Anchorage - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Although there was way too much frosting even when I cut it to make four layers this cake was wonderful. I made it for my friends sons 8th birthday and the whole thing disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I liked these but they are certainly not the best, I made these a second time but used the cheese cake brownie idea to make them a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

The Best Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I tried this recipe to the tee. I was not too excited about it. The crust was too thick and it did taste like there was way too much flour in it. My fix for it was making a blueberry sauce to drizzle over the top of the bars and it turned out wonderful. I used one half pint of fresh blueberries 3/4 cup white sugar and the juice and zest of one large lemon, bring to a boil stirring occasionally and let cool. Maybe I should have followed the advice from the other comments and used another lemon and less flour, so maybe next time. If there is one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Delish! I substituted muesli for oats (because I was out of oats), and they still turned out quite tasty! The batter spread out a bit in the tray, so more flour might help..?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic Pad Thai

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskanDelicacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kotzebue, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Photo by Lori Rowley-Sipple

Canadian Honey Apple Walnut Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Outstanding!! Only thing I did was cover it with tinfoil 30 minutes into the total cooking time...turned out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Rowley-Sipple

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

No Bakes

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
this is a recipe I have been making for about 30 years. I bring the cocoa, sugar, milk and butter to a rolling boil for 90 seconds then remove it from heat and stir in the peanut butter and vanilla. Stir until the pb is melted, then stir in the oats. They are a kid favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Banana Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Seriously best banana bread EVER!!!! I have made many and none compare to this recipe. The only thing I do different is no nuts, I don't think it needs it. People that I make this bread for are always asking for the recipe...I have probably shared this recipe over 20+ times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikail82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Family approved! I used 3 cups of zucchini, 2 cups of white sugar and 1/4 cup of brown. I made muffins instead and baked for 25 minutes at 350. Yum! Great way to use up zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raspberry Pie I

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
So good! I have raspberry bushes in my yard and I've made three of these pies this summer. This pie is a huge hit with everyone who's tried it. I followed the recipe exactly. The pie comes out of the oven soupy, but if you let it cool, it firms up to perfection in about half an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Quesadillas

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I was looking for a good Salmon or Halibut Quesadilla recipe but there were none to be found so I decided to try this one and substitute. The Halibut was phenomenal I haven't tried it with the salmon yet but I will be soon. I grilled it on the George Foreman so they could be made to order which was good since my family just kept coming back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Key Lime Pie VII

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Fantastic and exactly what I wanted. I used 3 cans of the milk, but did not scrape the sides with a spatula. I also did not get bubbles after baking for 13 minutes. I took it out cooled it and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This was a refreshing salad on a hot day. Next time I thing I'll leave out the sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Country Gravy

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Made this gravy today for breakfast! Turned out wonderful, I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Maple Syrup

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I didn't have any maple extract, so I used raspberry extract instead. It's wonderful with blueberry pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monkey

General Tsao's Chicken II

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Petfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monkey

Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Delicious! Easy! Quick! I recommend this to anyone needing a dessert in a pinch. Made it after dinner tonight and my husband & I love it! We used a frozen fruit mixture of strawberries, Mandarin oranges, and peaches. We also substituted olive oil for the butter. We put the olive oil in the oven to warm it up and then poured the batter into that. To quote my husband,"It's real good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanya Person

Green Beans with Almonds and Caramelized Shallots

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I doubled the recipe because we had so many fresh beans to use from the garden. No shallots so used 3 green onions and a white onion. Only had one red bell pepper so used one yellow bell pepper too. Cut down some on the sugar after reading other reviews, but didn't actually measure anything. Also I had whole almonds and slivered them myself. Got rave reviews and everyone going back for seconds, even the guy who doesn't like unusual things and my teenage daughters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Person

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Erd, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monkey

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Wonderful! We cooked it in the oven (grilling wasn't a choice today) on 350 for 35 minutes. We cooked it with the marinade and ladled it a fewIt turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Playgroup Granola Bars

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I found it to be a little too sweet for my liking. Seemed more of a dessert/cookie bar than what I was hoping for. That being said it wasn't bad at all. My kids enjoyed it. I think I will take some other reviewers advice and add less sugar and do some whole wheat flour to make it less sweet and a little healthier. I will definitely be making this again. Way cheaper than buying granola bars at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandzilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States