Anchorage - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Balela Salad

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Super awesome. What a great flavor combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blue Cheese, Spinach Meat Loaf Muffins

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I was very excited but was a bit disappointed that they didn't have more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Magic Pickle Dip

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Always a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chili Rellenos Casserole

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
This was very good but I had a problem with it setting up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Green Beans

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Better than plain green beans but nothing really special. Just green beans with garlic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smoked Salmon French Toast Sandwich

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I'm always looking for new ways to use all the salmon we get. This one was unique. It was good. I might try it next time as a triple decker. Another thought is to add a Monte-Cristo twist and use some kind of preserves (I'm thinking apple might be best).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Steak Marinade

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I agreed with many of the reviewers that there was too much balsamic vinegar. I would take it even a step further by saying that the worcestershire sauce, only exacerbated the problem, as I see it. I am not saying that there shouldn't be any worcertershire sauce, but it should be less along with less balsamic vinegar. I marinaded three kinds of meats: Breast Chicken, Flank Steak, Sirloin Petite. By far, the chicken was the best taste...but for me, there will be no redo on this marinade. My search continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Sampson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Avocado Mango Salsa

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly and it was delightful. Maybe my little habanero wasn't ripe (it was bright orange) but my salsa did not have any kick (was still quite tasty) so next time I think I'll add some red pepper flakes as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
This is delicious! I did as other reviewers and did 2T of balsamic and 1T of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indian Curried Barley Pilaf

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Well it tasted pretty good. My 3 rating is not for the flavor of the food but for the actual recipe. I cooked it for 30 minutes and not close. 10 more minutes and the barley was still hard (and still simmering). One hour and I gave up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I made it exactly as the recipe was written and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Braised Cardamom Curry Lamb

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
The author has you sautéing the onions, garlic and spices first then throw the meat in to. When I did this the spices were browning and almost turning black so I browned the meat separately in a cast iron frying pan then tossed them into the onion/garlic mixture. Since I was going to be out for a couple of hours I tossed the whole thing into my slow cooker and cooked it for 4 hours. The sauce thickened beautifully without adding any thickener. I did not add the potatoes and everything tasted great. The next time I make this I will serve it over rice. When I first had this dish our hostess served it with naan bread and that was delicious as well. I also went out and bought fresh spices from our local spice store. Having fresh spices really made a difference as my cardamom and curry were more than a year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liana Hanson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

German Pork Chops and Sauerkraut

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I made this recipe but due to family dietary restrictions (my husband is diabetic) I made some changes. I cut the recipe in half because I hate to be stuck with food we don't like. I used 4 cups of homemade sauerkraut no seeds, 1/2 an apple, no onion (I am allergic) and after I browned the chops I deglazed the pan with a couple of tablespoons of hard apple cider. Then I put the meat back into the pot, covered it with the kraut mix and baked it for about an hour. My family loved it. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hoisin-Glazed Salmon

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is fantastic! As an Alaskan, I'm always looking for tasty new ways to prepare salmon and this recipe just made it's way to the top of my rotation. I made a couple of small changes, but mostly followed the recipe to a T. I accidentally left out the olive oil, but now that I've made it without the olive oil, I can't imagine that it would be any better with it and would probably opt not to use it the next time I make this. I also added a little extra fresh grated Ginger and Garlic and I topped the dish with fresh chopped Cilantro and thinly sliced Scallions after it came out of the oven. My Husband and I both thought it was fantastic and even my super-picky kids ate some! I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This was very good. I used 6 eggs and split in between two 9" pie pans next time I will use 8 eggs. I like that you can add anything you want to the recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Made as written with 2 cups of walnuts and it was excellent!! This will be my go to for banana nut bread / muffins and I have tried many a recipe. I made muffins with a crumb topping for work, this recipe yields 36 muffins with the additional nuts bake at 325 for 25 mins. Perfection!! Crumb mixture: 1 1/2 c oats, 2/3 c brown sugar, 1/4 c melted butter, 1/4 c chopped walnuts. Mix until crumbled top muffins prior to baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indonesian Satay

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This was ok, marinade was good and simple but the sauce was pretty bland and tasted to much like peanut butter. I will be sure to add some extra spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chuck Sampson

Cranberry, Sausage and Apple Stuffing

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I read a lot of reviews on this recipe and made my revisions based on my personal preferences. I suppose as some say...it's not fair to judge a recipe if you don't follow it...Hmm, oh well. I had a 13 Lb turkey, and this recipe makes a lot of stuffing, so the first thing I did was cut the recipe in half. I had more than enough to stuff the turkey and fill a small casserole dish. I used store bought herb stuffing cubes. I omitted the leeks and used 2 cups of chopped onions instead. I didn't cook the sage sausage on the stove, because I wanted the flavor and moisture contribution the sausage made to the stuffing. I simply broke it up into small pieces and mixed it in with the stuffing cubes. The sausage will cook fully during the time in the oven, so no worries. I used about a cup of the chicken stock. The flavor of the stuffing is amazing...your taste buds will sing with glee enjoying the perfect balances of sweet and savory. Everyone at the dinner table had another serving of this stuffing, to my delight!! I will make this stuffing again when the holidays come calling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Sampson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
So easy and PERFECT in every way. Seared crust on the outside, pink juicy inside. My 12 yo daughter inhaled her slice and my husband had declared it better than any steak house we've had prime rib at in the state. Follow the directions... start with a room temp roast- I left my 5 lb boneless roast out on the counter for 5 hrs. I cooked it at 500 degrees for 27 minutes, turned off the oven for 2 hrs ( no peeking) and viola! A PERFECT delicious prime rib roast. Sorry to go on, but it was so good, so perfect, I'm slightly giddy with delight. Thank you, Chef John for a outstanding prime rib roast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Golden Rum Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Easy and delicious! We couldn't wait to try the cake the night I made it and found it to be too "boozy". The next evening, however, revealed the true nature of this delicious rum cake, five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States