Sparks, Nevada - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Beginner's Turkey with Stuffing

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This was easy and tasted very good. Will use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Bacon-Balsamic Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
These eggs were a great change-up from the usual deviled eggs. They were a bit sweet for my taste, but the rest of my family loved them as the recipe was written. The next time I will deviate and try it with half of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwestern Chicken Lasagna

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This was a very good alternative to both lasagna and enchiladas. I added more salsa though, due to the casserole drying out during cooking. I also agree that a layer of sauce before the first layer of tortillas would help with keeping them moist. A great casserole that pleased even my pickiest eater. This recipe will be a keeper in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Luscious Slush Punch

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This punch was an absolute hit at my 7 year old daughter's luau party. The girls kept coming back for more and raving over the yumminess. I made it according to the recipe, except for cutting sugar down to 1 cup and using a grapefruit soda instead of lemon-lime. I had moms emailing me that their daughters thought the punch was the highlight of the party! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Midwestern Pork Tenderloin Sandwich

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I am from Indiana and trust me, I KNOW a breaded tenderloin sandwich! A few little Hoosier secrets...use buttermilk instead of milk, peanut oil instead of vegetable oil and use saltine crackers for the breading. Mix together buttermilk, egg, a clove or 2 of garlic, salt pepper and some cayenne pepper and let the butterflied pork sit in it for 4 hrs to overnight. When preparing, dredge in Wondra instant flour, then into the buttermilk again, then the cracker crumbs. Ummmmm....I'm salivating at the thought of this sandwich!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAYCOOLJULES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Chips

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
These are great I added some garlic and onion salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Applesauce Bars

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
These are great. I used the cream cheese, butter recipe frosting. But I am sure they are great on thier own or w/ the frosting from the recipe. My boys ate all of it in the first 24 hours. I sifted my flour but will not next time. They were a little too moist to cut and eat like a bar, more like a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Simple Carnitas

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This has become one of my families favorite dinners. We then put it together in white corn tortillas with fresh cilantro and a good squeeze of lime. DEVINE! I put this in the slow cooker and come home to the heavenly scent. Thanks for sharing this amazing recipe! I have passed it on to all my friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjakmmal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cocktail Meatballs IV

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Simple and delicious! I sometimes cheat and use frozen italian meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mayonnaise Biscuits

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I grew up eating these almost every Sunday after church. My mom always used Dukes mayo, and now so do I. Since I don't live in the south, she ships Dukes to me! Great, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
These pies are wonderful and if you make your own piecrust, > Pie crust IV on this site is great), they are even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Beef and Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
You could add drained cooked hamburger to this instead of beef and I chopped my veges in a small quisinart. I also used rehidrated onion as I forgot onion at the store and 1 T. fresh oregano, fresh parsley. 1 bay leaf. Made a double batch w/ large crushed tomatoes, I will only use one can next time. It made two pretty good sized pots. Next time I will use my 9qt. cast iron pan on low. Cooked for about 2 hours and could not keep the kids away from it. It freezes beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Super Fajita Marinade

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I added to already cooked beef, 2 lbs., dried garlic, dried onion, taco seasoning, a whole bunch of cilantro, corriander, cumin and a little basil, two small cubes beef instant bullion 1 1/2 cup water and cooked in a crock pot on low for a couple of hours. Could not keep the kids out of it. Was going to have it tomorrow night but had to serve it tonight or it would have dissapeared. Had to keep warm for a late commer and it was too salty so don't cook too long Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Hubby and I loved this!! I made this exactly as written,except I cooked the rice separately, and I made the creole seasoning blend from this site and used 2 T to flavor this dish. Kids thought it was a bit too spicy for them. Hubby added his habanero tabasco sauce, but the heat was just right for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Holiday Milk Punch: the New Eggnog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I didn't care for this, but I think maybe I don't like brandy. I'll try it again with just the rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chili I

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I liked this. I used 3 cans of beans and blended them to make it thick. The seasonings were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Yam Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I loved the flavor and the yams, but I should have baked it about another 10 minutes. It was just a little too moist. We're making this again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fire and Ice Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I used 3/4 cup of olive oil, and it was still too much. After it marinated, I soaked up some of the oil with 2 slices of bread. I sliced and added 4 marinated artichoke hearts. Served it over whole wheat spaghetti. I will make this again, but with less oil. Hubby really liked it alot! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Rice

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I LOVED this!! I added 1/4 tsp of the cayenne, and any more would have been too much for me. Hubby also liked this, but the kids didn't. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Okay I've since remade these and I'm putting it at 4 stars. I would agree with others on lowering the amount of sugar. Mine are a little granular so I think 3/4 cup of sugar will be what I use next time. This recipe has also yielded 3 dozen cookies so far and I think I can get another dozen out of the dough in the fridge. That said I like the way the cookies turn out much better after the dough has spent the night in the fridge and then allowed to warm up enough to be easily scooped up with a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States