Sparks, Nevada - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Oven Baked BBQ Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Wrap racks as tightly as possible with good rub with a vinegar. Two days for best. Remove membrane if you can. Slice or cut with scissors between each bone. Bake on broiler pan 2 1/2 - 3 hours on 250. Throw on grill with BBQ sauce. Preheat grill 500. Set all to low wait 10 minutes. Place ribs on grill. One burner left on place racks over no flame close lid 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Mel's Crab Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I use 8oz. Imit. crab, 2 cups celery chopped, 2/3 mayo, 2/3 ranch, 1 tsp. sugar, 1/8 celery seed. Stir, refrigerate 2 hours. Yummo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Spicy Chicken Quinoa

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe with all the ingredients except the corn. I did add sea salt as well and it turned out very well! My husband who is ultra picky actually said it was good and he never says that! Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthier Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Wow, so good. I had a 3 1/2 lb roast so I improvised a bit. 1 full onion, 1/4 cup catsup and a cup of charro beans in the bottom. Season roast with herb and garlic salt liberally. Place roast fat side up. Pour 5 Tbl soy and 1 cup merlot over the top. Spread 3/4 cup catsup and two Tbs. chopped garlic on top with ground pepper and all seasoning. Cooked on High for one hour basted. Cooked on low next 2 1/2 hour basting on the hour. Then turned and turned off. Stabbed with knife several places, basted, sprinkled with a bit of meat tenderizer, 45 min turned, stabbed, basted and sprinkled with tenderizer again. Let sit until almost cool broth. Turned on keep warm and OMG best pork I have ever cooked. Will do this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Venison Burger Bake

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
i have made this recipe over and over again. Switch up the ingredients with other greens like kale, swiss chard and collard greens! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nevadafoodies

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Curry Couscous

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I love this recipe!! But why 4 stars and not 5 you ask - well because 1 tsp of black pepper is just too much for me to handle, and 2 tsp of salt is overkill as well. My husband has made this 3 times now, and the last two he scaled back the pepper to 1/4 tsp. He also put far less salt in the second also. The third time he added a little more salt than attempt number two, and now it's flavorful without being a spice overkill. We also skip the cilantro (I don't like it). Hubby also adds the raisins in last as he doesn't like them turning back into grapes. I also requested last time that he increase the amount of toasted almonds. The quantity is enough for us to both pig out at dinner, our daughters pick at and whine about their servings, and still have 2 more "pig out" size portions left for me to consume the next day instead of a normal breakfast and lunch - and then I get dirty looks for not leaving him any. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I just got done making this, and I scraped a vanilla bean into it on top of adding a teaspoon of homemade vanilla extract. This pretty much beats the pants off the junk in a tub at the grocery store. The real test of course will be how my 6 year old will like it on her birthday party cupcakes tomorrow. It's also insanely easy to make, which is good - but very dangerous for my healthy eating habits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cedar Planked Salmon

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Smoked Steelhead Trout (Salmon)

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This is fantastic! After letting it rest with the garlic, rosemary I added 4 cups of water with salt for a brine for 20-30 min. only. Right before grilling them on way low with smoke box I rubbed some liquid smoke right on the fish. Restaurant quality
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Breakfast Quiches to Go

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
These were good. Great to send with company leaving to drive home after the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Amazing Italian Lemon Butter Chicken

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This was really good but takes a long time to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Wow, tripled the recipe for 44 oz. large shrimp. Do not use iodized salt. Too salty. Tripped use I Tbls kosher salt. Shrimp depending on where it comes from may be saltier in oriagin. Used leftover marinade with left over tomatoe sauce to use lightly over pasta. Will share and use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This was really good. I made a double recipe for a large pack of thighs. I cooked at 425 for 10 min turned basted and coocked for 10 more. I poured off excess juice and basted returned to oven turned off and closed for 10 more or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Tantalizingly Tangy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Added ketchup to meatloaf with other ingredients. I love to pour hunts meatloaf sauce over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Rich and Creamy Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I seasoned with tenderizer mccormicks steak seasoning garlic salt onion salt ground pepper. Floured and seared. In same pan sautéed onion and garlic. In slow cooker 1 can beef stock add roast put package of onion soup mix w/ a little water then add onion and garlic. Keep on low until it simmers lower to keep warm. Add veges to crock and turn back to low. When simmers turn back to keep warm. Moist not over cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Open-Faced Grilled Tuscan Chicken Sandwiches with Fresh Mozzarella

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I made this using grilled ciabatta, and followed the recipe, except I added sliced tomatoes. We loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pico de Gallo Chicken Quesadillas

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Amazing!! Followed recipe with the exception of different shredded cheese (just our preference), a tiny bit less onion, more tomato...again, personal preference and we use wheat tortillas. Nothing was left. HIGHLY recommend!! An absolute keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAYCOOLJULES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Rice

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I have been making this Fried Rice for years but I add small shrimp, cut up bacon, peas & carrots [canned]. I also use 3 eggs [scrambled]. My husband doesn't care for rice but he loved this rice. It is great with teriyaki or lemon chicken, or garlic teriyaki beef. Add a cucumber, tomato, onion, salad and you have a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katscooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Non-Edible Cinnamon Ornaments

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Fun to make ornaments, and they smell so nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States