Anchorage - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chef John's Banana Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Seriously best banana bread EVER!!!! I have made many and none compare to this recipe. The only thing I do different is no nuts, I don't think it needs it. People that I make this bread for are always asking for the recipe...I have probably shared this recipe over 20+ times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikail82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Family approved! I used 3 cups of zucchini, 2 cups of white sugar and 1/4 cup of brown. I made muffins instead and baked for 25 minutes at 350. Yum! Great way to use up zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raspberry Pie I

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
So good! I have raspberry bushes in my yard and I've made three of these pies this summer. This pie is a huge hit with everyone who's tried it. I followed the recipe exactly. The pie comes out of the oven soupy, but if you let it cool, it firms up to perfection in about half an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Quesadillas

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I was looking for a good Salmon or Halibut Quesadilla recipe but there were none to be found so I decided to try this one and substitute. The Halibut was phenomenal I haven't tried it with the salmon yet but I will be soon. I grilled it on the George Foreman so they could be made to order which was good since my family just kept coming back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Key Lime Pie VII

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Fantastic and exactly what I wanted. I used 3 cans of the milk, but did not scrape the sides with a spatula. I also did not get bubbles after baking for 13 minutes. I took it out cooled it and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This was a refreshing salad on a hot day. Next time I thing I'll leave out the sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Country Gravy

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Made this gravy today for breakfast! Turned out wonderful, I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Maple Syrup

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I didn't have any maple extract, so I used raspberry extract instead. It's wonderful with blueberry pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monkey

General Tsao's Chicken II

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Petfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monkey

Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Delicious! Easy! Quick! I recommend this to anyone needing a dessert in a pinch. Made it after dinner tonight and my husband & I love it! We used a frozen fruit mixture of strawberries, Mandarin oranges, and peaches. We also substituted olive oil for the butter. We put the olive oil in the oven to warm it up and then poured the batter into that. To quote my husband,"It's real good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monkey

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Wonderful! We cooked it in the oven (grilling wasn't a choice today) on 350 for 35 minutes. We cooked it with the marinade and ladled it a fewIt turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Playgroup Granola Bars

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I found it to be a little too sweet for my liking. Seemed more of a dessert/cookie bar than what I was hoping for. That being said it wasn't bad at all. My kids enjoyed it. I think I will take some other reviewers advice and add less sugar and do some whole wheat flour to make it less sweet and a little healthier. I will definitely be making this again. Way cheaper than buying granola bars at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandzilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Photo by Monkey

The Best Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Everyone loved these! I used the juice of 5 lemons and it was just perfect! I also took the suggestion of another and added a little extra flour to balance out the extra lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Brownies

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I must not have had zucchini that was wet enough because I ended up with the same results as magnoliakng. They were dry and nowhere near like any brownies I've ever had or made. I might try it again another time since I like the concept of adding veggies but for now I need something that I can whip up and be done with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKCHILD1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seward, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggs on the Grill

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
A wonderful idea; genius in its simplicity! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cari-Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I tried this following the directions as they are written, with a couple minor changes. I wanted to try my new silicon large muffin bakeware. The recipe came out well, the muffins were delicious. If you ever use silicon bakeware, keep in mind that recipes take longer because the heat is not contained as well as it is with metal or glass. But the contents come out of the pan with a breeze. I used frozen blueberries which added to the time as well. Fortunately I used temperature rather than time to determine done-ness (about 205 degrees). I ended up making another 15 minutes or so, and I also put the muffins on the top rack of the oven for a few minutes to make sure the top was crunchy and browned. All in all they were delicious, and done nicely (not soft or doughy in the middle). I only made a single batch because I was sure we would not want all those blueberry muffins tempting us (myself, husband and son)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bread maker baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Love these! I do not wrap bacon around them to messy and way to much work. I half cook the bacon and cut off most of the fat a lay on top of the broiled jalapeño and cream cheese then pop them under the broiler for another minute or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicago-Style Pan Pizza

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I thought this was delicious! Definitely will continue to bake the crust first and will add more mushrooms. The spices were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaCP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salsa Chicken

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
So easy and tasty!! The spice wimp in the family had a hard time with it until she scraped the sauce off and dredged the chicken in sour cream. Very tasty, I will try it in the slow cooker as others have recommended. Oh, I used Costco Organic Salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Very easy and tasty, made it as posted except used less rice (1 cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States