Santa Fe, New Mexico - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

The Best Lemon Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I am strangely addicted to this dressing. It is tangy, but if your salad has a sweet touch, like sweet tomatoes, or perhaps beets, or fruit, it add a really nice, bright tone. It is also super easy to make, and I think it would be delicious with Meyer lemons. My family is not as keen on sour flavors as I am, and that makes me happy because then I don't have to share! I use the recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Salmon

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
A simple, delicious departure from our usual lemon-pepper, quick fix salmon recipe. A 15 minute meal (minus marinading time) with steamed baby broccoli. We are hooked on this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyBun505

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Coleslaw

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I really like this, but I do think it is a flavor that one either likes or dislikes, and there is no getting around that. It would be great with some baked tofu pieces or chicken added in. Some chopped peanuts would also add good texture, or some crunchy noodles. Pre-shredded coleslaw mix is definitely the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rose Otero-Molina

Key Lime Pie VII

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
My daughter loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Otero-Molina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Korma

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I did like this, but like everyone else said, don't use cream, use coconut milk. Also, up the spices. Next time I will probably even add more coconut milk so that there a good amount of sauce to soak into the rice. I was in a hurry, so I did precook the potatoes in the microwave a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
As always, I didnt leave this recipe alone. I added 3 pieces of chopped crisp bacon to the meat mixture and I used the grease to saute the onions with a some Mrs.Dash. I also added 3 splashes of Worcestershire sauce and because I didnt read the instructions I added a tbsp. of brown mustard to the meat. In addition, I used seasoned breadcrumbs in place of plane. I doubled the ketchup and brown sugar but only used about 1 1/2 tbsp. mustard in the topping. Baked in a loaf pan and not free formed this was a wonderful meatloaf! Its my new go-to recipe for meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eireann_nm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marbled Pumpkin Cheesecake

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Great recipe! Made this exactly as written and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eireann_nm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Frog Eye Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I've made frog eye salad for 3 years now and each time I just add variations... this year I could not fine anci de pepe pasta anywhere and so buying the smallest pasta you CAN find will do... I used orzo.. only because I don't care for the taste couscous gives it... I've never added egg to mine because it makes me nervous, I've always assumed egg is only to add color? to which in place of I use non cooked vanilla pudding packet! I took out the first 7 ingredients of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIzzBakerReyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Love this recipe for feeding 6-8 people in a pinch! I work on the mountains during the day, and this recipe allows me to throw something delicious quickly in the slow-cooker (making the home smell savory when I arrive back:) before heading out the door! Its ready to go the second I walk in the door: I simply put it in a oven-safe casserole dish, pull it apart as directed and let it bake in the barbecue sauce of choice (taste preference of heat/spicy level dependent on guests) at about 325 degrees for about 15-20min or until bubbly (Note: I live at altitude). Add a starch, and green side [on this plate, featured with sprouts and mini-multi-colored taters] and a few extra condiments for your guests' liking/ what's on hand.....and your in business with this awesome go-to slow-cooker pulled pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowborn
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Photo by snowborn

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Love this recipe for feeding 6-8 people in a pinch! I work on the mountains during the day, and this recipe allows me to throw something delicious quickly in the slow-cooker (making the home smell savory when I arrive back:) before heading out the door! Its ready to go the second I walk in the door: I simply put it in a oven-safe casserole dish, pull it apart as directed and let it bake in the barbecue sauce of choice (taste preference of heat/spicy level dependent on guests) at about 325 degrees for about 15-20min or until bubbly (Note: I live at altitude). Add a starch, and green side [on this plate, featured with sprouts and mini-multi-colored taters] and a few extra condiments for your guests' liking/ what's on hand.....and your in business with this awesome go-to slow-cooker pulled pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowborn
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Megan's Granola

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Ok! Its just me eating this so I made half the recipe and it still makes alot. I used what I had on hand which was sunflower seeds pumpkin seeds and sliced almonds and ground flax seed instead of wheat germ. I left out the brown sugar and added just a bit more honey plus 1/2 c. pumpkin apple baby food because I like it more moist than crunchy. I love cinnamon so I added a bit more than the recipe called for, it wasnt overpowering, and some fresh nutmeg and ginger (I eyeballed both). I think it came out perfect! Not too sweet, not too mushy or crunchy. I did leave it in for about 20 minutes longer but I think that may have been because of the extra moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eireann_nm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken for the Week: Marsala to Enchiladas

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I was SOOOOOO hoping for Marsala to be incorporated into an Enchilada recipe after reading this page ;/ Alllll WELL! inspiration I suppose to bridge that gap.... Have you tried: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/pork-marsala/detail.aspx ...?! Awesome recipe but I have to find something else to put that left-over Marsala to good use...actually incorporating it in a New Mexico dish would be AWESOME! ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowborn
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Yellow Squash

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I loved this recipe as a quick go-to for home grown winter squash! I also incorporated home-grown Jalapeños! The soy sauce added just enough of salt and and element of stir-fry that created a basic, yet incorporated side. As for the "Most Helpful Critical Review" - if you happen to have bacon grease around from breakfast burritos or whatnot, recycling the bacon in use with vegetable as a side dish on a HEALTHY main plate - this is the recipe. I personally used a lean bacon that I found at Whole Foods (no unnecessary additives , or hormones) and it felt balanced with a whole grain, and grilled meat - clean eating at its finest! ~Vice in moderation fellow AllReceipers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowborn
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
A couple things I do a little different. It works best when the rice is cold, and I add sesame seeds as well. I made this last night and added shrimp and pineapple to it. The combinations are endless really. Whatever is your favorite fried rice. Or whatever meat you have leftover in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pperkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
In agreement with other previous comments that the consistency is more soup-like than stew. Could be more on the spicy side, but has a agreeable Cajun seasoning that is indicative of City Creole jambalaya (also called "red jambalaya"/ with tomatoes). As traditionally "Cajun" jambalaya, meat and vegetables are cooked separately from the rice in this recipe. I served with brown rice and had plenty of left-overs (served 3). Tasters of this meal said the jambalaya tasted better with aging in having left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowborn
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Pumpkin Butter

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This makes a delicious and delightful quick gift for just about anything, especially a hostess gift! I poured into mason jars, added tulle fabric on the lid and tied with raffia. I did however, refine the recipe to less sugar and also substituted brown sugar on my second batch. I added a few dollops of local honey I received as a hostess gift providing a personalized gift in-kind with shared local natural sweetener!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowborn
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Pork Marsala

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I made this recipe the other night and it was AWESOME! I thickened the sauce more with the breading mixture + Marsala to add a bit of sauté to the brown rice I cooked it with. I served with a steamed cabbage salad consisting of red cabbage and home-grown white cabbage dressed with sesame oil, sliced almonds and a dash of salt. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowborn
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Photo by snowborn

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Inspiration for the Fall season! Especially with being a mailable gift in coffee containers! I greased with pasteurized butter and heavily floured which created an aesthetically pleasing stratification on the outside when presented bare/ from tin foil. I also went for a heaping cup of miniature semisweet chocolate chips;)...delish and look forward to refining to the liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowborn
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Cranberry Thanksgiving Turkey Sandwich

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
It gets 3 stars because you have to put cream cheese on one of the slices of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pperkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Rose Otero-Molina

Peanut Butter Cupcakes

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I modified the recipe for high altitude (I live at 7500 elev., so I always need to reduce sugar and leavening, and increase flour and liquid.) I made them with butter instead of shortening. The cupcakes were awesome! I went a different route and made PB&J cupcakes. I hollowed out the cupcake, and put strawberry jam in some and grape jam in some. I made a peanut butter cream cheese frosting with 1/2 cup peanut butter, two bricks of cream cheese, a teaspoon of vanilla, 3 tablespoons milk, and about a cup and a half of powdered sugar. I then put a drop of strawberry jam on the strawberry filled cupcakes, and a drop of grape jam on the grape filled cupcakes. They were outrageous. Way beyond anything I could have imagined. Thanks for the recipe. I will try the cupcakes with chocolate frosting or chocolate ganache another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Otero-Molina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States