Billings, Montana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Pie Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I also customized this with a pinch less salt and a tad more sugar. Used it for pumpkin pie this Turkey Day and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AutumnGully

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Husband LOVED these! We used them for pulled pork and they were awesome. I did let them rise about 30 minutes longer and probably will proof the yeast next time instead......thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AutumnGully

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Brine

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
We made some minor modifications, or major I guess :) We did kosher salt rub, 3 cans chicken broth, used a turkey baking bag for overnight. The next morning we patted dry, bathed in butter. This is by far one of the yummiest turkeys ever, but warning: my 17 lb turkey cooked in 2.5 hours! One hour faster then it was suppose to, not sure why but I thought I'd share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AutumnGully

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crumb Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I again had problems with the pie becoming very watery. I used red delicious apples and even added an extra tbsp of flour, HOWEVER, it was still absolutely delish! I will def try again and try to figure out how to make it less runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AutumnGully

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Some of the best oatmeal raisin cookies I have ever had the pleasure of baking or eating. Beautiful and so chewy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AutumnGully

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was a pretty good recipe. They look absolutely beautiful! I think I'm looking for a little bit different of a recipe though. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AutumnGully

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Vegetable Beef Stew

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Good starter recipe. Took into account some of the reviews and made my own modifications -- and it was one of the best short-cook stews I've had. Here's what I did: * Took the first review and substituted the 2T cornstarch - though I added an additional 1/2T and a little more water. * Added quartered fresh mushrooms (in the veggie time) * Added fingerling potatoes instead of the "small quartered potatoes" * Added 1 medium parsnip, trimmed and chopped into 1/2" cubes * Rather than the canned tomatoes, I used Pomi Chopped Tomatoes - the full 26.46 oz box. * Rather than the can of tomato sauce, I added 1/2 box of Pomi Strained Tomatoes. * I added approx. 2 cups of an inexpensive Cabernet Sauv. * 4 sprigs thyme (remove the stem, of course) * 2 teaspoons or so of tomato paste * 1 tablespoon or so of garlic paste * Lastly, one whole serrano pepper - chopped small. Because of the additional veggies, it took a little longer to cook them soft. Use your judgement - it took about an hour or 1.5 hours after adding the meat, but was really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick Simonton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Savory Vegetable Beef Stew

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Good starter recipe. Took into account some of the reviews and made my own modifications -- and it was one of the best short-cook stews I've had. Here's what I did: * Took the first review and substituted the 2T cornstarch - though I added an additional 1/2T and a little more water. * Added quartered fresh mushrooms (in the veggie time) * Added fingerling potatoes instead of the "small quartered potatoes" * Added 1 medium parsnip, trimmed and chopped into 1/2" cubes * Rather than the canned tomatoes, I used Pomi Chopped Tomatoes - the full 26.46 oz box. * Rather than the can of tomato sauce, I added 1/2 box of Pomi Strained Tomatoes. * I added approx. 2 cups of an inexpensive Cabernet Sauv. * 4 sprigs thyme (remove the stem, of course) * 2 teaspoons or so of tomato paste * 1 tablespoon or so of garlic paste * Lastly, one whole serrano pepper - chopped small. Because of the additional veggies, it took a little longer to cook them soft. Use your judgement - it took about an hour or 1.5 hours after adding the meat, but was really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick Simonton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
My son loves fried chicken, but in my pursuit of healthier versions of those types of foods, I stumbled across this recipe. Excellent! I used half of the breading and used boneless chicken thighs instead. This is the best parmesan chicken I've tried yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fortunecookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Candy Bars

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I'm so glad I found your recipe!! I have been making it for years, but since a recent move I couldn't find my recipe and couldn't remember exact measurements. Mine is much the same, but I use 1 Cup of butter instead of margarine and 8oz Hershey bar instead of choc chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLFGRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I added a jar of drained artichoke hearts to the mix. Also after the initial baking, I sprinkled the top with shredded Parm. and baked for the final ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fishngriz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I added a jar of drained artichoke hearts to the mix. Also after the initial baking, I sprinkled the top with shredded Parm. and baked for the final ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fishngriz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Easy and delicious! If I can get a good result anyone can (I'm not a baker!). Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken, Rice, and Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Excellent! To make a bit healthier I used half greek plain yogurt and half cottage cheese in place of the mayo. Also added some salt and pepper and used a rotisserie chicken instead of cooking chicken. Was easier to microwave for 9 min then broil rather than use the oven and heat up the house in the middle of summer in Phoenix! Probably is great the way it is but this is what we liked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsiever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Old Fashioned Pea Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I love this but my mother-in-law always added chopped clelery and omitted the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
So yummy!!!!! Loved this exactly as it is. Added provolone to my husbands instead of feta. He LOVED it. I LOVED the feta. Either way, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELEMENT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Turnip 'Fries'

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Turnips are a nice low-carb option vs. the potato so that's awesome.... and I liked the mix of seasonings. I used grapeseed oil because that's what I had and they turned out soggy even though I cooked them higher and longer. Would love to know how to make them crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eat2live2eat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake VII

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Wonderful! I used a yellow cake mix and did need to bake it for about a 1/2 hour longer then the box called for (used a round, deep cake pan). It is moist and delicious - my husband loves it too. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No-Guilt Zesty Ranch Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Fabulous! It is SO hard to find a healthy, low fat ranch that doesn't have the crazy after taste! Excellent! Thank U!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsiever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Zucchini Pasta II

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
One of our staple dinners! Very light and healthy! I use Quinoa Pasta and Light Cream Cheese. I also add white wine and use fresh red pepper instead of canned. Excellent!!! Thank you NJMOM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsiever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States