Anchorage - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Tanya Person

Peanut Butter Chews

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I was given a big bag of cornflakes and needed a quick and easy treat for the kids to take to their Christmas party. This recipe was perfect! I dropped them by spoonful but next time I might press them into bars so maybe they would hold together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Person

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Erd, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Savory Snack Pretzels

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Best pretzels ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smoked Salmon Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Very delicious and were the first deviled eggs to disappear at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smothered Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This is definitely lacking flavor, the bacon and onion on top was the only flavor. I added more lemon pepper than the recipe called for and also marinated it in buttermilk but the chicken it self was very bland even with using bacon grease instead of oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chipotle Shrimp Tacos

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
My family loved this!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALICIAJOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was very bland for my taste. Maybe tomorrow when I add gravy it'll spruce it up...but it certainly cannot stand on it's own without gravy. I won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiphane Kostakis Moore
Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smoked Salmon Quiche

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I'm only giving this a 4 but just because I did it a bit differently and can't say for sure how it would be if I'd followed it exactly. But the version I ended up with was a 5-star, and that's coming from my husband, who is very critical. The quiche texture was light and it had excellent flavor. My version: For the "crust", I used 3 canned refrigerator biscuits, rolled very thin, and pressed into a crock. Instead of cubed Cheddar, I used one cup of shredded Colby Jack, and did NOT add more cheese on top at the end--one cup was plenty. I used dried/minced onions instead of real ones since my husband won't eat real ones. I did put it into a blender but I don't really see any need to do so next time. I think that whisking it together well would produce the same result. Instead of parsley and sage, I used just a little dill weed, because I think think the flavor blends best with salmon, and it still adds the color. I used SMOKED salmon instead of regular salmon, which adds an inordinately different (and better) flavor in my opinion. I cooked it for only 25 minutes but my crock continues to cook for a bit after something comes out of the oven. What a tasty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bethany66

Salmon Quiche

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I'm only giving this a 4 but just because I did it a bit differently and can't say for sure how it would be if I'd followed it exactly. But the version I ended up with was a 5-star, and that's coming from my husband, who is very critical. The quiche texture was light and it had excellent flavor. My version: For the "crust", I used 3 canned refrigerator biscuits, rolled very thin, and pressed into a crock. Instead of cubed Cheddar, I used one cup of shredded Colby Jack, and did NOT add more cheese on top at the end--one cup was plenty. I used dried/minced onions instead of real ones since my husband won't eat real ones. I did put it into a blender but I don't really see any need to do so next time. I think that whisking it together well would produce the same result. Instead of parsley and sage, I used just a little dill weed, because I think think the flavor blends best with salmon, and it still adds the color. I used SMOKED salmon instead of regular salmon, which adds an inordinately different (and better) flavor in my opinion. I cooked it for only 25 minutes but my crock continues to cook for a bit after something comes out of the oven. What a tasty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggless Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I'm giving 4 stars only because I adulterated this recipe a bit to make it almost completely vegan. So I'm not giving an entirely accurate review of the given recipe. First, I cut the recipe in half which still makes about 24 smallish cookies. I replaced the shortening with 1/4 refined coconut oil and 1/4 cup peanut butter (to make it extra peanut buttery). I lessened the called for white sugar by an 1/8 of a cup. I also replaced the buttermilk with almond milk. I added chopped up Hershey's kisses (the only thing not vegan) and some walnut pieces I wanted to use. I pressed down the tops of the cookies with a fork. My version of the cookies didn't spread out much at all so next time I will probably flatten them more before baking. I also used parchment paper and baked for about 14 minutes with the given baking temp. They turned out soooo delicious! Probably the best vegan cookie I have made to date. Will definitely use this recipe as a starting point again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beer Cheese Dip from Hidden Valley®

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
VERY good! Following the advice of another rater, I cut back very slightly on the ranch packet. It was fabulous. I really enjoyed it cold, but I might heat it up later to follow the advice of another rater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Capers and Halibut

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I live in Alaska, and we have a freezer full of halibut at any given time. We started using this recipe a couple of years ago, and haven't even tried anything else--because, why? This one is so good we've never had the desire to try anything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, Utah, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Recycled Budget Turkey - Thanksgiving

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This task seems a bit daunting. I may try with a Cornish game hen before taking on the big bird!!!!! :) This does seem like a great way to save a bit on the price of turkey, though!!!!! Can't wait!!!!! Yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Real Home Cook Champ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shoosh shoosh - Budget mashed potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I actually love having my neighbors over for lunch or dinner!!!!! It makes for a great community atmosphere in the neighborhood and it's a great way to try out new cooking styles!!!!!!!!!!!! I will say though, that mashed potatoes are a little heavy at lunch (for my taste) and I prefer to serve potato salad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Still, the nutmeg was a great suggestion! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Real Home Cook Champ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Unfried Egg

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I chose to substitute just a touch of Soy Sauce instead of Worcestershire and had pretty good results. I like a "peppery" egg too!!!!!! Overcooked on the first attempt but got it right on the second. Great recipe!!!!!! I love it!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Real Home Cook Champ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramelized Spicy Pumpkin Seeds

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Yum! Not SPICY but flavorful. I cut the sugar down by 1T and used a 50/50 mix of white to brown sugar. Worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Best Clam Chowder

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Being a transplant from the south, married to a true blue Irish American from South Boston, New England clam chowder was intimidating for me. I'm quite confident in the kitchen, but this recipe was my first try and I wanted to make something special for my guy, so, I made this chowder for the family and it was an immediate success! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renée Carlson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Easy and Organic Overnight French Toast

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Our family loves this and it's popular at brunches too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renée Carlson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Really yummy, swapped a bit of butter out for more yogurt (as per recommended). It was a bit on the dry side, but still good. I poured a lemon juice + powdered sugar glaze over the top after the bake for added sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Wow!! Really good. I didn't change anything except for using more ham (oops). One thing I would recommend is not to add salt. Maybe because I used more ham and used salted butter it got salty after sitting for a bit, not so salty it wasn't delicious, just saltier than it needed to be.. The whole family loved it and it was great with some crusty bread. Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Five-Spice Carrots

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Perfect. I used olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States