Ketchikan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pesto

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Loved it toasted the pine nuts and put into ice cube trays and love it great for the both of us.. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlmahoney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I love this recipe! It always turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I made this for my family sunday dinner with the grandkids and they just loved it. Was even better the next day my daughter in begged me for the recipe. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlmahoney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Roasted Chicken and Potatoes

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was pretty tasty- I followed the recipe pretty closely just added a few extra veggies and some herbs. It smoked up my house pretty bad, but I can live with that. It's four stars only because it was kind of greasy- a little too greasy for my taste. Too much butter I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Homemade Flour Tortillas

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I made these tortillas last night for my family.We used them for quesadilla's,I didn't feel like running to the store so i used shortening instead of lard They turned out pretty good.It said they make 24 but they made 12 small sized ones, Maybe due to the i fact didn't have a roller.Next time i will try lard to see if they taste any different!Over all my family was pretty happy with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Asparagus

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Had no oil, so I melted butter on the pan while the oven heated. Then used 3 cloves fresh garlic and freshly grated pepper and salt, mixed it all together on the pan. Cooked six minutes then added the parm cheese for the last six minutes. Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE99901

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
So good! These are always a hit and are awesome exactly as the recipe calls. However, I like to add a teaspoon or two of vanilla extract to the milk before I add the oatmeal, and I usually cut back the salt to 1/2 tsp or so. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Smoked Salmon Frittata

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This was a great starter recipe for me! I tend to always tweak recipes... and this one I didn't do all that much to. I just added a clove of garlic in with the onions and instead of regular black olives I used kalamata olives. Also added some rosemary and fresh dill as well as a pinch of sharp cheddar on top. Turned out to be a fantastic dinner for my dad and I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Mmm, the marinade is going to be my go-to recipe for BBQ sauce now. These were seriously good. The kitchen smelled like a distillery afterward but the rum was not overpowering, just added a really lovely flavor. I don't like spice so I totally left out the chile sauce and we cut the sugar because I don't usually care for tooth-achingly sweet bbq. It was so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Pan-Fried Asparagus

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
With the recommended changes (adding the garlic in the end, primarily so it doesn't burn and I used about a tablespoon of oil and 2 tablespoons of butter for a full pound of asparagus. More than that would have been WAY over the top, for me.) very tasty. Works on a LOT of different types vegetables. Green beans, brussel sprouts, etc. Just adjust the sauteing time for whatever you are throwing in the pan ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabbath J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made the recipe as written, doubling it for a larger group. I loved the flavors, ended up adding more salt because I used unsalted broth so I could control the salt content a bit. When I doubled it, I thought it was too thin - so I ended up adding a total of 7 potatoes diced up, a bag of frozen corn, and 1 pound of asparagus that I had pan fried (add a tablespoon of oil, 2 tablespoons of butter and saute cut up asparagus for a few minutes until it turns bright green. Season with salt and pepper when you add the asparagus to the pan. Add in 1-2 cloves of garlic after a few minutes (when they have turned bright green), and remove from heat after 1-2 more minutes of sauteing. I pulled the asparagus out of the pan with some tongs and put them right into the soup, at the end when I was warming it through. I added the corn at the same time. It was FANTASTIC. Very nice base, with the changes I liked it even better. I only removed a star because I think the recipe, as written, is too thin. But that's a personal preference thing ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabbath J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Amazing! I used all butter too - no shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Oh YUM! I followed the more precise instructions from reviewer NMR and this turned out great. Had to sub gouda for the jack cheese cause that's what I had, but it was still pitch perfect. I also roasted a habanero pepper and chopped it up to put in my sweetie's serving, as he likes things very spicy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Spicy Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Oh my goodness, sooo good!! Thought about cooking the veggies before hand, so glad I didn't. Only one change was too use two slices of cheese. I will try this again with different cheeses (probably tomorrow). Had to try this one because these are three of my favorite veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE99901

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Egg Rolls

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I am giving this 4 stars instead of 5 simply because it sounded just a bit to blan for me. I changed the recipe to my liking but cannot rate this recipe for my creation. This recipe however is a great starting point for those who have never made egg rolls before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Amazing! My girls and husband LOVE these! Their favorite way is topped with fresh picked blueberries and whipped cream! I have also put the batter inside metal cooie cutters and cooked them that way to. My girls were SOO excited!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Plum Jam

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Hello everyone, I am the submitter of this recipe. I just wanted to make a little note, depending on how fresh your plums are is what determines the amount of sugar you need. As they ripen more they tend to lose some of their sweetness, therefore needing more sugar. I live in a small part of Alaska & we tend to get fruit that is near the end of its shelf life. For fresh plums I would suggest adding only 6- 6 1/2 cups of sugar. Thanks & enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Delicious! I took out the seeds of zucchini with a spoon just like you do with melon and sliced zukes really thin. No bitterness. I also used two packs of instant maple brown sugar oatmeal instead of 1 cup of flour. Next time I think I will add crushed pecans to give it a little crunch factor! Great way to use up zucchini if your sick of grilling it or making zucchini bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
These were so good! I was a skeptic, but my sweetie loves quesadillas and I was looking for a way to make them meatless to save money but still be filling- jackpot! I'm not a salsa person, so I left that and the red pepper flakes out, then added some fresh basil from my garden and squeezed half a lime into the mix. I think cilantro would probably be good in this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Sunday Morning Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
These were good! I only have two minor nitpicks: one is that they don't taste all that lemony, and that was after I doubled the amount of lemon. Secondly, the mixture as the recipe calls for was really runny- the pancakes did not hold their form at all until I added some more flour. To be fair, I did use a gluten free flour mix with this, but I have never had a problem with it before. Other than those two things, these pancakes were great, made the batter the night before and then threw them on the griddle for a quick breakfast. The poppy seed flavor was perfect, maybe next time I'll spread them with lemon curd or something to really bring out the lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States