Anchorage - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Monkey

The Best Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Everyone loved these! I used the juice of 5 lemons and it was just perfect! I also took the suggestion of another and added a little extra flour to balance out the extra lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Brownies

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I must not have had zucchini that was wet enough because I ended up with the same results as magnoliakng. They were dry and nowhere near like any brownies I've ever had or made. I might try it again another time since I like the concept of adding veggies but for now I need something that I can whip up and be done with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKCHILD1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seward, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Bean Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This was good. It had a bit too much dressing so I would suggest to pour some out before serving and use a slotted serving spoon. I agree that it is best when made a day or two in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brine for Smoked Salmon

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Spectacular. Quite a tasty twist on traditional smoked salmon. I quartered and juiced the fruits, throwing in the entire quarter once juiced. Aside from that, I followed the recipe exactly and have no regrets. Brined for 18 hrs, smoked for 5 hours but kept thicker pieces in the smoker another hour. Just a wonderful, unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggs on the Grill

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
A wonderful idea; genius in its simplicity! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cari-Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I tried this following the directions as they are written, with a couple minor changes. I wanted to try my new silicon large muffin bakeware. The recipe came out well, the muffins were delicious. If you ever use silicon bakeware, keep in mind that recipes take longer because the heat is not contained as well as it is with metal or glass. But the contents come out of the pan with a breeze. I used frozen blueberries which added to the time as well. Fortunately I used temperature rather than time to determine done-ness (about 205 degrees). I ended up making another 15 minutes or so, and I also put the muffins on the top rack of the oven for a few minutes to make sure the top was crunchy and browned. All in all they were delicious, and done nicely (not soft or doughy in the middle). I only made a single batch because I was sure we would not want all those blueberry muffins tempting us (myself, husband and son)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bread maker baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Love these! I do not wrap bacon around them to messy and way to much work. I half cook the bacon and cut off most of the fat a lay on top of the broiled jalapeño and cream cheese then pop them under the broiler for another minute or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicago-Style Pan Pizza

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I thought this was delicious! Definitely will continue to bake the crust first and will add more mushrooms. The spices were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Litt Perkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salsa Chicken

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
So easy and tasty!! The spice wimp in the family had a hard time with it until she scraped the sauce off and dredged the chicken in sour cream. Very tasty, I will try it in the slow cooker as others have recommended. Oh, I used Costco Organic Salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Very easy and tasty, made it as posted except used less rice (1 cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa

Avocado Cookies

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Great Cookies! My husband and I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Colombian Turmada Potatoes (Papa Turmada)

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This was a good recipe but I felt like the proportions of ingredients was a little off. I used about a half pound of pork sausage instead of the links and probably doubled the amount of onion asked for and it didn't cover the pan very well. The only thing I had more that enough of was potatoes. Other than that it tasted really good, especially with some salsa on top. We're looking forward to eating the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKCHILD1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seward, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is a very good recipe. A nice change from the really sweet, sweet potato recipes. I did cut back on the sugar to 1/2 cup and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easter Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I've saved this recipe in my recipe box a while ago but I tried for the first time Saturday and boy am I glad I saved the recipe ~ The eggs came out so beautiful. I received a lot of rave over them ~ I thought this was a great idea from the start and now there will be other ladies in the church trying out this simple but great idea of a recipe ~ They're not just for Easter but can be used for gatherings such as baby showers, etc. Thank you Nancy Clancy for posting your recipe ~ Sincerely, Mrs. Robin Burns
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Garlic Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Was disappointed with this recipe as I am a garlic fan. Made as called for but added extra garlic and tho my house smelt heavenly the taste did not live up to the smell. Both my husband and I found it quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Followed the recipe as written except omitted the cayenne and halved the chipotle (one of the kids is sensitive to heat) and added one onion per other reviewers suggestions. It was moist and delicious, definitely a keeper! Definitely add an onion, the kids devoured them! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Quite different than I expected but it was good. I think I will modify the recipe to bake the crust for less time--it was a bit dry. It takes a long time, due to needing it to cool, but it's actually quite easy to make. Comments from guests were that it was a perfect blend of sweet and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy PHILLY Pesto Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This was ok. Seasoned the chicken prior to cooking but still seemed a little bland. Would not use chicken broth again as it was pretty salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Especially Easy Apple Cheesecake Crisp

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
My husband, who is hard to please, thought this was fabulous. It was really easy to throw together so I'll be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I made this recipe for a diabetic family, and I left out the sugar. I also used organic tomatoes (paste, sauce, stewed and diced), organic sausage and organic sweet/yellow onion. I added a ton of organic white cap mushrooms and this was awesome! My Aunt was surprised that it tasted a little sweet since she knew I was leaving out the sugar. I do not see a reason or flavor purpose for the olive oil and therefore left that out as well. The onions will sauté in the grease from the sausage just fine. I just started my sausage first and added the onions once there was juice in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Betz Slaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States