Fairbanks, Alaska - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sophie's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
My husband loves this recipe I add extra nuts and make this several times during zucchini season thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hsumm2840

No Bake Cookies V

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Amazing!! I didn't have vanilla so I put in half the amount of almond instead. And 1/3 cup if Nutella. Turned out amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hsumm2840
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gurkensalat (German Cucumber Salad)

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This is kind of like what we serve at the German restaurant I work in. I don't like the addition of paprika, and we let our cucumbers cure for quite a bit longer than half an hour. I'll stick with our recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marenez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Puff Pastry Salmon Bundles

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I was delighted by how easy this fancy-looking and photogenic dish was to make! I substituted crescent roll dough for puff pastry (shortening the bake time to 16 minutes) and only had canned asparagus on hand, but was very pleased with the results. My husband typically refuses salmon outright because of its strong flavor, but enjoyed his piece and didn't make a fuss about leftovers the following night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBIF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alaskan Halibut Caprese

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as described and it turned out great. My husband, who is not much of a fish eater, consumed his piece with minimal grumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBIF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gordo's Best of the Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
this is so great tasting. all the guest loved the flavor. I myself love sharp tasting cheese and this worked so nice in complementing the flavor of the sauce and ricotta cheese blend. thanks for sharing (Grandma's recipe is replaced with this one)... (sorry grandma).. But such high reviews from all of our guest and even phone calls for the recipe it was nice to tell them they could get it here!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dinette Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
My guests raved over this retro 1950's style cake. I did make a few adjustments however as follows: I used baking soda and cream of tartar instead of baking powder, I used baker's sugar, sea salt, butter instead of shortening and I upped the 100% real vanilla extract 2 Tablespoons as well as adding 2 Tablespoons of dried lemon zest and I used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of milk. My cake was perfect topped with the chocolate sour cream frosting I found elsewhere on this site and fresh raspberries to decorate the top. I was the best dessert I have made in ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I used a 70% cacao chocolate bar that I grated, and melted with my butter, and I used baker's sugar with tapioca as a corn free version of this frosting. It was slightly grainy, but it had a decadent taste that was perfect with the "Dinette Cake" recipe elsewhere on this site. I put fresh raspberries on top of my old fashioned white cake with sour cream and dark chocolate frosting. My guests raved over the retro 1950's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Toffee Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
made this for a dip for apple's use several different kinds of apples to dip in the toffee sauce everyone raved and loved it thanks for sharing looking forward to trying it on other stuff......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Split Cake III

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
After reading reviews I did the cake mix but put it in a sheet cake pan made two witch made a much thinner cake. with one cake I took a wooden handle end rounded part once the cake was done and cooled and punch hole's into the cake all and inch apart. then poured the pudding mix over the cake making sure to fill the hole's up sliced bananas, drained the crushed pineapple really good then added to top of bananas then topped with whip cream. chocolate syrup. cherries. sliced almonds and chocolate shavings it looked as though a bakery had made it and put it in the freezer. the other half of the cake in the other sheet I took wax paper and sprinkled powdered sugar on it turned the sheet cake out on to wax paper. then did the pudding mix on top and sliced banana and small chunks of pineapple 1/2c. Rolled the cake into a log putting the seam on the bottom then topped with whip cream and chopped sliced almonds and chocolate shavings with chopped cherries and a few more chopped up chunks of pineapple and it was beautiful took them to the out door picnic party and no left overs everyone raved and love this thanks so much for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Emily's Broccoli Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
no one like it and I followed the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetable Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
this one needs to be adjusted teaspoons in place of tablespoons sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Shrimp I

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This is excellent... the batter sticks to the shrimp and the taste is amazing I did this for a girls party and everyone thought i'd bought them from one of the fine dinner lol's thats how good they were "excellent" a real keeper and easy to make thanks so much for sharing it will be used over and over in this family....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
this is awesome!!! And a great way to use up broccoli growing so fast in garden.. thanks for sharing a real keeper......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This is awesome bread thanks for sharing we make it often!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
EXCELLENT!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Biscuits

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Excellent recipe.... (people having trouble ???? _secret_ to good dough is don't over work it just like a good pie crust. and very cold ingredents is a plus..... lenihan5 great job thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
awe this was awesome nice flavor with some extra spices of your liken I have made this three times now and each time there's been no left overs 1st time I followed the original recipe. very good But I felt needed more flavor.. second time i followed TSLITOR One of the reviewers and it was really good so there is alot you can do with your favorit soup mixture and chicken Thanks for sharing !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthier Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
awesome!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Applesauce Wheat Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I added a tablespoon of dried lemon zest, a 1/2 C sugar, 2 T honey, 1 T vanilla extract, and 1 t almond extract. I also used thawed frozen blueberries, and I put it in my kitchen-Aid mixer with the dough hook on speed 4, which really helped with bursting the fruit to increase moisture. I also tampered with the ration of whole wheat to regular flour, and I used Hungarian unbleached flour. I had to lengthen my bake time to 35 minutes. I decided to try this recipe because I am out of eggs right now, and I would have to say that these are a bit more crumbly than with an egg in the mix. My 7 year old taste tester and I think it could use more salt, or some butter. not bad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States