Santa Fe, New Mexico - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Yellow Squash

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I loved this recipe as a quick go-to for home grown winter squash! I also incorporated home-grown Jalapeños! The soy sauce added just enough of salt and and element of stir-fry that created a basic, yet incorporated side. As for the "Most Helpful Critical Review" - if you happen to have bacon grease around from breakfast burritos or whatnot, recycling the bacon in use with vegetable as a side dish on a HEALTHY main plate - this is the recipe. I personally used a lean bacon that I found at Whole Foods (no unnecessary additives , or hormones) and it felt balanced with a whole grain, and grilled meat - clean eating at its finest! ~Vice in moderation fellow AllReceipers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowborn
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
A couple things I do a little different. It works best when the rice is cold, and I add sesame seeds as well. I made this last night and added shrimp and pineapple to it. The combinations are endless really. Whatever is your favorite fried rice. Or whatever meat you have leftover in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pperkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
In agreement with other previous comments that the consistency is more soup-like than stew. Could be more on the spicy side, but has a agreeable Cajun seasoning that is indicative of City Creole jambalaya (also called "red jambalaya"/ with tomatoes). As traditionally "Cajun" jambalaya, meat and vegetables are cooked separately from the rice in this recipe. I served with brown rice and had plenty of left-overs (served 3). Tasters of this meal said the jambalaya tasted better with aging in having left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowborn
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Pumpkin Butter

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This makes a delicious and delightful quick gift for just about anything, especially a hostess gift! I poured into mason jars, added tulle fabric on the lid and tied with raffia. I did however, refine the recipe to less sugar and also substituted brown sugar on my second batch. I added a few dollops of local honey I received as a hostess gift providing a personalized gift in-kind with shared local natural sweetener!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowborn
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Pork Marsala

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I made this recipe the other night and it was AWESOME! I thickened the sauce more with the breading mixture + Marsala to add a bit of sauté to the brown rice I cooked it with. I served with a steamed cabbage salad consisting of red cabbage and home-grown white cabbage dressed with sesame oil, sliced almonds and a dash of salt. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowborn
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Photo by snowborn

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Inspiration for the Fall season! Especially with being a mailable gift in coffee containers! I greased with pasteurized butter and heavily floured which created an aesthetically pleasing stratification on the outside when presented bare/ from tin foil. I also went for a heaping cup of miniature semisweet chocolate chips;)...delish and look forward to refining to the liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowborn
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Cranberry Thanksgiving Turkey Sandwich

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
It gets 3 stars because you have to put cream cheese on one of the slices of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pperkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Rose Otero-Molina

Peanut Butter Cupcakes

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I modified the recipe for high altitude (I live at 7500 elev., so I always need to reduce sugar and leavening, and increase flour and liquid.) I made them with butter instead of shortening. The cupcakes were awesome! I went a different route and made PB&J cupcakes. I hollowed out the cupcake, and put strawberry jam in some and grape jam in some. I made a peanut butter cream cheese frosting with 1/2 cup peanut butter, two bricks of cream cheese, a teaspoon of vanilla, 3 tablespoons milk, and about a cup and a half of powdered sugar. I then put a drop of strawberry jam on the strawberry filled cupcakes, and a drop of grape jam on the grape filled cupcakes. They were outrageous. Way beyond anything I could have imagined. Thanks for the recipe. I will try the cupcakes with chocolate frosting or chocolate ganache another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Otero-Molina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuscan Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This gets 4 stars because it's off just a little. First it needs a little chopped bacon, and it's made with kale not spinach. I add half and half, not canned milk. Go to your butcher in the back of most grocers and have them wrap up how ever many links you need. Some stores will even take them out of the casing for you. This soup is super easy and it's one of my go to meals when I need a quick easy meal. Everyone always loves it including my 6 year old. Of course when I make it for her, I use sweet Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pperkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Kalamata Pork Tenderloin with Rosemary

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
We made this for my parent's 50th family dinner and it was amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is one of the best recipes for this dish. Yum, Yum, Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Chicken Piccata

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is a regular in our rotation. Makes an incredible meal and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I added an extra 1/4 c. flour and put in about 1/3 c. crushed peanuts(I accidentally bought smooth instead of crunchy pb!)and these came out beautifully!! About 9.5 minutes was the perfect time for them, brown on the bottom but still soft and chewey. Everyone loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eireann_nm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glazed Almond Bundt Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Meh...I was somewhat let down after all the rave reviews...A bit dry. However, as an almond lover, next time I'll cut back on the baking time. And that glaze recipe was like water. I'll try adding some cornstarch and more almond extract I'll also try a gluten free version with rice flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madge Ambrosino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: River Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spring Lime Tea Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Very good but a little too soft and crumbly! As a disclaimer I added a bit more lime juice to the dough and I eyeballed the ingredients for the icing to my taste and used powder sugar. I left them out overnight and the icing seemed to set ok but I live in a dry climate and that may have helped. Next time I will add a bit more zest to the dough and use a full 2 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eireann_nm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Wonderful! Ive never had anything like this so I had no expectations before I made it. And I will definitely make this again. I think next time I will add a bit more vinegar but the amount of sugar was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eireann_nm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Very good especially for how easy it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eireann_nm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eireann_nm

Summer Garden Crustless Quiche

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Perfect base recipe! I never leave anything the way it is written which sometimes works but often times it doesn't. In this case it did! I used the full 5 cups of kale, 1/2 cup carrots, 1/2 cup shredded zucchini and about 1/2 cup tomatoes. I also added some fresh thyme a little bit of mustard (1 1/2 tsp ish) and extra pepper. They taste wonderful even though I forgot to add the cheese! I think they would be even better with a little bit of salsa on top. Also, I baked them in medium sized muffin tins because I want to freeze them for quick snacks later so the cooking time was about 30 minutes. This is going in the recipe box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eireann_nm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rose Otero-Molina

Pastel de Tres Leches (Three Milk Cake)

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
First, let me say that I didn't follow the recipe exactly. Because I live in a high altitude area, I always have to modify my cake recipes: less sugar, less leavening, more flour, more liquid. When I first made this recipe, I misread the amount of baking powder. I'm still not sure that the recipe requires 1 Tablespoon of baking powder. I thought the recipe said 1 teaspoon, and I adjusted for high altitude accordingly. Also, instead of a 10x15 cake, I made cupcakes. I make a lot of cupcakes, all the time. Everybody in my world has their own personal favorite. This recipe has now become everybody's personal favorite! I did make other modifications: I used coconut milk in place of milk in the cake batter and added a half teaspoon of coconut extract and a dash of cinnamon. I also made a topping of freshly whipped cream with dulce de leche, and then topped with toasted coconut. Essentially, I made a cinco leches cake. ;) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Otero-Molina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tortilla Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. The tortillas made it mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States