Santa Fe, New Mexico - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by SON-FLOWER

Pastel de Tres Leches (Three Milk Cake)

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
First, let me say that I didn't follow the recipe exactly. Because I live in a high altitude area, I always have to modify my cake recipes: less sugar, less leavening, more flour, more liquid. When I first made this recipe, I misread the amount of baking powder. I'm still not sure that the recipe requires 1 Tablespoon of baking powder. I thought the recipe said 1 teaspoon, and I adjusted for high altitude accordingly. Also, instead of a 10x15 cake, I made cupcakes. I make a lot of cupcakes, all the time. Everybody in my world has their own personal favorite. This recipe has now become everybody's personal favorite! I did make other modifications: I used coconut milk in place of milk in the cake batter and added a half teaspoon of coconut extract and a dash of cinnamon. I also made a topping of freshly whipped cream with dulce de leche, and then topped with toasted coconut. Essentially, I made a cinco leches cake. ;) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SON-FLOWER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tortilla Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was not good - tortillas made it mushy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I remember made this recipe in Tulsa for a "hood" party...it was a hit! Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe and it is super simple to make. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sloppy Joes II

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I love sloppy joes, but I think adding the brown sugar made it way too sweet. I will omit the brown sugar next time and then I can give the recipe a 5 star rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Meatless Meatballs

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
These are great. I made exactly as directed except I halved the salt. Definitely give these a try and watch the how to video at the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britterica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I have been making this cheesecake recipe for more than a couple of years - and am just now submitting my 2 cents. :) This is an easy recipe with an end result that is sure to impress anyone you serve this to. It is a dense yet creamy cheesecake that is delicious without any topping. If using a topping with this cake I would suggest using something simple and as close to fresh as possible - as opposed to a canned pie filling. This recipe has never failed me following the recipe as is. Ensure you leave this in the fridge for at least 6+ hours after taking out of the oven to allow it to settle & give you the best texture. Bake it an hour before bedtime and leave it in the oven until you get up in the morning, then refrigerate. It's ready to serve for dinner dessert. Nice....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
5 stars for a delicious no-meat burger and for ease of preparation & cooking. Made these for a burger-burn w/some vegitarian guests attending. The non-meateaters enjoyed these & said these were much better than the store bought brands. I (a lover of a good meat burger) wound up eating one of these burgers instead of a meat burger - grilled with green chile and cheese on top :). Delicious. As suggested by other reviewers, it is necessary to drain the beans very well and not mix the pepper & onion mixture in if its too wet. You will need to drain some moisture off as needed. You can easily add more moisture if needed - just enough to "feel" the pattie texture will hold together when cooked & flipped over while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Marshmallow Fondant

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This was my first time making fondant and it was not only easy to make, but it tastes great too! I took the advice of others and added the food coloring into the melted marshmallows and it turned out perfect. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matti G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
It tasted like rice with mushroom soup. I was looking for something lighter and maybe lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scallops Primavera

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This was OK--not bad, but not great. The only change I made was to sub zucchini and green pepper for the carrots and peas (I had some from my garden that I needed to use up), but it was the sauce I wasn't crazy about. It was fairly bitter, and it didn't highlight the sweetness of the scallops at all. My 19-month-old ate it with no complaints, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Pepper Jelly

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is delicious! As suggested by others I increased the jalapenos to 1c leaving the ribs and seeds for some warmth. I had no setting problem with the 3 batches I've made so far over the past 2 weeks using the same ingredient measurements as stated -measuring 4c total of peppers and hand-fine-cut the peppers. The jelly looks beautiful with the peppers suspended throughout. I would suggest NOT to add food coloring. The natural colors look very festive and I would imagine more appetizing. I have served this with cream cheese and also with extra sharp cheddar & buttery type crackers (ritz, townhouse). I am happy to have found a new tasty homemade Christmas gift for friends. I am sure it will be well received. :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Apricot Brandy Pound Cake III

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Wonderful recipe. I made it for an office party, and it got rave reviews. It was a real crowd-pleaser. I made mine with apricot nectar rather than brandy, but added in a couple of big spoonfuls of apricot preserves. I also used an apricot almond glaze, made with 1/4 cup apricot nector, 1-1/2 cups powdered sugar, and 1/2 teaspoon almond extract. I loved the texture and the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SON-FLOWER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Ok, so spinach and strawberries go together... but the oils are a bit extra. Especially being a light spring fruit salad, it should not have such a strong dressing, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emerald Mercy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Magical Egg Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This recipe is quick to make and delicious. The steak sauce is an awesome addition. None of the ingredients really overpowers the others, it is well balanced. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britterica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Edamame Asian-Style Pizza

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I was a little leery of peanut sauce and cheese together, but this turned out surprisingly well. I omitted the chicken and added shiitake mushrooms, and I used a bit of habanero soy sauce to give it a welcome kick. I'm going to make this again and sub miso for the peanut butter. This is so easy, I'm planning to make it regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rebecca's Coconutty Fish

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Delicious and super easy--my favorite kind of dish! I used unsweetened coconut; otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. This has become my go-to recipe for when I'm in a hurry--I just keep a container of the chopped pecans and coconut on hand and throw it together with a simple salad for a delicious, gourmet-tasting meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Edamame Arugula Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I liked the flavor but not the texture, but that's easy enough to fix (it was too thick, almost like pudding). My husband wasn't crazy about the flavor; he thought the arugula was too strong. But my one-year-old liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic Mexican Chili Rellenos

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
As one of the other reviewers mentioned, and also being from New Mexico using Hatch Chile is the best and formost for any chile/ chile relleno recipe..problem is for myself I now live in California and using poblanos or anaheim is just flat out nasty to me... this year I brought back 30 lbs. of chile from back home...Ive made me tons of chile rellenos and a happy camper!!!!! If some of you guys ever get to NM to visit you will never want any other kind of chile rellenos again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIzzBakerReyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Wonderful!!! It was easy and incredibly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Prawns Curry

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This was excellent and very easy to make. It was much spicier than I expected, but we like it that way. I used coconut milk instead of heavy cream, coconut oil, and about half the onions. I think the 1 tsp cumin seeds in the recipe is supposed to be mustard seeds, because cumin seeds don't splutter, but mustard seeds do (also, it seems odd to have both cumin seeds and ground cumin in the recipe), so I used mustard seeds. And finally, I added cauliflower because I had some I needed to use up. Great flavor and a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States