Salt Lake City - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Honey-Spice Drumsticks

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
The chicken was juicy and had a flavor, but it was incredibly bland. It didn't stick. I think I'll try dredging it next time to get it to stick. And, honestly, the only reason any flavor stuck was because I put it in the fridge to marinate, realized it was too late to cook for lunch, forgot about it until the next night's dinner. So, more than 24 hours marinating and it was still bland as could be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berger5909

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham It Up Spaghetti

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I absolutly love this receipe. My son found it in a cook book that you can keep adding to and make it taste different every time. Yummy !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellTell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Eclair Cake

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I've made this cake before and love it, but I just have to say this. The suggestion to microwave the frosting for 15-30 seconds is a simple, yet genius idea. I don't make this recipe nearly as often as I like because it's incredibly difficult to frost graham crackers that are on a bed of pudding. Like, I want to poke out my eyeballs when I'm done, difficult. But the frosting softening makes it a snap, and I might be whipping this up a lot more often now. I love the eclair cake as is, but I also make a variation with chocolate Graham's, cheesecake pudding, and cheesecake frosting. Wowza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Silver Burnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Marshmallow Hot Fudge Sauce

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Great hot fudge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sunshine Toast

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This dish is known as a "Deadeye" in my family. I loved them growing up when my father made them, and now my kids love them. I've enjoyed reason the reviews to see what people call them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi Raber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delhi, New York, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I made these exactly as written and they turned out very well. I froze them for quick breakfasts and one out of two kids will eat them, which is pretty good of you ask me. The only thing lacking was the density I so loved from my Grandma's bran muffins, but I'm betting that was a concession for the low-fat. *sigh*. Regardless, these are a repeater for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Avocado Salad with Bacon and Sour Cream

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
What a good, simple topper for so many dishes! We used this on top of fish tacos. Using this as a topping was about the only thing that saved that particular recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Beef and Guinness® Stew

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This was a simple but great, filling, hardy stew. We served as suggested with mashed potatoes and loved it. The meat was so incredibly tender, I made this as written and it was delish. We'll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Banana Pudding IV

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
It was good, but not enough to end the search for the "best banana pudding" by our own personal tastes. I thought the cream cheese was slightly heavy and overpowering. I did make this recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This dish was amazing. It was excellent and tasty, the chicken was tender and not dry at all. We served it over a bed of rice. I give this 5 stars. That being said, I can never make this dish again. My husband had a violent reaction to the amount of honey it had in it - apparently he's allergic to honey! We had no idea! I didn't rate it down because it was delicious and the poster has nothing to do with my husband's freak allergy. It was tasty while it lasted though. My husband wanted to make sure I wrote that he really enjoyed the meal (until he reacted to it, of course). ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berger5909

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marshmallow Fondant

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
SOOOOO easy and quick! If you're new to fondant THIS is your recipe. Other fondants can be hard and chalky, this tastes like candy! It's easy to manipulate when it's ready and big enough recipe to break it up for several different colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cami Romney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

Cooky Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I never have corn flakes so I just use 1-1/2 c. each of the oatmeal and coconut. I also add 1-1/2 c. chocolate chips and 1 c. of coarsely chopped pecans. This would also be good with white chocolate chips, dried cherries, and macadamias (might use half almond/half vanilla).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cuban Ropa Vieja

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This was good and quick to get started. I did add more garlic and a little chipotle chili and I deglazed the pan with the broth and mixed all the ingredients in the pan before adding to the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant Parmesan II

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I baked rather than fried eggplant--sprayed with oil & broiled last 1.5 mins to brown and crisp--nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This wasn't for me or my family. The ranch gives a weird taste with the lemon, Worcestershire, and Rosemary. I think, if I try it again, I'd use ranch seasoning, no salt, less rosemary, and less oil. I broiled it because I don't have a grill, so maybe that's why I didn't like it? They were juicy, though. I had no issue with it being seasoned and juicy and enough food/marinade. Like I said, if I try it again, I'll make some changes to make it more to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berger5909

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hard Boiled Eggs in the Oven

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I like this recipe. For the brown spots, I cut the eggs in half so the brown spots were on the bottom of the egg white under the devils food filling and my family never noticed the brown spots. I was the only one that knew they were there. I told my family later and they were surprised to know they had any brown spots on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
This is excellent, I did not make any changes and it turned out very well. I did top with the sauce that many mention since that's something my grandmother has done to cordon bleu as long as I can remember. I think next time I might try the addition of topping with butter before baking but it definitely wasn't lacking for anything. I'll definitely be repeating this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Japanese Style Deep Fried Shrimp

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Amazing. Simply amazing. I cannot give enough rave to this recipe. I'm a celiac, and it was EASY to make gf. I followed the instructions as written here and used gf ingredients. The shrimp turned out so crispy and perfect. It was amazing. I really can't even say anything other than amazing. It had a great blend of flavor, crunchy, and shrimp is my favorite seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berger5909

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by berger5909

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I tried this out for lunch today, and it was okay but not great. It turned out pretty mushy. I think the garlic was a little much, and I LOVE garlic. I also didn't like how the cheddar cheese changed the taste. If I pan-seared it to make it crispy, I think it would be much better. Maybe grinding up some Chex cereal instead of breadcrumbs would make it crispier as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berger5909

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Boom. This is good as is but add a little cream in place of some of the milk and it's on an entirely different level. Thanks Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cami Romney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States