Santa Fe, New Mexico - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Great recipe....very tasty. I love making the gravy ahead of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matti Garrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seven Layer Tortilla Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was delicious and very easy. I added black olives to each layer, and I used a mix of cheddar and pepper jack. I didn't have room for all the layers, and I topped the top tortilla with cheese, olives, and tomatoes (no beans; I thought that would be too messy). My pintos were too firm to mash, so next time I'll probably use lard-free refried beans to keep the layers together better. A definite keeper, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basil Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I really like the simplicity of this soup. I used tomatoes from the garden, which I blended smooth. I also used half the cream and about a third of the butter, and I simplified the prep by tossing the basil and cream in the blender before adding it to the simmering tomatoes. This was a bit tangy, probably because of the reduced cream and butter, but it really allowed the tomatoes to shine through. It was also a bit thin because of the fresh tomatoes, but that's OK. Next time, I'll add more basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Avocado Pineapple Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This is a delicious combination of flavors. I leave out the onion because I'm not a fan. I've also made it with mango instead of pineapple, which is equally good and almost exactly like another salad I've made (that one is served with a lime-cumin grilled chicken breast and cilantro vinaigrette, which is excellent).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean and Wild Rice Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This got mixed reviews. My husband liked it except for the orange, I wasn't crazy about the beans, and my friend loved everything about it. I love black beans, but I would have liked this better with more rice. Also, with all the interesting ingredients, I expected bold flavor, but it didn't taste as interesting as it sounded. I also thought it could have used more cranberries, because they added a nice burst of flavor. All in all, not bad, but probably not something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I made this without coconut milk and instead substituted water. We also ran out of peanut butter so I added tahini - delicious! I also added in a pinch of salt to help pull out the flavors! I served this with sauteed kale and carrots over quinoa. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JROBERTS1983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Wow, REPEAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Wheat Blueberry Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Great pancakes. Fluffy and delicious! I added 3/4 cup blueberries instead of 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britterica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread II

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Delicous! I was looking for something different than my usual favorite banana bread with chocolate chips, and came across this one. I will need to adjust for high altitude in the future, since the bread fell when I took it out of the oven. I used unsalted butter, 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar, and added a dash of cinnamon. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Otero-Molina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Candy Apple Jelly

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
So easy and SO tasty. I am happy to find this recipe after tasting the jelly a friend shared with me. My batch yielded 6 8oz jars - no more, no less. This jelly is enjoyed with softened/room temp cream cheese and a plain water cracker. Also, we use this as the "J" in PB&J sandwiches. A different flavor for a jelly, and a nice change once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
EASY!!! Gotta love it. This is a very tasty crock pot Pulled Pork recipe. It is so flavorful after returning the shredded pork to the crock to soak up juices. I made this ahead of time - day before - as the main dish for a casual dinner with guests. Heated it back up in the crock with a little water to moisten. It was delicious and tasted freshly cooked. Great meal - especially for a busy person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This truly is the best Carrot Cake recipe I have found. It bakes beautifully. The coconut and pineapple add such depth to the flavor and make this a hearty filling dessert in either cake or cupcake form. This makes approx 30 cupcakes. Cream cheese frosting is the best compliment for this finished recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I've made this multiple times and it is fabulous! I never seem to have enough honey on hand so I just use sugar and it turns out great. I cut down the Parm cheese to about 2 tablespoons. No anchovy paste either! =) DELICIOUS and EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JROBERTS1983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Matti Garrow

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Great recipe....I used 3 sweet potatoes and 3 yams and it came out amazing. I also whip the potatoes for a smooth, creamy dish and leave out the cinnamon (just a family prefrence). Thanks for submitting this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matti Garrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clam Sauce with Linguine

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was good, but it was more of a mushroom sauce with linguine, even after I added another can of clams. I love mushrooms, but I wanted clam sauce. I used half butter and half olive oil. I think some fresh basil and oregano would be in order next time, and maybe some white wine in the sauce. Not a bad pasta dish, but not the linguine with clams I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I am AMAZED. This crust is delicious. I only used 1 cup of all-purpose flour and you can't even tell that this a whole-wheat crust. I also added some italian spices (basil, oregano) to the dough for an added kick. The dough was a bit sticky at first and hard to roll out so I ended up needing more flour. I divided the dough into thirds because I like really thin crust. I baked the thin crust at 500 degrees for 5 minutes, then added toppings and cooked an additional 10 minutes to get it nice and crispy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JROBERTS1983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Eggplant with Shrimp and Basil

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I did the math using Calorie King, and yes, these nutritional info numbers are accurate if you use the full amount of olive oil and bread crumbs, which is where the bulk of the calories comes from (480 and 214 per serving, respectively). But really, 1/2 cup olive oil and 1 cup bread crumbs? I wouldn't use that anyway. I used less than half the olive oil and about 1/3 cup bread crumbs, and I added more shrimp, and this was delicious. I also used regular bread crumbs seasoned with fresh oregano, and about 1/3 cup Parmesan (the full amount is 108 cal per serving). I'd definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This is an excellent combination of flavors. Instead of celery and dill weed, I added chopped dill pickle (I'm not a fan of celery in salads, but I still wanted the crunch) and a sprinkle of dill seed. I also used half a shallot instead of onion, for a milder flavor. I served it on onion rolls (ha!) with alfalfa sprouts. It's also delicious on veggie-flavored wheat crackers, or even by itself. I'll definitely keep this for a quick, healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

California Cherry and Walnut Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Delicious and easy! It's a great combination of sweet and tangy. I omitted the chicken, and I made my own simple vinaigrette with raspberry vinegar, walnut oil, Dijon mustard, and agave. I also added some feta because I didn't have enough goat cheese. Coarse black pepper really adds to this salad. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Shrimp

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Very good....quick, easy and very tasty. I doubled the cayenne and the spice was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cestakey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States