni salad is diced cheddar cheese... so I diced up about 1/2 - 3/4 cup cheddar and threw that in- YUM! also, no jalapenos for this one. just doesn't fit. I diced up 1/2 a green bell and that worked well, along with some shredded carrot. also used black pepper instead of white. but the pepper is still needed. great recipe, but just needs a little TLC to fit personal preferences/tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

Red Skinned Potato Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
although I did not use red potatoes- this recipe was NOT the best, and it DID lack in a LOT of ways... good BASE... but not much more. to start- making it easier is to chop the potatoes into chunks and then boil. definitely cool... CRUCIAL! the eggs were on par, but I already had some boiled. BUT... THE EGG COUNT IS TOOOO MUCH! even making half the recipe- TOO MANY EGGS! Start with 1-3 and add more as needed. I would also recommend adding the rest of the 'dressing/seasoning' ingredients as needed. the full amount of some is terribly overpowering! there is also NO paprika mentioned... a TRUE potato salad has paprika... AND MUSTARD. add in a little bit of chopped green onion for a kick, but this is just a standard recipe that lacks what a REAL potato salad with what ensures people say, "WOW- THAT WAS GOOD!" I added a bit of mustard, a touch of garlic powder, a small bit of diced sweet(or dill) pickles, less egg, less mayo, more pepper, some paprika and a bit of shredded carrot & pimentos, diced. if you want it simple- skip the garnish and just add the mayo, mustard & seasonings to desired taste. add extra garnish for a kick. but this is NOT a 5 star... this needs work and not just the basic ingredients. sorry. I had to modify this to meet expectations. the recipe, as written, is the equality of less than store-bought value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

Boneless Buffalo Wings

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
AWESOME! i have been searching for a great buffalo wing recipe... and this is it (nearly)! after trying another one with a rating for who knows why it was so high... this one was almost SPOT ON! the one small issue (nearly not one at all) was that the cook time was too low for me. i had 1"x1"x1/2" cuts and they took about 10-11 minutes to get golden brown & done- maybe it is my deep dryer?? but the only thing i can suggest is just to watch the deep fryer, otherwise, this recipe is nearly perfect! adjust hot sauce & butter ratio to your liking and this is soooo close to what you would find served at a restaurant. thank you for a great recipe, BETTYCOOK! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
for the firs time making buffalo wings- this was a great start! i am not at all unhappy with how these turned out. i'll attempt them again, because cooking them any longer than stated will make them tough (oops... i am new at the deep fryer!). only reason this is a 4/5 for me- the butter to hot sauce ratio was off. i only used 1/8 cup butter and that was PLENTY! any more, and butter would have overpowered the hot sauce and made it more greasy/taste funny. not sure why so many reviews kept saying the wings didn't have enough flavor spice-wise... most of the flavor comes from the sauce, and how can you taste any other spices if you've added the full amount of butter & hot sauce?! i also disagree with everyone who is complaining with how these 'aren't the real thing'... obviously, the only way you are going to get the restaurant wings is to go to the actual restaurant and buy them!! if you don't feel like doing that, then keep trying and adjusting this or different recipes until you find something similar and close enough. sorry- but you aren't going to get what the restaurant's tastes like unless you've worked there and know the exact recipe and process... don't complain because what you made didn't match! this recipe was a really good one and i personally find homemade better than what you'd get anywhere else- you can adjust and make it your own to your own taste preferences! thanks for the share! this is a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

Chef John's French Fries

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I am quite the newbie at fried foods. I REALLY like to stick to the baked version, but baked just isn't the same sometimes. This is a GREAT recipe- but I seemed to have a bit of difficulty with it...maybe it was just me?? Soaking the spuds before frying is a MUST! Takes most of the starch out & allows for the taters to seep up the oil (which is unhealthy, but yummy)! Double frying seems to be the key- wonderful the first round on a lower temp, but I ran into problems on the phase 2 of frying on 350 degree is... the alloted time noted by the chef was 5-6 min. on 350 degrees. I had mine in there at that temp for only 3-4 minutes and they were already turniing crispy & VERY brown (maybe I cut too thin since we like shoestring fires?). I was looking for fried you'd see more at one of the deep fried fast food resteraunts- so if you are looking for that, I suggesst more of a frying time on the 1st round, less on the second & keeping an eye on it to make sure it isn't turnng CRISPY/BROWN deep brown. All recipes can be "perfect" by trial & error. this one, needs more time on the phase 1 of frying and less time on the phase 2 at a higher temp, keeping a close eye. But, thank you, Chef John! Great one to start (and maybe my deep fryer is different than what was suggested??) Just TRY it! Doesn't hurt to try- trial & error makes perfection. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

Banana Pudding IV

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I made this for the first time 8/11/12, and realized I never rated it. I absolutely love this recipe; it is my favorite dessert. I'm making this for Valentines Day today. If you haven't tried it, you should! We call it "Banilla" in our house ... Banilla says it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mints98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Paleo Chocolate Frosting

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I think this is such a neat way to make frosting while using healthier fats. When I made the recipe as is, there was a bit of bitter aftertaste that was just too strong for our tastes (plus I was trying to get this by 12 seven year olds for a birthday party and it did not pass my son's initial taste test). SO I added some powdered sugar until the bitterness was covered and voila! The cupcakes with this frosting were the hit of the party (we also had regular cupcakes with buttercream frosting available). The extra powdered sugar does not make this frosting extra healthier by any means but it was definitely very good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by webbfam_moejoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Crab Artichoke Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
wish i would have followed what other reviews had stated before dumping a whole packet of the soup mix in! it WOULD have been MUCH better with only HALF of the soup mix called for. but it just took over the dish and thats all we could taste. hubby ate it, agreed it was overpowering, but it just made me feel sick after a couple bites. the amount of crab called for is way too little, also. it got lost in the rest of the ingredients and tasted nothing like a crab dip to us. to salvage what would have been quite a waste of ingredients (half the dish was left since hubby was hungry and didn't want to wait for dinner), the following day i re-added full amounts of all ingredients WITHOUT any more soup mix to the half that was leftover, and also added in a little bit of cayenne pepper for a kick along with a pinch or two of onion powder. it reheated very well and was actually edible without the horrible overpowering flavor of too much soup mix. the recipe would have been more like a 4.5 star, but i highly recommend using ONLY 1/2 the amount of soup mix (maybe even a little less) and adding in a second can of crab meat and a bit of pepper & onion powder. written as is, this needs some work and tweaking, but i'm glad i modified and salvaged the half that was leftover from what wasn't the greatest. after confirmation the second round of making this & fixing it was much better, i would make it again using the adjustments & modifications. overall, it was ok, just needs some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I can't give this less than a 5. Even though I thought the red pepper amount was a wee bit too much (& i LOVE spicy!), hubby is still raving over these & devouring... Total winner for a recipe! No complaint on his end... Perfect bake time, perfect taste- WILL be making these again! Only thing i did different was top w/ a bit of bbq sauce & broil for 3-5 min on lower heat after the sauce topping. Turned out PERFECT! Applause for the perfect meatball recipe!!! Many thanks... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I followed this recipe to the T. It was delicious and so easy! We ate it with white rice on the side, I'm sure you could use chicken or pork and it would taste nice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakesnthings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
A Delightful surprise for even my picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKfangler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
nearly a disaster. i agree with the other 'less than positive' reviews! figured it would be awesome based on the high rating...NO. not only was the dough a horribly sticky consistency (had to use WAY too much flour to actually cut shapes and keep them from sticking) then half of them fell apart. it was a no win to work with the dough to cut any sort of shape aside from a round cookie. the cook time as stated made the first sheet i put in nearly burnt. and if you like cardboard, the second sheet i kept an eye on turned out to that consistency after baking. the third sheet i put in for 5 minutes- they looked great coming out- nice & soft... then after letting them set & cool, they are rock hard. gave up on the rest of the sheets and just made big ol' round cookies hoping to salvage the rest of the dough. no luck on any method. planned on bringing them to christmas gatherings... not anymore! would have been a total embarassment!! i think i'll stick to the recipe my mom gave me years back. it isn't perfect, but this surely holds nothing compared to it. sorry- this just was not a good cookie, looking for a softer, shaped sugar cookie for holiday decoration frosting. like others have said- i had to add nearly double the flour to get it "workable" and the taste was not what i would consider a good sugar cookie out of the batch i could actually salvage after baking. really bummed i wasted the ingredients & time. had high hopes for the high rating. i'll stick to my mom's original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Photo by angelinamarie3

Roomali Roti

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Nearly perfect recipe! I do agree with other reviews, that WARM water should be used- easier to work with & a much better end result. Had no bread flour on hand, so I dissolved some yeast in the warm water & added that for a quick version with ingredients I had. I'm not sure why (and disagree) of some reviews saying this has no 'flavor' & were adding in additional spices... true roti does not contain an abundance of flavor or additional spices. It is meant to be eaten with other dishes containing the heavier spices & flavor. Every true middle-eastern cuisine roti I have ever tried does not contain spices, only the small amount of salt. I also divided the dough into 12 smaller balls to flatten and cook, just as a personal preference since it was being used for various dips as an appetizer. Guaged the cook time on when brownish spots began to form & the roti would start to 'bubble' up in a few areas. Great, fresh out of the pan & also great leftover- this can accompany such a variety of various appetizers, dips, or main dishes. It is best left as-is, no spices added & leaving all the flavor to whatever dish goes along with it. Much appreciation for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

Hummus I

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This recipe was 'OK'. Good start but did need some major adjustments. I began with the recipe originally written, did the taste test & had to adjust from there. To start- when draining the beans, RESERVE the liquid & set aside. Do NOT add WATER! Instead, add the reserved liquid as needed until desired consistency is acquired. Water will do nothing for flavor! Skipped lemon zest- found it pointless. Used minced garlic out of a jar instead of cloves, & I can say I used about 1.5 Tbsp. so I'm not sure 2 cloves would be enough (depending on size). Parsley & green onion I added less of. Too much green was not doing much for a real hummus flavor & no good for aesthetic appeal. Also agree w/ other reviewers- NO olive oil or cumin?! Necessity for a true hummus! HAD to add about 1/3 Tbsp. of cumin & at least 1.5-2 Tbsp. of olive oil. Did need the salt & pepper, to really bring the flavor out. But I suggest starting w/ the recipe as originally written, doing the taste test, then adding more of each ingredient as needed until the desired flavor is acquired. Really did find myself having to add more of almost all the flavoring ingredients as hubby & myself were doing the taste test along the process. I still question why green onion or parsley should be included. Added onion powder to taste & that was perfect, without the parsley. Parsley would only be good as a 'garnish'. Good base- but really needs adjusting + the olive oil & cumin! Thanks for a good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

Savory Pork Chops

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
We were impressed with this recipe, different from how we'd usually make pork chops. However, the sauce was quite runny, even with simmering longer than 20 minutes. For the chops to be tender, I had to simmer for at least 30-45 minutes. I agree with other reviews that adding a bit of flour to the sauce would do well to thicken it up a bit so it isn't as runny. I did not have any marmalade (next time I will make sure I have it to try again), but they still turned out very tastey. I also added some garlic powder in with the other spices for coating- I felt it was missing something and that was a perfect compliment in flavor. We really liked the dish and are eager to try it again with marmalade and adding some flour to the sauce to thicken it up a bit. Only questionable issue was the cook time, which seems to vary based on reading other reviews. Overall, these turned out to be very good, and this is a dish I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I did forget to include the butter, and it was perfect without it; we topped our sandwiches with Hidden Valley light Ranch ... perfect! Thank you for an amazing sandwich recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mints98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Garlic

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
this is a good start to the recipe, but it needs adjustments. i agree with other reviews on a few things. first, chopping the top of the head of garlic off so each clove is exposed (to let the olive oil & any other spices seep in) is a good idea. i usually season mine with some light pepper after drizzling the olive oil on it. also, this could be cooked two different ways. using a terra cotta garlic baking dish, bake it covered for 45 minutes, then remove the cover and let bake an additional 15 minutes so the garlic is tender. if using tinfoil on a baking sheet, wrap the garlic up in the foil and bake 45 minutes, then uncover and bake an additional 15 minutes to tender. i find this works better and enhances the flavor and tenderness. it is wonderful served with brie cheese on crackers or slices of a french baguette! great appetizer for any occasion... just have some mints on hand after, lol. (and on a side note- 400 can be too much heat depending on your oven. i can get away with 350-375 usually. sometimes 400 will blacken it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

Tacos in Pasta Shells

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
this was such a creative twist on tacos + stuffed shells! very easy to make, but i give it 4 stars because making it the first time, it lacked taco flavor. the second time around i added in taco seasoning to the meat & cream cheese mixture. i also recommend softening the cream cheese before adding it in with the ground beef. it isn't necessary to coat the shells in butter, so i also skipped that the second time around and they still came out great. another recommendation i would make (based on taste preferences) is to add some diced tomatos, olives, green onion, etc... to top them off. great twist on tacos and good, creative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

Baked Dijon Salmon

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
this recipe is a keeper! similar to another i have tried, but i liked how this one added bread crumbs to top the fliets. the pecans were also a nice touch! i had to add a tad bit more honey to my mixture because the mustard was really overpoweing it. but overall, this was pretty quick, simple and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

Easy Bake Fish

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
AWESOME recipe! this was so quick & easy, everyone loved it. we eat a LOT of fish, especially salmon so this was a great new (and super convenient) way to prepare it. the second time around, i also added bread crumbs on top when i baked it and that was a nice, simple touch to a simple dish. i would also recommend putting a dash of garlic salt in with the sauce just to give it a tad more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States