Santa Fe, New Mexico - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Coconut Curry Pumpkin Soup

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Made this to use up frozen pumpkin from last fall. Delicious. I hate when people make major changes and still try to rate a recipe, but I have to say that I did make one major, and one minor change. The major one was that I had some sweet mini peppers so I sauteed them with the onions and blended that up in the mix. The minor one was I left the coriander out. I was given a curry spice sampler tin, and I used the half a regular yellow curry spice and half a berbere spice, which is from Ethiopia and is very much like a hotter red pepper curry spice. The kick was perfect in this recipe. Finally I toasted a few pepitas just to sprinkle on top of each bowl. Personally, I think the recipe would have been creamy and tasty enough with the coconut milk left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh-Squeezed Salty Dog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
My go to drink is a salty dog. I use vodka and search out restaurants that fresh squeeze grapefruit. Never add salt to the actual drink! It's a salted rim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pperkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Best Ever Banana Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Really is the "Best Ever Banana Bread" 5 Stars just as written!! It's easy and fast to make. TIP: I love to save my over-ripe bananas in the freezer (in a freezer bag and peels removed) until I have 3 bananas which= just over 1 cup of mashed bananas! Thank you for sharing this great recipe Rose!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matti Garrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Diane's Colcannon

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
As a vegetarian, I skipped the bacon, but it didn't matter one bit. I don't even care that it wasn't "traditional" because I am one of the few that isn't a kale lover. It is lovely, a nice St. Patrick's Day treat. Family loves potatoes most any way, but this is a nice change up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Lemon Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I am strangely addicted to this dressing. It is tangy, but if your salad has a sweet touch, like sweet tomatoes, or perhaps beets, or fruit, it add a really nice, bright tone. It is also super easy to make, and I think it would be delicious with Meyer lemons. My family is not as keen on sour flavors as I am, and that makes me happy because then I don't have to share! I use the recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Salmon

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
A simple, delicious departure from our usual lemon-pepper, quick fix salmon recipe. A 15 minute meal (minus marinading time) with steamed baby broccoli. We are hooked on this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyBun505

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Coleslaw

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I really like this, but I do think it is a flavor that one either likes or dislikes, and there is no getting around that. It would be great with some baked tofu pieces or chicken added in. Some chopped peanuts would also add good texture, or some crunchy noodles. Pre-shredded coleslaw mix is definitely the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rose Otero-Molina

Key Lime Pie VII

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
My daughter loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Otero-Molina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Korma

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I did like this, but like everyone else said, don't use cream, use coconut milk. Also, up the spices. Next time I will probably even add more coconut milk so that there a good amount of sauce to soak into the rice. I was in a hurry, so I did precook the potatoes in the microwave a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
As always, I didnt leave this recipe alone. I added 3 pieces of chopped crisp bacon to the meat mixture and I used the grease to saute the onions with a some Mrs.Dash. I also added 3 splashes of Worcestershire sauce and because I didnt read the instructions I added a tbsp. of brown mustard to the meat. In addition, I used seasoned breadcrumbs in place of plane. I doubled the ketchup and brown sugar but only used about 1 1/2 tbsp. mustard in the topping. Baked in a loaf pan and not free formed this was a wonderful meatloaf! Its my new go-to recipe for meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eireann_nm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marbled Pumpkin Cheesecake

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Great recipe! Made this exactly as written and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eireann_nm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Frog Eye Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I've made frog eye salad for 3 years now and each time I just add variations... this year I could not fine anci de pepe pasta anywhere and so buying the smallest pasta you CAN find will do... I used orzo.. only because I don't care for the taste couscous gives it... I've never added egg to mine because it makes me nervous, I've always assumed egg is only to add color? to which in place of I use non cooked vanilla pudding packet! I took out the first 7 ingredients of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIzzBakerReyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Love this recipe for feeding 6-8 people in a pinch! I work on the mountains during the day, and this recipe allows me to throw something delicious quickly in the slow-cooker (making the home smell savory when I arrive back:) before heading out the door! Its ready to go the second I walk in the door: I simply put it in a oven-safe casserole dish, pull it apart as directed and let it bake in the barbecue sauce of choice (taste preference of heat/spicy level dependent on guests) at about 325 degrees for about 15-20min or until bubbly (Note: I live at altitude). Add a starch, and green side [on this plate, featured with sprouts and mini-multi-colored taters] and a few extra condiments for your guests' liking/ what's on hand.....and your in business with this awesome go-to slow-cooker pulled pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowborn
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Photo by snowborn

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Love this recipe for feeding 6-8 people in a pinch! I work on the mountains during the day, and this recipe allows me to throw something delicious quickly in the slow-cooker (making the home smell savory when I arrive back:) before heading out the door! Its ready to go the second I walk in the door: I simply put it in a oven-safe casserole dish, pull it apart as directed and let it bake in the barbecue sauce of choice (taste preference of heat/spicy level dependent on guests) at about 325 degrees for about 15-20min or until bubbly (Note: I live at altitude). Add a starch, and green side [on this plate, featured with sprouts and mini-multi-colored taters] and a few extra condiments for your guests' liking/ what's on hand.....and your in business with this awesome go-to slow-cooker pulled pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowborn
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Megan's Granola

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Ok! Its just me eating this so I made half the recipe and it still makes alot. I used what I had on hand which was sunflower seeds pumpkin seeds and sliced almonds and ground flax seed instead of wheat germ. I left out the brown sugar and added just a bit more honey plus 1/2 c. pumpkin apple baby food because I like it more moist than crunchy. I love cinnamon so I added a bit more than the recipe called for, it wasnt overpowering, and some fresh nutmeg and ginger (I eyeballed both). I think it came out perfect! Not too sweet, not too mushy or crunchy. I did leave it in for about 20 minutes longer but I think that may have been because of the extra moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eireann_nm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken for the Week: Marsala to Enchiladas

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I was SOOOOOO hoping for Marsala to be incorporated into an Enchilada recipe after reading this page ;/ Alllll WELL! inspiration I suppose to bridge that gap.... Have you tried: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/pork-marsala/detail.aspx ...?! Awesome recipe but I have to find something else to put that left-over Marsala to good use...actually incorporating it in a New Mexico dish would be AWESOME! ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowborn
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Yellow Squash

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I loved this recipe as a quick go-to for home grown winter squash! I also incorporated home-grown Jalapeños! The soy sauce added just enough of salt and and element of stir-fry that created a basic, yet incorporated side. As for the "Most Helpful Critical Review" - if you happen to have bacon grease around from breakfast burritos or whatnot, recycling the bacon in use with vegetable as a side dish on a HEALTHY main plate - this is the recipe. I personally used a lean bacon that I found at Whole Foods (no unnecessary additives , or hormones) and it felt balanced with a whole grain, and grilled meat - clean eating at its finest! ~Vice in moderation fellow AllReceipers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowborn
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
A couple things I do a little different. It works best when the rice is cold, and I add sesame seeds as well. I made this last night and added shrimp and pineapple to it. The combinations are endless really. Whatever is your favorite fried rice. Or whatever meat you have leftover in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pperkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
In agreement with other previous comments that the consistency is more soup-like than stew. Could be more on the spicy side, but has a agreeable Cajun seasoning that is indicative of City Creole jambalaya (also called "red jambalaya"/ with tomatoes). As traditionally "Cajun" jambalaya, meat and vegetables are cooked separately from the rice in this recipe. I served with brown rice and had plenty of left-overs (served 3). Tasters of this meal said the jambalaya tasted better with aging in having left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowborn
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Pumpkin Butter

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This makes a delicious and delightful quick gift for just about anything, especially a hostess gift! I poured into mason jars, added tulle fabric on the lid and tied with raffia. I did however, refine the recipe to less sugar and also substituted brown sugar on my second batch. I added a few dollops of local honey I received as a hostess gift providing a personalized gift in-kind with shared local natural sweetener!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowborn
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States