Anchorage - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

German Pork Chops and Sauerkraut

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I made this recipe but due to family dietary restrictions (my husband is diabetic) I made some changes. I cut the recipe in half because I hate to be stuck with food we don't like. I used 4 cups of homemade sauerkraut no seeds, 1/2 an apple, no onion (I am allergic) and after I browned the chops I deglazed the pan with a couple of tablespoons of hard apple cider. Then I put the meat back into the pot, covered it with the kraut mix and baked it for about an hour. My family loved it. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hoisin-Glazed Salmon

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is fantastic! As an Alaskan, I'm always looking for tasty new ways to prepare salmon and this recipe just made it's way to the top of my rotation. I made a couple of small changes, but mostly followed the recipe to a T. I accidentally left out the olive oil, but now that I've made it without the olive oil, I can't imagine that it would be any better with it and would probably opt not to use it the next time I make this. I also added a little extra fresh grated Ginger and Garlic and I topped the dish with fresh chopped Cilantro and thinly sliced Scallions after it came out of the oven. My Husband and I both thought it was fantastic and even my super-picky kids ate some! I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This was very good. I used 6 eggs and split in between two 9" pie pans next time I will use 8 eggs. I like that you can add anything you want to the recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Made as written with 2 cups of walnuts and it was excellent!! This will be my go to for banana nut bread / muffins and I have tried many a recipe. I made muffins with a crumb topping for work, this recipe yields 36 muffins with the additional nuts bake at 325 for 25 mins. Perfection!! Crumb mixture: 1 1/2 c oats, 2/3 c brown sugar, 1/4 c melted butter, 1/4 c chopped walnuts. Mix until crumbled top muffins prior to baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indonesian Satay

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This was ok, marinade was good and simple but the sauce was pretty bland and tasted to much like peanut butter. I will be sure to add some extra spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry, Sausage and Apple Stuffing

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I read a lot of reviews on this recipe and made my revisions based on my personal preferences. I suppose as some say...it's not fair to judge a recipe if you don't follow it...Hmm, oh well. I had a 13 Lb turkey, and this recipe makes a lot of stuffing, so the first thing I did was cut the recipe in half. I had more than enough to stuff the turkey and fill a small casserole dish. I used store bought herb stuffing cubes. I omitted the leeks and used 2 cups of chopped onions instead. I didn't cook the sage sausage on the stove, because I wanted the flavor and moisture contribution the sausage made to the stuffing. I simply broke it up into small pieces and mixed it in with the stuffing cubes. The sausage will cook fully during the time in the oven, so no worries. I used about a cup of the chicken stock. The flavor of the stuffing is amazing...your taste buds will sing with glee enjoying the perfect balances of sweet and savory. Everyone at the dinner table had another serving of this stuffing, to my delight!! I will make this stuffing again when the holidays come calling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Sampson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
So easy and PERFECT in every way. Seared crust on the outside, pink juicy inside. My 12 yo daughter inhaled her slice and my husband had declared it better than any steak house we've had prime rib at in the state. Follow the directions... start with a room temp roast- I left my 5 lb boneless roast out on the counter for 5 hrs. I cooked it at 500 degrees for 27 minutes, turned off the oven for 2 hrs ( no peeking) and viola! A PERFECT delicious prime rib roast. Sorry to go on, but it was so good, so perfect, I'm slightly giddy with delight. Thank you, Chef John for a outstanding prime rib roast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Golden Rum Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Easy and delicious! We couldn't wait to try the cake the night I made it and found it to be too "boozy". The next evening, however, revealed the true nature of this delicious rum cake, five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Blue Cheese and Pear Tartlets

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I loved these lil tartlets, but my guests did not eat many. I suspect the blue cheese was overwhelming for most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Cranberry Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Easy to make and simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This is our go-to lasagna and we've made it countless times. I always add nutmeg as another reviewer suggested. Amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Chicken with Risotto and Caramelized Onions

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Horrible recipe. BV and rice are NOT a good combination. One thing I got out of it is that thyme encrusted chicken is delicious, so at least that part will be used again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Easy to prepare and simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Butterscotch Lace Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
These are spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanya Person

Peanut Butter Chews

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I was given a big bag of cornflakes and needed a quick and easy treat for the kids to take to their Christmas party. This recipe was perfect! I dropped them by spoonful but next time I might press them into bars so maybe they would hold together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Person

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Erd, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Savory Snack Pretzels

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Best pretzels ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smoked Salmon Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Very delicious and were the first deviled eggs to disappear at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smothered Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This is definitely lacking flavor, the bacon and onion on top was the only flavor. I added more lemon pepper than the recipe called for and also marinated it in buttermilk but the chicken it self was very bland even with using bacon grease instead of oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chipotle Shrimp Tacos

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
My family loved this!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALICIAJOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was very bland for my taste. Maybe tomorrow when I add gravy it'll spruce it up...but it certainly cannot stand on it's own without gravy. I won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiphane Kostakis Moore
Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States