Las Cruces - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Country White Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This is a great basic recipe for white bread. I like brushing some egg white on the top before baking to get that lovely gloss on the top of the loaf. I also like to proof the yeast before mixing all of the ingredients together. The dough is good for making dinner rolls and you could even use it to make something like monkey bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seejanebabble

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I made the recipe as written and found the batter to be very thick, almost like it could be a drop biscuit. The heat of the skillet did nothing to help spread the batter/dough so we ended up with some very small in diameter but very tall pancakes. In the end this looked like a very fluffy pancake but the texture was very thick and somewhat chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seejanebabble

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I think this is a fantastic base recipe and the fact that it can lead to so many wonderful variations makes it even better! I cooked my apples in with the caramel liquid until they were softened a little and the sauce was thick and I added a bit of cinnamon and a couple of drops of lemon emulsion. I allowed it to cool a little before adding it to the pie crust. I topped with a lattice crust once and a streusel topping another time - both were fantastic and I had many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Glenwood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pecan-Crusted Trout

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
We fish for wild trout every year and just brought home 74 of them for our freezer. Needless to say, I've tried many recipes for trout, but this one is the very best I've tried. I did swap the flour for Panko, the egg for 1/4c melted butter, and I will use half the salt next time. Delicious! I will make this recipe many times! Thank you, Devin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Asian Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I was just looking for a dressing recipe for a pasta salad I was making with whole wheat penne, asparagus and peas. I had all the ingredients in the house so I gave it a shot. This one is a keeper. The sweet chili sauce I used is something I always have on hand for when I make spring rolls. It's called "Thai Kitchen Sweet Red Chili" and is available in every grocery store. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

Easy Vegetarian Spinach Lasagna

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
My family loves this recipe and requests it often. I made it as the recipe is written the first time and it was really good. Since then I've added zucchini's, fresh tomatoes, more basil, a lot more ricotta and a pinch of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seejanebabble

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I loved this spanish rice recipe. I used Sadie's salsa. It is a wonderful recipe I will make over and over again. Thanks!! Judyj
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pat's Dumplings

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Added a little parsley flakes with garlic/onion powder, since I like them to have a little flavor. Otherwise, great recipe! Really great in my made-from-scratch chicken soup. This is my go-to recipe for dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayard, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sticky Chicken Strips

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
It was good, but the sauce didn't reduce in the oven. So I poured it into a saucepan and reduced it on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pagan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Succulent Roast Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I don't know what happened :( Followed the recipe for preparation exactly as written and followed some additional ideas from individuals who gave the dish 4 stars. Upon completion, the chicken tasted no better or no worse than an ordinary roasted chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Made this tonight for dinner. Only added one extra potato but otherwise followed this recipe exactly. This one is definitely going straight into the recipe box! Served with cornbread and DH loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maui Girl's Mango Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
We did enjoy this pie. It was a nice change but somehow felt like an old classic. I did not have lemon juice and it still came out with a very nice consistency. Not too runny or too thick. We likened this more to a peach pie than an apple. Also, other reviewers are correct, this is not an overly sweet pie even with the mangoes being so sweet. If you prefer a sweeter pie you may want to add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalyssa10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Chess Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Followed the ingredients exactly... It is a little too sweet but I love it!!! As for the directions... I added foil around the pie crust and baked for 55 minutes. The pie came out golden brown and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neilsgrayson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Easy to make and delicious to eat! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Luscious Slush Punch

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Thanks for the recipe! It is the best punch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
easy recipe, great results! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rempel Family Meatloaf

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Followed the recipe to a T. Meatloaf was moist, but lacked taste. I'm going to have to disagree with those who think that this is the best meatloaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mandarin Almond Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was absolutely delicious! I used a spring mix/spinach combo, ditched the onion and added a few craisins and feta cheese. It looked beautiful and the taste was out of this world. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mandarin Almond Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was absolutely delicious! I used a spring mix/spinach combo, ditched the onion and added a few craisins and feta cheese. It looked beautiful and the taste was out of this world. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I had never made corned beef and cabbage before but decided to try my hand at it. I followed the recipe exactly except cooked the cabbage on the stove for 20 minutes in some of the liquid from the crock pot, as someone else suggested. Absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States