Santa Fe, New Mexico - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Russian Teacakes

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Favorite Christmas cookie. Everybody loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SON-FLOWER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I tried this dish today for our Thanksgiving dinner. It has a LOT of potential to be a great dish, but next time I will definitely cut the cream cheese & sour cream portions by at least half! It was WAY too creamy and cheesy tasting. I'm sure that with some tweaking, it will be a great receipe to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Double Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Easy and delicious. My family, young and old, love this side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SON-FLOWER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

California Roll Sushi

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Just like the "real thing"! I made the first batch inside out (nori on the outside) because I forgot to flip them, but honestly, it tastes the same regardless, and it's much easier to make them inside out, so that's how I'll make them from now on. I also shaved the cukes with a veggie peeler, which gave me thin, long strands. It's faster and easier than cutting those tiny spears, and all you need to do is put a few strips on each roll; the length is just right. And finally, I used the recipe on the package of sushi rice, which has different concentrations of vinegar/sugar and also uses salt. I'll be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Squash Cakes

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This was delicious! I added potatoes because I had a very small squash, and I used blue corn flour (atole), which I had fresh from the CSA. This was just the right balance of sweet and savory, and it was very easy to put together--a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker, Easy Baked Potato Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This was easy, flavorful, and very rich. I subbed veg broth for chicken and used fresh parsley. I love the addition of ranch dressing mix. This is much more interesting than your typical potato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raw Pad Thai

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This is an excellent raw dish, and so easy! I'd never sliced veggies with the peeler before, and it works wonderfully (and it's fast--bonus!). Great flavor and texture. I made the mistake of adding the dressing to the whole salad rather than individual servings, which made the leftovers extremely soggy, so it's definitely best to follow the recipe suggestion on this one. An absolute keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Fava Bean Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I was a bit disappointed in this. The dressing was very good, but to me it just didn't complement the fava beans (I used garden-fresh favas and romas). I'm glad I tried this recipe, but I'll keep looking for something to use with all the beans coming from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Walnut Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I added the grated zest of a large orange to my batter. These were some of the best oatmeal cookies I've ever made. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SON-FLOWER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sensational Sirloin Kabobs

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
We marinated a large sirloin steak over night and it was incredible. The meat was so tender and flavorful. We will make this again and again. We would serve it to company any time. It was that good!! We cut it into larger pieces and put them on the screwers long way so the larger side cooked. It worked really well and the pieces cooked to a lovely medium rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa and Black Bean Chili

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This was good and hearty, but a bit bland. It's a great base, though. I made mine in the slow cooker, adding the beans and corn in the last hour. I used a dried chipotle instead of adobo. Next time, I'll bump up the spices and add a cinnamon stick, and I may add a touch of vinegar for some extra flavor. I may also throw in some garbanzos, because I love the texture they add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant Parmesan II

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This was very good and easy, but time consuming. I halved the recipe, and I still had to bake the eggplant in five batches, because for a good eggplant parm, the eggplant needs to be sliced very thin. My mistake was in slicing it into rounds--next time, I'll slice it on the bias for bigger (and fewer) pieces. But I love that I can bake this and get the same results as with fried eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
We make it every Holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jerk Chicken with Mojo sauce- Cuisine

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Best cooked with dark meat and slow cooked. Over cooked it does not hold the appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old-Fashioned Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I followed directions perfectly, but I used splenda in place...yummy yummy!! oh and I did not add raisins and served cold only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIzzBakerReyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corned Beef Hash Cakes

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made Colcannon and Guinness Corned Beef for St. Pat's day so I made mine with the Colcannon and the Guinness Corned Beef left overs, AMAZING. I did put the patties into flour before frying, it helped then be less sticky. The dinner was fabulous and the breakfast was just as good! We may have this more than once a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Amazing! Easy to make and amazingly good to eat! I did make the first one just as written, but my family prefers cinnamon and nutmeg. Try this pie...you won't be disappointed! Thank you MOSHASMAMA for sharing your dear grandma's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matti G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ashley's African Peanut Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This was the first time I'd had or made peanut stew, so I can't say how it compares to others, but I liked the flavor. I subbed quinoa for rice, omitted the chicken, and used veg broth. My only complaint is that the overall texture is fairly mushy. It needs something to give it some crunch--maybe some chopped peanuts as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Borscht

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This was good, but the slow cooker cooked all the beautiful color out of the beets, so it looks like ham soup. I made it without the beef or tomato paste, subbed veg broth, and subbed cider vinegar (according to another recipe I've used). Good flavor, but I'll probably stick with my other, non-slow-cooker recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Burrito Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was good although I didn't find it to be spicy at all. I used ground turkey instead of beef and substituted the jar taco sauce with Newmans Own farmers garden medium salsa. Oh yeah, and I added some chili powder and cumin to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States