Ketchikan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Peanut Butter Bars I

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Yum! Made these for Christmas- my grandma made her famous apple and pumpkin pies but everyone stood around waiting for me to cut these! Next time I make them, I'm going to use less sugar- maybe 1.5 cups because 2 cups is just too much, these are tooth-achingly sweet. Also, I can't recommend enough lining the pan with something- parchment would be best but anything would work since you're not baking them. With the amount of butter I didn't think twice about following the instructions and not greasing the pan, but I wish I had- getting them out was a pain. It's a little easier when they're a bit softer but they're harder to eat then... catch 22! All in all, very yum. Why eat reeses?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

California Halibut Bake

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
The boyfriend has been asking for Halibut, but we don't have a grill in our new place so I set out looking for a recipe for baked halibut. I chose this because it is similar to a halibut casserole his grandfather makes. I scaled the recipe down to two servings and it made just enough sauce for two fillets, but I did think the lemon pepper was a bit strong so next time I'll put a little less in. I'm not a fan of mayo so I subbed greek yogurt and it was YUM! The only thing I'll say- I think it needs to be cooked a little longer than 25- mine ended up being in closer to 35 and really could have been cooked more but we were hungry. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Mizithra Browned Butter Pasta

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is one of my favorite recipes- I got it once at Old Spaghetti Factory and was instantly in love... but I went without for ages because there's no OSF in Alaska and I never realized how easy it was to make! A side note, I had zilch trouble finding Mizithra cheese, which in off-the-road Alaska is a feat: it was in with the specialty cheeses at Fred Meyers. I would advise against telling picky individuals that the cheese is from sheep, though. Make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Yummy! Perfect just the way it is. I definitely do not think it needs more sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Roasted Rack of Lamb

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I would really give this 10 stars if I could. It has been years since I have had lamb and was uncertain how much I would still like it and turns out I still LOVE it! This recipe is very simple to follow but the taste is just out of this world. I was hesitant about the salt because of reading others reviews but I cut back a bit anyways on the lamb itself before searing it. I added extra pepper and garlic and used dried rosemary and all turned out perfect. I cooked it to 130 and then covered it for 5 minutes and came out rare/medium rare. Do not be worried about the mustard if you arent a big fan, you can barely taste the mustard. I will definately be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Souffle

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I Love this recipe! Although in the potatoes I substitute maple syrup for the sugar and I add 1 tsp of cinnamon. So yummy. My in-laws who dislike sweet potatoes with a passion even like this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Mile-High Peanut Butter-Brownie Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I made this for a birthday party and it was SO good, but incredibly rich. I have a deep hatred for cool whip so I subbed homemade whipped cream- according to what I found about 3 cups of whipped cream is equivalent to an 8oz container of cool whip but I just did it by taste. I also skipped the chopped peanuts and chocolate chips in favor of chopped mini reese's cups. So good! [Update: I made this again, without the brownie, and it was just as good- more of a mousse.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Chicken Puffs

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I had really high expectations after reading the reviews and this didn't quite deliver as much as I'd hoped, but it was still pretty good. I think the recipe as written is a little confusing- it's not clear how to cook the chicken. What I ended up doing was boiling it and then shredding it- if you go that route I recommend seasoning the shredded chicken as I found the overall dish somewhat bland. I think next time I will add a small amount of salt and replace the garlic with green onions or chives as I felt the garlic was sort of a weird flavor with the cream cheese. All in all, a neat recipe and pretty easy to make too. I plan on applying the crescent dough technique to other fillings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I added garlic powder to the butter and family and friends all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked BBQ Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
It took more than one bottle of bbq sauce in order to cover the entire thing, but other then that, I got rave reviews on it. I also changed it up and browned it in avacado oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Karyn's Cream of Crab Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This was a great crab soup. It was very rich and super filling. I only used 1.5 tbs of old bay and it was plenty! Everyone in my house loved it, and it is a Christmas eve staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpatt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

Homemade Butter

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Soo fun! I never thought of making my own butter. It was so easy-no butter churn required :o) Tastes great, not sure how cost effective it was though. one minute it was creamy liquid the next it was butter,pretty cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpatt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

Harvest Pumpkin Cupcakes

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Great cupcake! we liked them a little better with no frosting-the orange sour cream was overpowering to the pumpkin. Next time I will try a buttercream frosting. recipe made 23 cupcakes and cooked for 27 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpatt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

Manicotti Italian Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was an excellent dish. I wouldnt call it manicotti though because it uses rigatoni noodles first of all and second manicotti is a stuffed shell. Anyways this tasted great. I didnt add mushrooms and i added onion, garlic and olives to mine. I made this recipe just like it states and i wouldnt change anything about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Macaroons III

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I had high hopes for these cookies because they sounded great and even when I made them the dough was pretty good and it had a nice firm texture to shape easily and it held its shape while cooking. The main reason why I do not like them is how they baked and tasted after. I tried 3 batches each baking at different amounts of time and they took a very long time to get the center fully cooked and by the time it was cooked on the inside it was overcooked on the outside. When I tasted them they werent too bad if you like a gooey super sweet and kinda odd texture to your cookies. Not gooey like chocolate chip cookies but kinda off putting for sure. I was looking for more of a classic macaroon cookie that are chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Special Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This recipe makes a lot of frosting so if you need it just to decorate a 9 inch double or rectangle cake then i would suggest cutting it in half. This frosting is actually quite tasty and not too sweet like I thought it would be. It has has great texture and works perfect for decorating :) I had a bit of raspberry extract to mine for a nice flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mulligatawny Soup I

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
really good! upped curry powder to 2 tsps, used a whole golden delicious apple and didnt really taste it, will use a granny smith next time to get that nice tartness,also used all the dark meat from a rotisserie chicken,and substituted 1 russet potato for the rice, tried it with whipping cream and without both were ways were great. also added a clove of garlic. I'll be making this again soon and will try a spicier curry next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpatt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

Sarah's Applesauce

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
my toddler loves it! thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpatt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

Campbell's Kitchen Beef Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
the asian equivalent of tex-mex... this has that americanized asian flavor,it was delish!! something everyone in the family enjoyed even the kids. varied my veggies but kept everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpatt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I give this 5 stars for taste and texture and about 4 1/2 stars for technique. The only thing that I changed in this was dipping it in egg first then flour and bread crumbs. By the time the cheese stick gets to the bread crumbs it didnt want to stick so i dipped it in egg then flour then egg again and then finally bread crumbs and it coated it well and came out perfectly crispy and melty. If you like gooey cheese sticks then let them cool for a few minutes before eating. I deep fried them for about 1 minute instead of 30 seconds because i wanted a good color to them. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States