Albuquerque - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cream-Braised Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Made these for Christmas dinner and they were DEVINE!! I ate too many, and felt kind of sick...oh well! I also kind of doctored them up with onion and garlic...and proceeded as directed. DH doesn't really care for them and he said "these are good". Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Frank Barnett

Real NY Jewish Rye Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Followed the recipe pretty close. I stirred the yeast in the water with a fork and then dipped the fork in sugar and used that to stir again, which was plenty to feed the yeast. I also used brown sugar instead of demerara sugar, which I never heard of before, but intend to look for it soon. Instead of the bread pan, I used a round Brotform basket to give it an Artisan look and baked it on a preheated pizza stone. The result was a nice looking loaf of wonderful tasting rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Very much like the "German Pancakes II" on this site, but smaller. They are very easy to make and come out light & fluffy. I made 1/2 recipe with 1 egg, 1/2 C milk and 1/2 C flour. My daughter makes this frequently and says you can make them sweet or savory. She uses beef drippings instead of butter and puts some finely chopped onion in the batter. I prefer the sweet ones and sprinkle them with a little lemon juice and then some powdered sugar. I guess there are a lot of possibilities with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Peppered Shrimp Alfredo

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
THIS IS HEAVENLY! My DH has been through chemo/radiation and nothing has tasted or even sounded good to him. He said yesterday that pasta sounded good, so I made this last night. It was delicious! To see him eat this with such enthusiasm made my heart sing! All I did different was sauté the shrimp and I used a roasted red pepper. Will be having it again for tonight...thanks for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Sausage Balls

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
YUCK!! I made half a recipe this am...and they are in the trashcan, as we speak! I DON'T see what the hoopla is about...they are TERRIBLE! I'm just grateful I didn't make the whole recipe. GAG!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Dried Mushroom and Onion Soup Mix

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I was looking for a dried onion and mushroom soup base. As suggested by others, I put all of my ingredients in my small 2 cup sized food processor and ground it to a fine powder. In addition to the above recipe, I added 1/4 cup of dried mushrooms which I ground up with the rest of the onion soup mix. It turned out great. I use this when I am making beef stew or cube steaks. It truly is delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Onion Soup Mix

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I was looking for a dried onion and mushroom soup base. As suggested by others, I put all of my ingredients in my small 2 cup sized food processor and ground it to a fine powder. In addition to the above recipe, I added 1/4 cup of dried mushrooms which I ground up with the rest of the onion soup mix. It turned out great. I use this when I am making beef stew or cube steaks. It truly is delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Easy Key Lime Pie I

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Very yummy! I added the zest of one lime for a little extra tartness, and the tiny flakes of green look lovely. Just looking at it makes my mouth water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Minnich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Cheryl King

Autumn Butternut and Kale Salad with Maple Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I did not like this recipe. The butternut squash was too mushy, and the kale ended up being way to wilted for a good salad. It also had too much red onion. I was disappointed, since I was looking forward to what sounded like a delicious salad and I made it for my family's Thanksgiving potluck. Oh well. The vinaigrette was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Jim's Old Fashioned Oyster Dressing

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I make this recipe every year for Thanksgiving. As I do not put it into the bird, it is known as dressing. I agree with Valorie that the title should not result in a one star rating. I cut this recipe in half and I use only half of the oysters because of cost factors. I make this in a crock pot and it is awesome. I do cheat and use stuffing/dressing mix instead of cutting up the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Slow Cooker Stuffing

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made it with canned mushrooms and store bought bread cubes. Turned out too salty and mushy. I will re-try it but I will either use more bread or less chicken broth. I'll try it again and see if it gets better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy B

Haunted Oreos®

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was a lot of fun to make. I used a candy mold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Jim's Old Fashioned Oyster Dressing

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I make this recipe every year for Thanksgiving. As I do not put it into the bird, it is known as dressing. I agree with Valorie that the title should not result in a one star rating. I cut this recipe in half and I use only half of the oysters because of cost factors. I make this in a crock pot and it is awesome. I do cheat and use stuffing/dressing mix instead of cutting up the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Crusted Salmon with Honey-Mustard Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Very tasty. Every body liked it and it was easy to put together. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buzz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Libby's® Famous Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I've been making this pie since I was old enough to stand up and roll pie dough! This is the recipe my mother always used, and I've always used it. I was looking for something different this year but after reading what "naples" had to say, I said "what's wrong with me?"...if it aint broke don't fix it. I will continue to make this again this year. Last year our dear friend Karl said it was the BEST pumpkin pie he'd EVER eaten...what a compliment! Happy Thanksgiving everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Smooth Broccoli Vitamix® Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I don't like Broccoli so I can't give this a 5 star rating. I made this for someone else who liked it. The Vitamix works great with this recipe. The only change I made was not use as much onion as it calls for. I just thought it would overpower the flavor of the Broccoli. Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandollar1970

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I used the Boiled Chicken recipe by George as suggested by several others, the night before. I had a 3 to 4 pound chicken and got just the right amount for the recipe. I also used Reams frozen egg noodles as suggested. I put everything except the noodles in a 4 qt slow cooker and realized I needed a larger one. So, I transferred everything to my 6 qt slow cooker and cooked on low for about 6 hrs. then added the noodles and cooked for another hour. The soup needed salt, but other than that, it was wonderful. Reheated it the next day by cooking it another 3 to 4 hrs on low in the slow cooker and it was even better. The only thing I will change next time is to add several carrots cut in chunks. They really added something to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Baked Creamed Corn II

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I did not care for this at all! So glad I only made half the recipe. It was lacking something...was so bland. DH thought it was ok. Heated it up the next night and it was tolerable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Apple Danish

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This was really good. I basically followed the recipe with a few minor changes. I used some extra yeast (closer to 2 t.) because my yeast was old, and also because of the old yeast, I extended the rise times. I sprinkled raisins over the apple filling before sealing it up. The browned butter glaze was really good--the browning really did add to the flavor. Just make sure you watch the browning butter carefully so it doesn't burn. If I make this again, I will leave it in another five or 10 minutes longer--I think it's a bit undercooked at 20, and you don't need to add the foil on top. One other change I would make is to reduce the salt, probably to a 1/2 teaspoon. I like salty, but the dough was a little too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheryl King

Morning Delight Quiche

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Delicious and easy. I made a couple of changes due to my family's taste. I added 1/2 onion and a sprinkle of garlic powder to the crust and used red bell pepper instead of sun dried tomatoes and spinach instead of cilantro. You could really use any veggies and herbs you prefer. The whole family enjoyed this breakfast for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States