Anchorage - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Playgroup Granola Bars

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I found it to be a little too sweet for my liking. Seemed more of a dessert/cookie bar than what I was hoping for. That being said it wasn't bad at all. My kids enjoyed it. I think I will take some other reviewers advice and add less sugar and do some whole wheat flour to make it less sweet and a little healthier. I will definitely be making this again. Way cheaper than buying granola bars at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandzilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

Zucchini Brownies

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I must not have had zucchini that was wet enough because I ended up with the same results as magnoliakng. They were dry and nowhere near like any brownies I've ever had or made. I might try it again another time since I like the concept of adding veggies but for now I need something that I can whip up and be done with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKCHILD1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seward, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggs on the Grill

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
A wonderful idea; genius in its simplicity! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cari-Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I tried this following the directions as they are written, with a couple minor changes. I wanted to try my new silicon large muffin bakeware. The recipe came out well, the muffins were delicious. If you ever use silicon bakeware, keep in mind that recipes take longer because the heat is not contained as well as it is with metal or glass. But the contents come out of the pan with a breeze. I used frozen blueberries which added to the time as well. Fortunately I used temperature rather than time to determine done-ness (about 205 degrees). I ended up making another 15 minutes or so, and I also put the muffins on the top rack of the oven for a few minutes to make sure the top was crunchy and browned. All in all they were delicious, and done nicely (not soft or doughy in the middle). I only made a single batch because I was sure we would not want all those blueberry muffins tempting us (myself, husband and son)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bread maker baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Love these! I do not wrap bacon around them to messy and way to much work. I half cook the bacon and cut off most of the fat a lay on top of the broiled jalapeño and cream cheese then pop them under the broiler for another minute or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicago-Style Pan Pizza

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I thought this was delicious! Definitely will continue to bake the crust first and will add more mushrooms. The spices were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaCP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salsa Chicken

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
So easy and tasty!! The spice wimp in the family had a hard time with it until she scraped the sauce off and dredged the chicken in sour cream. Very tasty, I will try it in the slow cooker as others have recommended. Oh, I used Costco Organic Salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Very easy and tasty, made it as posted except used less rice (1 cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa

Avocado Cookies

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Great Cookies! My husband and I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Colombian Turmada Potatoes (Papa Turmada)

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This was a good recipe but I felt like the proportions of ingredients was a little off. I used about a half pound of pork sausage instead of the links and probably doubled the amount of onion asked for and it didn't cover the pan very well. The only thing I had more that enough of was potatoes. Other than that it tasted really good, especially with some salsa on top. We're looking forward to eating the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKCHILD1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seward, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is a very good recipe. A nice change from the really sweet, sweet potato recipes. I did cut back on the sugar to 1/2 cup and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Garlic Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Was disappointed with this recipe as I am a garlic fan. Made as called for but added extra garlic and tho my house smelt heavenly the taste did not live up to the smell. Both my husband and I found it quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Followed the recipe as written except omitted the cayenne and halved the chipotle (one of the kids is sensitive to heat) and added one onion per other reviewers suggestions. It was moist and delicious, definitely a keeper! Definitely add an onion, the kids devoured them! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy PHILLY Pesto Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This was ok. Seasoned the chicken prior to cooking but still seemed a little bland. Would not use chicken broth again as it was pretty salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I made this recipe for a diabetic family, and I left out the sugar. I also used organic tomatoes (paste, sauce, stewed and diced), organic sausage and organic sweet/yellow onion. I added a ton of organic white cap mushrooms and this was awesome! My Aunt was surprised that it tasted a little sweet since she knew I was leaving out the sugar. I do not see a reason or flavor purpose for the olive oil and therefore left that out as well. The onions will sauté in the grease from the sausage just fine. I just started my sausage first and added the onions once there was juice in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KassDragon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Maryland Crab Dip

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Awesome, simple crab dip recipe. Changes I made: added 1 jalapeno, extra old bay and some paprika as other reviewers suggested. Also used canned crab, drained SUPER well, and used regular mayo instead of miracle whip or creamy salad dressing or whatever (I have used regular mayo in a lot of dips and it always works fine). Great flavor and the cheddar cheese crust was delicious! If you serve it at room temperature, I recommend mixing the cheddar cheese in because it hardens if it's on top and makes it hard to dip. Served with Hawaiian Luau chips. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Well balanced. I made exactly as written with the TINY exception of using anchovy paste in a tube. I got lucky and found 2 cans of San Marzano (Cento) tomatoes in the dent bin last week and they were half off. Perfect way to use them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Very good, everyone loved it. I used lemon zest because I couldn't find lemon grass. I could have used more curry paste, but I didn't add the jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Husband loved it! We converted them to enchiladas by using corn tortillas and topping cheese on top of the sauce. I did not use tomato soup, and used a wonderful enchilada sauce that I also added just a touch to the meat to tie it all together. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Cupcakes

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Yummie cupcakes. If you can ignore the copious amounts of butter/sugar, the taste is delicious. I added a bit too much extra lemon, and it was a bit tangier than I was hoping for, but still delicious. Frosting was nice, but not necessary because the cake was flavorful enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States