Ketchikan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Corn Dogs

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I would give this recipe 5 for taste but only 4 for ingredients and 4 for crispiness. Everything went great with the whole process except i did dry off the hot dogs and coat them in flour and still hard a hard time getting the batter to stick so I had to add about another 1/4 cup milk to thin it down since the batter was way to thick. After doing this i had a little bit easier time getting it to stick to the hot dogs however it still had to be rolled several times with my fingers to coat. They cooked nicely and came out tasting light and fluffy and airy but after sitting for about 5 minutes they became soggy. It wasnt necessarily a bad thing because they still tasted great but definately not a recipe for someone who likes crsipy corn dogs. And yes i had them at a high temp in the deep fryer. I also cut these into mini dogs for the kids, they loved them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Jalapeño Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I love this recipe and the first time I made it I also had a separation issue when I put the cheese in. Instead of cheddar I use velveeta and I haven't had an issue with it again. I also added some white pepper to the recipe to give it an extra kick. Then I added some cubed chicken. That gave this recipe exactly what it was missing. My family and I love this recipe! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bre

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Dream Punch

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I give this recipe 5 stars for taste but 3 stars for appearance. The ginger ale kept separating from the range cream mixture and it was kinda embarrassing serving it to people when they had to use spoons to keep stirring to keep it mixed. Somehow i will learn how to fix this problem. I also used orange creamsicle ice cream instead of the sherbet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Red Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I had a 14 oz. turkey kielbasa, a cup and a half of cooked white rice, added cajun seasoning, red pepper flakes,otherwise followed recipe. Super good,had all ingredients on hand-love it! very budget friendly : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpatt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

Hamburger Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
i took advice from other reviewers and used 1 can of cream of mushroom soupwith roasted garlic and a good squeeze of ketchup and a splash of worsteshire,no tomato soup.used 6 potatoes covering whole thing. only had mexican cheese blend but it worked great. my dh had 3 helpings and asked me to make it again! beautiful base recipe-Thanks ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpatt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

Easy Baking Powder Drop Biscuits

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
awesome flavor, wonderful texture! light and fluffy excellent hot out of the oven with butter & jelly = )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpatt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This was a great sauce! I took another reviewers advice and added 1/4 cup of ketchup and then did 1/2 cup sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar. I also used half and half of pineapple juice and water. I also used an extra 1/4 cup of cornstarch because i enjoy my sauce very thick, with a few drops of red food coloring this looked and tasted just like restaurant dipping sauce. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This is a great quick and delicious recipe. I especially like the fact that you can use milk instead of cream because cream can get expensive. This cooked very well for me. I used it for shrimp alfredo and the only thing i did differently was add about a teaspoon of salt and an extra teaspoon of garlic powder. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angel Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I had high hopes for this recipe because it had such good reviews bu tit really just tasted like the canned soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpatt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
So good! These are always a hit and are awesome exactly as the recipe calls. However, I like to add a teaspoon or two of vanilla extract to the milk before I add the oatmeal, and I usually cut back the salt to 1/2 tsp or so. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Special Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This frosting was ALMOST perfect- the texture was spot on, it spread well, and most importantly it didn't taste like crisco! The only problem is the salt. I was suspicious when I saw that on the list but I decided to add it anyway and let me tell you- salty frosting is less than appetizing. However, it was awesome otherwise and I highly recommend it. Just leave out the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Broccoli Salad Supreme

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Love this salad!!! I was tempted to leave out the bacon but so glad I didnt-it made the dish. I did leave out the almonds though. this is my new fave salad : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpatt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
The only reason why I gave this recipe 4 stars and not 5 is because I made a few alternations to my liking therefore it came out a 5 but since these modifications were not already in the recipe then I should only rate it 4 stars. First I used 1 lb of each meat. Then since I enjoy lots of garlic i did 4 cloves. I also did not have crushed tomatoes so i used diced tomatoes but i put them in my food processor for a minute. I also did not have fennel seeds so i left that out. I used dried parsley instead of fresh. I used cottage cheese instead of ricotta and i used shredded mozzeralla cheese and not the slices. I also added sliced black olives on top of the cottage cheese layer. I did not bother to measure out the sauce because it seems like 1 1/2 cups was just not enough for the layer and i still have lots of sauce left over in the end. I baked my lasagna at 350 degrees because i had something else cooking in there with them and it came out just fine. I did the foil on top for 25 minutes and then when i took the foil off i baked it for another 15 and not 25. After it sat for 15 minutes i took a paper towel and wiped down the grease from the cheese on top. Oh and I also added about 1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese on top of the lasagna. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Garlic Breadsticks

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
These tasted great! I dont have a bread maker so I did it with my stand mixer and then I kneaded it for 5 minutes. I also let the sugar, water and yeast sit for 10 minutes first. I put these on parchment paper because I was hoping it would prevent them from getting dark on the bottom but this technique didnt work. I dont know if it is the breadstick or what but they were crunchy on the bottom. Perhaps I overcooked them. Anyways I will definately use this recipe again and hopefull will have better luck with them. I also rolled these in parmesan cheese after baking. I got 17 breadsticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Star-Spangled Banner Treats™

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Very good treats. They set quickly and perfectly however i did use a bag of miniature marshmallows instead but i dont think that matters any. My only reason for giving it 4 stars instead of 5 was because there should be a note to only use frosting. I used the decorating gel and went through the whole tube on 4 squares. The kids loved them though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Maybe somehow I did my calulations incorrect but I used 2 cans of peaches instead of fresh peaches because it was all i had and this same out very dry and crispy. Even with using the canned peaches i dont see how this would come out very good. The crumble covers the entire cobbler and it becomes thick and very cake like and then there is not very much filling on the inside. I was dissapointed with this recipe and will not try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waffles I

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as it says except i took one users advice and did the egg whites seperate and then folded them in. I was almost certain that it would make them light and cispy but instead almost the moment they came off the waffle iron they become soggy. I even added cinnamon and extra sugar to prevent them from being blan but it didnt help. These waffles were not only soggy but very blan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Bean Casserole AKA Sweet Chili

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I used a 28 oz can of baked beans with pork,1 cup of canned diced tomatoes, only 1 lb of ground beef and added onion to green peppers. no molasses. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpatt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

Bacon-Wrapped Asparagus

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
i did not try this exact recipe but i am rating it for the idea of wrapping my asparagus with bacon. i used my own recipe that i was orignally planning but i wanted to add a little something else to it and this recipe helped there. i am sure this recipe tastes great because it does sound it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Fish

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I did not have enough potato flakes so i used 1 1/2 cups of potato flakes and 1 1/2 cups flour. i also used salmon and then deep friend it. this was very crispy and delicious. oh and i also addded 1/2 cup italian style bread crumbs. This is a very good recipe, the only thing i would highly reccomend is not soaking the fish in water. dry it really well and then dip in an egg and milk mixture then coat with dry mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States