Ketchikan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Sausage Strata

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Decent. I think it needed a little more flavor. Maybe next time I will try pepperjack cheese to spice it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Scruptious! Made it with applesauce to cut the calories and it was sooo moist. Took it to a church gathering and weeks later people are still talking about it! A definite must make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Three Cheese Manicotti II

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Great recipe. I have a hard time squeezing it into the shells with a baggie so I just shove it in with my fingers :) I also like to add chopped spinach to the cheese mixture for some added nutrition. I like to make my own sauce with venison sausage to make this a real hearty meal! HUsband gets very excited when I say, "Manicotti's for dinner!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Buttery Soft Pretzels

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Delicious and easy! Made them with my 3-year-old daughter. She had a blast rolling them out although they didn't look exactly like pretzels ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Boscobel Beach Ginger Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Delicious! Very gingery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Salmon Macaroni Bake

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Loved it. You can use a boxed mix too, just put the butter called for in a pot and add the onion, saute for a few minutes then add the cheese powder, mix it with the butter and onions in the pan, then add the milk called for, next add the musroom soup and any liquid from the salmon add the cheese, cook until thickend, then add the salmon. Add the macaroni. Melt the butter and mix it with the bread crumbs, top it and put it in the oven. I added extra cheese on top, loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE99901

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Fantastic - minus the mushrooms! I used kale instead of spinach because that is what I have in the garden currently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Best Cream Of Broccoli Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This soup turned out DIVINE. My good friend and I whipped it up tonight. Although we tweaked the recipe a bit (can't ever go wrong with a little bit o' garlic!), this recipe is a great starter for any direction you'd like to take. I can see myself using this as filling for a pasta/broccoli casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Moroccan Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Que DELICIAAAA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Bomb dot com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is a good recipe. Kind of bland but its easy and has a nice flavor for the most part. The only difference I made was I used fresh onion and extra fresh parsley. I would probably use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Libby's® Famous Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is a pretty good pumpkin pie recipe. I always add extra spices to it because I like my pie full of flavor. I find this pie kind of average. To make it extra special I suggest doing something to it to make it shine more. Like using a spiced crust or something. I would use this recipe again only because it is simple and can be modified any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I made these cookies just like the recipe and they came out perfect and delicious. They are moist and chewy with a nice light crispy edge. I baked them at 375degrees for 9 minutes, just until they are a bit underdone and then let them sit on the pan for 2 minutes and removed. I split the dough into thirds and made plain, with raisins and with chocolate chips. Refrigerating the dough helps with even cooking and also helps blend the flavors. I did not press the cookies down because this step really isnt necessary. Before making ANY changes to this recipe I highly suggest you try it as is. I do not find them too sweet, they are perfect. If you follow the directions and dont make any changes then you will come out with the BEST oatmeal cookie. I used parchment paper because greasing the pan usually gives the cookies a dark bottom. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Had an odd taste, did not like it. Thank goodness for horseradish or we would have starved....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE99901

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Very good, on its own I thought it was just okay. But then I had it with the celery and it deserved the 5 star rating. Skipped the whole cheese on top and just added it all in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE99901

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
The first time I made this, I made it exactly according to the recipe (except halving it) and I thought it was so-so, but had potential, so I made my own version, with leftovers from a roast chicken. I put the cream of chicken (low sodium this time), water, boullion, butter, and the not-fat part of the pan drippings from a roast chicken (cool it and scrape the fat off) in a saucepan and set to simmer, then added the meat from two chicken thighs/legs, chopped into smallish bits. I let that simmer while the spaghettic cooked, then made the rest as normal except subbed panko bread crumbs for the cheddar cheese. It was YUM! I know, it's not really even the same recipe anymore, but it was so good I had to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Cheese and Broccoli Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE99901

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was the first time I made roast chicken, and this got rave reviews! The bf talked about how "awesome" it was all night, and from him "I like it" is high praise. That said, I thought it was way too salty. The only change I made was to add onion to the stuffing and I put the spice rub under the skin since I don't like the skin. I think next time I make this I'm going to cut back on the salt, because otherwise it was DELISH! Easy to make, though I was a bit afraid the smoke was going to set off alarms...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Three Cheese Baked Ziti

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This is one of my favorite dishes, I make it probably every other week. Because I'm just feeding two, I usually split it into two smaller casseroles and leave the other one, unbaked in the fridge for lunch or dinner the next day. I'd like to try freezing the extra but honestly I've never been able to resist eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Peanut Butter Bars I

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Yum! Made these for Christmas- my grandma made her famous apple and pumpkin pies but everyone stood around waiting for me to cut these! Next time I make them, I'm going to use less sugar- maybe 1.5 cups because 2 cups is just too much, these are tooth-achingly sweet. Also, I can't recommend enough lining the pan with something- parchment would be best but anything would work since you're not baking them. With the amount of butter I didn't think twice about following the instructions and not greasing the pan, but I wish I had- getting them out was a pain. It's a little easier when they're a bit softer but they're harder to eat then... catch 22! All in all, very yum. Why eat reeses?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States