Ketchikan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sunday Morning Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
These were good! I only have two minor nitpicks: one is that they don't taste all that lemony, and that was after I doubled the amount of lemon. Secondly, the mixture as the recipe calls for was really runny- the pancakes did not hold their form at all until I added some more flour. To be fair, I did use a gluten free flour mix with this, but I have never had a problem with it before. Other than those two things, these pancakes were great, made the batter the night before and then threw them on the griddle for a quick breakfast. The poppy seed flavor was perfect, maybe next time I'll spread them with lemon curd or something to really bring out the lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Zucchini Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Hmm. Not sure what happened with these... I had to half the recipe because my zucchini was not as big as I had thought. In the end I actually had just a bit less than 1 cup of zucchini. They tasted good, but they smelled kind of weird- like veggies I guess. The disconnect of eating something that smelled like veggies but didn't taste like veggies made the experience of eating them not that fun. It's too bad, too, because the idea of getting veggies in your dessert is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Snickerdoodles II

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
These turned out really well- which is pretty amazing considering I ran out of sugar (only discovered this right after I got back from the grocery store with butter) and made them with gluten free flour. I think it speaks to the flexibility of both this recipe and snickerdoodles in general. I ended up using 1/2 cup of normal sugar and 1 1/4 cup of powdered sugar, and 3 cups of Pamela's baking Mix instead of the AP flour. Turned out great, thanks for the recipe... sorry I kind of bastardized it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Dry Onion Soup Mix

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Fantastical! I used to use the boxed stuff to make burgers and roasted potatoes and tons of other stuff, but it has barley in it! Thanks for a gluten, preservative, and artificial flavoring free alternative that tastes just as good and is WAY cheaper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

P-8 Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Really flexible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Scampi II

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I had pretty high hopes for this but sadly, we didn't like it too much. I wanted to follow the recipe the first time I made it so I did it all pretty much as is (except I used brown rice pasta) and it was really, really greasy. I have a very sensitive tummy and oily, greasy, or fried things usually make me pretty sick, sadly this has been no exception. Also, as a side note I am from an italian-american family and I grew up eating this kind of food and this dish was pretty nontraditional. The flavor was fine, but it's not really scampi without white wine, it really needs that bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Photo by saraithegeek

Favorite Barbecue Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I've made this several times. The first time, I didn't include the worcestershire sauce because I didn't think I'd like it. The result was too sweet and really felt like it was missing something- so I tried it with the worcestershire and cut back a bit on the brown sugar and it was just perfect! I love this especially because unlike store bought sauces, this is gluten free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free)

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
SMITHERS22, if you're still reading this... You need to check the baking mix she used- some, like Bob's Red Mill AP mix, require the addition of xanthan gum as a gluten replacement, others like Pamela's mix already have it in there. I have found that sticking my cookie mix in the fridge for at least an hour or so (or the freezer for 20 minutes, if I'm feeling lazy) and putting it back while the cookies are baking instead of just leaving it out on the counter helps prevent against flat cookie sadness. You could also try adding more baking mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Unbelievable Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Yum! The marinade smells a bit pungent but the chicken isn't too strongly flavored. It gets a lot of tang from the vinegar but I didn't taste the mustard at all- perhaps with a less mild mustard (I picked an apple mustard to coordinate with the cider vinegar) you'd get a stronger flavor. Either way, I liked it. The wind kept blowing out the grill so I made this in the oven. I'd like to make it on the grill next time because I think it will caramelize really well. Even in the oven it was really good, and definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Bierocks (German Meat Turnovers)

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Yummy! Made these using the sweet roll recipe from this site instead of store bought! Definitely will make again! I didn't add lemon pepper though as husband doesn't like it. Instead I added more garlic and Hungarian paprika!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Quick Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I am of mixed feelings about these. They're very simple, which I appreciate. They're also gluten free which I appreciate even more. They even tasted pretty good- my family raved about them. BUT. They are pretty ugly looking and hard to handle. For one thing, mine did not turn out looking like the pretty ones in the picture. They were flat and did not hold together well. They were also almost too moist and chewy. I am a pretty advanced baker but I am willing to admit the problem may have been user error. I arrived late to the farmers market and all they had were medium eggs, so I added a bit of milk to the cookies to keep the batter together. Perhaps that was my mistake. I will definitely try again, though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Simple White Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
It was tough coming up with the perfect review for this recipe. I have been searching everywhere for the perfect white cake recipe. This recipe has a YUMMY taste & really does remind you of a sugar cookie, however the appearance just is not appealing to me. They didn't necessarily fall, but they dont keep their shape once out of the oven. I am a cupcake expert and when using this recipe I was hoping for a puffy cupcake, didnt happen though. Despite trying 4 variations to make them rise, i just couldnt do it. If you will be covering it with lots of frosting then this is a good recipe, if you care about appearance then it doesnt work out so well. My advice for that perfect cupcake, use the recipe on this site for crazy chocolate cake, just do not add the cocoa and add more vanilla oh and use about another 1/4 cup of flour to make up for the baking cocoa. I also added a little almond extract for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Maple Snickerdoodles

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
These cookies are very delicious. They really need to be watched when baking them though because if you over bake them then they come out crispy, which I prefer my cookies chewy. I even underbaked them in hopes they would continue cooking on the pan, didnt work out so well. The trick is finding the perfect baking time for your oven, bake them until they look like you want to give them just 1 more minute, slightly set in the middle. Remove them from the pan right away and cool. These cookies only hold up for about 2-3 days. They taste best warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Salmon

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This was good- but it didn't really taste like maple. I could have put more maple syrup in but then it might have been too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

London Broil II

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I used this as a marinade for a normal, tenderloin steak. It was very good- I sort of thought it tasted too much like soy sauce and nothing else- though I suspect the BF raved about it for just that reason. Either way, it's definitely a great way to jazz up a steak and makes for an easy dinner because you can set it all up in advance and then just throw the meat on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Quick Oyakodon

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This was OK. I did leave out the mushrooms because the bf hates mushrooms, but I'm not sure how much difference it would have made. He liked it, I thought it kind of tasted like funky fried rice. Since we both agreed we like my fried rice better, I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Quinoa Porridge with Cinnamon Apples

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Super yummy! My 3 year old LOVED it. I did omit the nuts from her's as she is not a huge fan. Definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Grilled Halibut with Cilantro Garlic Butter

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
My husband blecked at it. I thought it was ok. Not sure if I'll make it again. We make halibut at least once a week so we always are trying new recipes and this is not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Apple Strudel Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
These were delicious! I used chunksof granny smith apples and added 1/4 c of applesauce too. Sooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Sloppy Joes II

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
If I could give this a rating of 0 I would! Both my husband and I disliked it and then was suprised to see that our 7 year old and 1 year old disliked it as well. This recipe is WAY to sweet and I even cut back on the brown sugar. I was hesitant to use ketchup because I normally use tomato sauce, which is more traditional. I even tried fixing the sweetness by adding 1/2 can tomato paste and some water but nothing helped. I nearly gagged and couldnt believe this recipe got such high reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States