North Pole - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This recipe was amazing. My only advice is to use the original recipe to make ONLY 2 PIE CRUSTS. I made an apple pie using this recipe to yield two crusts and they were thick, flaky, and wonderful! Don't skimp on the pie crust! ! ! Make it for 2 crusts. I also used the butter flavored margarine. This will always be my crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASPIRING RAE
Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Photo by ALASKANSNOBUNNI

Hot Tamale Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Super yummy! :) Loved it. I did some things different...but the main recipe is amazing. I used green chilies instead...the last bit of instructions confused me (boys messing around in the kitchen while I was trying to cook...) and so I added the corn in with the meat mixture and added all the cheese in the one corn bread mixture. And I only used cheddar cheese. It was great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKANSNOBUNNI

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Photo by ALASKANSNOBUNNI

Simple Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I already gave this Beef Roast recipe a rating of 5 stars already...but I had to be sure to give it another 5. I made it with a pork loin tonight. I will ALWAYS love this recipe...and teach it to our children....and well, yeah....it's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKANSNOBUNNI

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

Asian Ginger Dressing

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
amazing...try adding 2 T sesame seeds, used 2 t. ground ginger for the fresh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smokey Clamicken Chowder

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I have made this several times and I love it. Now I use it as a base for all different types of chowder. Tonight I am making Smoked Salmon Corn Chowder. I am adding corn and salmon in place of the chicken and clams - delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Estes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

Spicy Pear Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Not sure what I did wrong, but the dough came out very crumbly. There was no way that it could have been "dropped" at all. I made it into a bar cookie, but that came out more cake-ish, and took twice as long to cook. I like the taste, and I will probably make this again just to see if I did it wrong the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

MMMMM... Brownies

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I wonder how small the OP cut their brownies because I got 16 (barely) small brownies after doubling the recipe. They were very dry as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage and Smoked Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Used kohlrabi leaves as that is what I had. Didn't add beans or rice (we don't like them). Everybody loved it...even my non-soup eating husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breakfast Sausage

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I get tired of all the, ahem, excuse my language, , in our food, especially sausage and breakfast meats...this is the most amazing recipe, SO SIMPLE, ridiculously easy, and when made with quality fresh ground, locally grown, organic pork....um...beyond amazing! Never going back....nope. This is it. I put less salt in, because my husband doesn't like salty breakfast meat...and he loved it. Personally, I would probably use the called for amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKANSNOBUNNI

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

Hamburger Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Everyone thinks these are so cool. My kids love them. Taste wise.... well they are OK. But looks wise, 5+ star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pad Se Eew

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Didn't add chicken. Was good for a quick dinner. Kids ate it up. Doubled the sauce...would have been dry without that. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Steamed Egg (Chawan Mushi)

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
The kids liked them a lot and asked for me to make them again. My husband and I thought that they were just OK. Maybe on a cold winters day. Tasted similar to egg drop soup but the consistency was ..different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Saltine Toffee Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
So yummy and so easy! A great "cookie" to share at a cookie exchange!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bite-Sized Salmon Tikka

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
We live in Alaska and eat *a lot* of salmon. My husband's first response when he took a bite: "This is epic." Needless to say, it is now in the salmon rotation. I did sub crushed red peppers for the cayenne due to allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Very nice! Followed the recipe to a t. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
These were more sweet than pickled, but at least my kids liked them! A great snack to keep in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Sweet Italian Sausage (Mild or Hot)

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Atomic Tuna Salad

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Best tuna salad ever! YUM! I dill - fresh when I have it, dried when I don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckyduck63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This is a family favorite. Never fails to vanish at a dinner or potluck. Perfect for pairing with grilled meats for a delicious summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckyduck63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Raspberry Vinaigrette

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Fantastic! I served it over a spinach salad with walnuts, dried cranberries, diced boiled egg,etc. SO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckyduck63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States