Billings, Montana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Homemade Chicken Vegetable "Flu-Buster" Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
We just had this for lunch, and it was phenomenal! I actually forgot about the eggs, but it was really good just the same. I will certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xhenifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanna City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Laura's Lemon Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Meh... OK... Nothing special. Fixed exactly as directed; could've roasted my spuds better than using this recipe. I'd give it 4 stars; Mrs. Elk Guy and my son gave it 3. I'm giving the benefit of the doubt... I'd make additions - carrots, onions, and possibly a turnip - and leave some things out... mainly oil and fat. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't anything that gave me the "WOW" factor. I will make this again... with significant modifications. Thanks for a decent base recipe to work from, though. If there's one thing I've learned from spending many, many hours on this site, personal tastes, et cetera, are a definite factor. I've seen 5-star recipes (in my opinion) rated with one star, and seen different recipes - that didn't work for me at all - that had many 5-star ratings. I guess you never really know until you try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This is a tried and true method for perfectly cooked hard-boiled eggs... and the only method I've used for years. (I used to struggle mightily to hard-cook a decent egg.) For those who are complaining about the yolks being undercooked, perhaps you are starting your 17-minute timing a bit prematurely. One should wait until the eggs themselves start to "dance" on the bottom of the pan; this is the exact time to turn off the heat, cover, and set your timer for exactly 17 minutes. Do not remove the saucepan from the burner; I believe the residual heat to be an essential part of completing the process correctly. Oh, and following these directions explicitly has always produced eggs that are easy to peel... but only after complete cooling, and I never use fresh eggs... only those that have been in the fridge for at least a week. (After cooling according to the directions posted in Chef John's recipe, I usually cool them in the fridge for at least an additional hour before peeling.) I hope these suggestions are helpful to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Diane's Colcannon

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Regarding the cabbage versus kale debate: why not both? Regarding the amount of bacon: why not more? I made this for the first time this year for St. Patrick's Day, and after reading the many comments, I decided to use both cabbage and kale. I also decided to use more bacon than the recipe called for, because... well, you know... it's bacon! It was delicious, and the whole family really loved it. I have made it once since then, and plan on doing so many times in the future. It was a wonderful complement to my own famous Guinness slow-cooked corned beef. This will become a staple recipe in our household to replace traditional mashed spuds. It'll give me a chance to show off my Irish heritage in future meals, even when it's not St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I have made this salmon recipe - exactly as written here - for family (both immediate and extended) and for friends... dozens of times over the past several years. I will never... I repeat NEVER... make salmon with any other recipe other than this one. So simple, yet so delicious. My two sons ask me to make it for them all the time; I would, except buying quality salmon isn't inexpensive. I have found that our local Costco has some of the freshest salmon available here in the desert southwest... plus, I like that their salmon comes skinless. (Just a matter of taste, but I'm not a big fan of skin on fish of any kind.). UPDATE: 11/1/14: In my opinion, this Is THE best recipe on AR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I've made these many times; it's simply the best grilled shrimp dish I've ever had, including those at high-end restaurants. As Barbara43 said, the COARSE salt (1 tbsp) is not a typographical error, but to use that much FINE salt might ruin the dish. (I always use shell-on shrimp, though, and I'm sure that makes a difference in final saltiness scale.). Both the garlic and cayenne pepper amounts may be increased, according to your particular tastes... I do; they just make the shrimp "yummier", in my opinion. I always grill these in a seafood basket for for both ease and more product consistency. As others have said, do not overlook your shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I love these for when I'm looking for something simple and mild. I love spicy but the kids don't. Add 1 cup salsa, pepper jack cheese, or spicy green chilies instead of the mild. We all love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made this recipe first exactly as written on a busy weeknight, and it was good. We all liked it, and the left overs were all eaten. I did use a few less noodles because we like it saucy. The second time I made I sautéed green peppers, celery, onions, and mushrooms in the beef, added some garlic and Italian seasoning to the meat and veggie mixture, then deglazed the pan with 1/2 cup of red wine. I then added the jar of spaghetti sauce. I would only do this for company or on weekend when I have more time, but it was EXCELLENT! It turned it from good, to amazing. I was trying to use up the veggies so they wouldn't go bad, and it made a world of difference. My kids said it was the best spaghetti they'd ever had. They are 4 and 6 year old boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Chinese Napa Cabbage Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I make this all the time but add carrots and broccoli. I usually make it for lunches for the entire week by having 2 zip locks, and a bottle for the dressing. Put all "crunchy" items in a bad, ramen, almonds, sesame seeds. Then put all veggies in a separate bag that way nothing looses it's crunch. Bring the dressing along and toss before eating! If I add chicken I can easily get a weeks worth of healthy salads out of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Fajita Seasoning

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I made this exactly as is and have some stored so it's very handy! I also do a lot of freezer cooking so I cut up my chicken and steak strips, put in 2 heaping TBSP of seasoning, juice of 1 lime, and 1/8 cup corn oil and froze it in its own marinade. The results are wonderful and can thaw in the fridge if you take it out the night before, no need to add any kind of oil to sauté the onions and peppers in because there is enough left over from doing the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Dave's Georgia Black Eyed Peas

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Made for a New Year's Day dinner party. 1/2 the recipe. I didn't use the water the beans had soaked in, I rinsed the beans after soaking them over night, put in crockpot with 2 cups of chicken stock and 1cup of water. I did not use bacon, cooked 1 cut up onion in butter and olive oil, added 2cups cut up ham and pepper then put in crockpot. Cooked on high for 1 hour then low for 6 hours. Perfect. No one had ever had black eyed peas but they all loved it and there was none left. Thanks for this easy wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Ham Balls

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I made these exactly as directed. Ok but if I make them again I will add butter to the batter and some additional spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Soup Without Cream

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I wanted a mushroom soup that was lower in calories than the cream of mushroom soups I love so much, decided to give this recipe a go. It had ingredients that I already had on hand, quick to make, and utterly delicious. A friend popped over after it was done so I offered her a bowl. She raved and raved about it and had to get the recipe so she could make it for her family that night. My husband loved it as well! Can't wait to try it on my adult kids, some who have declared their disdain for all things soup. The flavor in this soup is amazingly irresistible! Thank you for posting your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Way too watery. I wouldn't add lime juice or vinegar. Real Salsa verda doesn' have either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Pearson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Korma

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Like others, I made a couple changes. Used coconut milk instead of cream, added a little more onion, used Yukon Gold potatoes (though they definitely needed to cook longer than 10 minutes (more around 25-30)) and added the cardamom pods too. Delicious. Next time, though, I'll likely add some red pepper to add some additional heat, the jalapenos just didn't really give it the heat it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick Simonton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Summer Crab Dip

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I make this all the time with left over salmon, chicken, etc. always a winner. I don't measure when I cook and have done several variations of this recipe including adding redhot or pecans. I have served it with different crackers and / or celery and other vegi 's. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butterscotch Bread Pudding

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Super easy. Could use just a little somethin else! Maybe raisins or sliced apples...??? Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsiever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Amazing Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
My husband really liked it and that was awesome! I did find the chicken on the bottom got soggy and there was liquid in the bottom of the pan. Not sure if that is because I had just defrost the chicken? Anyway, my husband's very picky but he loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheree Johansen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple White Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Made this cake for my daughters birthday. She wanted a teapot birthday cake, so I baked it in pyrex mixing bowls. Added a layer of frosting on the top of one of the bowls and inverted the 2nd cake upside down on top to make a teapot shape. Homemade marshmallows made a great handle and spout. Cake turned out amazing. I wanted something dense enough to hold together, and at first I was worried. But after putting the cake in the fridge for a bit, the crumb held together very nicely. Everyone thought it tasted amazing. I just used this recipe again today, and got what some of the other reviewers referred to as 'cornbread' texture. BUT I used freshly ground whole wheat flour instead of white... so I'm sure that was the reason. Perhaps I didn't beat it long enough too, who knows. It still tastes good, just not the same texture as before. I'll definitely play with it more, because this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew's Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This is an awesome recipe! The first time I used white chips and the second time I used chopped white chocolate - both turned out wonderful. I almost always substitute butter flavored Crisco for butter in my cookie recipes to make them softer but I didn't even do that. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scpuerner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Hingham, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States