Anchorage - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Capers and Halibut

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I live in Alaska, and we have a freezer full of halibut at any given time. We started using this recipe a couple of years ago, and haven't even tried anything else--because, why? This one is so good we've never had the desire to try anything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, Utah, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Recycled Budget Turkey - Thanksgiving

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This task seems a bit daunting. I may try with a Cornish game hen before taking on the big bird!!!!! :) This does seem like a great way to save a bit on the price of turkey, though!!!!! Can't wait!!!!! Yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Real Home Cook Champ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shoosh shoosh - Budget mashed potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I actually love having my neighbors over for lunch or dinner!!!!! It makes for a great community atmosphere in the neighborhood and it's a great way to try out new cooking styles!!!!!!!!!!!! I will say though, that mashed potatoes are a little heavy at lunch (for my taste) and I prefer to serve potato salad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Still, the nutmeg was a great suggestion! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Real Home Cook Champ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Unfried Egg

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I chose to substitute just a touch of Soy Sauce instead of Worcestershire and had pretty good results. I like a "peppery" egg too!!!!!! Overcooked on the first attempt but got it right on the second. Great recipe!!!!!! I love it!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Real Home Cook Champ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramelized Spicy Pumpkin Seeds

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Yum! Not SPICY but flavorful. I cut the sugar down by 1T and used a 50/50 mix of white to brown sugar. Worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Best Clam Chowder

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Being a transplant from the south, married to a true blue Irish American from South Boston, New England clam chowder was intimidating for me. I'm quite confident in the kitchen, but this recipe was my first try and I wanted to make something special for my guy, so, I made this chowder for the family and it was an immediate success! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renée Carlson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Easy and Organic Overnight French Toast

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Our family loves this and it's popular at brunches too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renée Carlson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Really yummy, swapped a bit of butter out for more yogurt (as per recommended). It was a bit on the dry side, but still good. I poured a lemon juice + powdered sugar glaze over the top after the bake for added sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Wow!! Really good. I didn't change anything except for using more ham (oops). One thing I would recommend is not to add salt. Maybe because I used more ham and used salted butter it got salty after sitting for a bit, not so salty it wasn't delicious, just saltier than it needed to be.. The whole family loved it and it was great with some crusty bread. Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Five-Spice Carrots

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Perfect. I used olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Cafe Summer Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I liked the collection of veggies. Great color and textures. As to flavor, I expected it to have a bit more zing. I might try adding some balsamic vinegar next time. But quite good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Kale Chips

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Did first batch exactly as recipe calls for except sprayed on the olive oil rather than drizzling (per the poster's follow-up review). After 9 minutes, I had ashes. Kale-flavored ashes. Next batch was for only 7 minutes at 340 and only a few were burned, mostly the smaller pieces. So I guess that is what I will stick with and just be extra-sure that pieces are uniform in size. Flavor was pretty good; might try some other seasonings to spice it up next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Auntie Ney's Overnight Oatmeal with fruit

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I added apples and cinnemon/sugar too so it was ready to eat in the morning. Yummy! Almost like pudding! I could see putting it on top of ice cream even!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renée Carlson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Pecan Pie V

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This pie is great, not too sweet and not too blan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I use this recipe all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Cake Doughnuts

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Loved these. I made my own glaze though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Although there was way too much frosting even when I cut it to make four layers this cake was wonderful. I made it for my friends sons 8th birthday and the whole thing disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I liked these but they are certainly not the best, I made these a second time but used the cheese cake brownie idea to make them a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

The Best Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I tried this recipe to the tee. I was not too excited about it. The crust was too thick and it did taste like there was way too much flour in it. My fix for it was making a blueberry sauce to drizzle over the top of the bars and it turned out wonderful. I used one half pint of fresh blueberries 3/4 cup white sugar and the juice and zest of one large lemon, bring to a boil stirring occasionally and let cool. Maybe I should have followed the advice from the other comments and used another lemon and less flour, so maybe next time. If there is one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Delish! I substituted muesli for oats (because I was out of oats), and they still turned out quite tasty! The batter spread out a bit in the tray, so more flour might help..?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States