Billings, Montana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Made exactly as written. One word... Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Absolutely outstanding! Made exactly as directed... except... had no feta cheese, so I sprinkled shredded cheddar on top, and then thought, "What the heck, I'll put some fresh mozzarella rounds on top of the cheddar and see what happens!" OH, MY! Thanks CJ, for yet another great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lance's French Onion Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Right on! I made this a few days ago... I omitted the sugar - and I added two beef bullion cubes to the beef broth for a ramped-up beef flavor. I also used a shredded blend of Swiss and Gruyere found at T.J.'s, which was fabulous. I've made several different recipes for French Onion Soup over the years - including some much more complicated & involved than this one - and this one is as good as it gets. I will use this recipe again, with my slight modifications. Thanks, Lance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Twice-Baked Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I've made these twice-baked spuds several times... both as written, and by tweaking the recipe to accommodate my family's individual tastes... real bacon really jazzes 'em up! My buddy and his wife will be joining us for Christmas dinner this year, and this recipe has been requested as a side dish for what I anticipate will be a spectacular dinner... (I'm also serving Chef John's Crispy Honey-Baked Ham, found on his blog at food wishes.com). Simply put, Chef John has never once let me down, and I remain a HUGE fan of his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Dutch Babies

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
So easy, and so scrumptious! Made exactly as written with the exception of the lemon juice...(I used the last of the lemons for some yummy cocktails last night!). I devoured my portion with Montana huckleberry syrup; my bride and my son had theirs with good old maple syrup. Delightful... I'll make it many times hence. Chef John, you've done it yet again! A tip of my camo hat to you! (My 17-year-old just came into the room and said five words: "Dad, Dutch babies are amazing." Enough said.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jamie's Minestrone

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I've made this recipe as is and changed out veggies depending on what I had on hand. My favorite addition so far is 1/2 tsp of crushed red pepper. It freezes so well that I love that it makes such a huge batch!!! It's amazing, you won't regret making this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Sarah's Applesauce

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I found this a couple years ago and we have loved it every time! My kids can barely wait for it to cool down enough to eat it! I always triple the recipe and put it in the crockpot on high for 3-4 hours. Perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Ham and Split Pea Soup Recipe - A Great Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
As always chef johns recipe is the best. I've made mine similar to this for years, but I loved the addition of the garlic, and I add shredded carrot. It's a winner everytime, since I eat this soup way more often then I have ham bones left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Taco Stuffed Shells

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
A huge hut with my kids and visiting grandparents! Only change was to put a can of enchilada sauce on the bottom of the pan and stirred in the 8oz of salsa into the meat mixture instead of the taco seasoning (I didn't realize I was out). But the mix up was so good that I'm leaving it like that!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Chicken and Stuffing Skillet

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I cube the chicken so I don't have to cut it up for small kids later. I add garlic and onion, then too with Frenches Fried Onions and there is always empty plates! This is a favorite of the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Easy Cream of Chicken Rice Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I used 1 cup heavy cream and a little more seasoning, it was wonderful! The kids and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

White Chicken Enchilada Slow-Cooker Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I halved it, added dried onion, garlic, and cumin. I also used fat free soup, and extra sharp cheese. I put it in th oven for 35-40 min because of time. It was great and kids loved it. It's just 3 of us, so I have the perfect amount left for 2 lunches for me this week. Next time I'll try the crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Chef John's French Toast

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Outstanding, like all of Chef John's recipes! Just one question, C. J.; where's the pinch of cayenne? ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
The best roast chicken I've ever made. Sometimes simplicity is a beautiful thing. Thank you, Chef John, one more time; your recipes are seemingly always spot-on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I've made it several times, only things I've ever changed was to add some green onions and garlic. But it's amazing with to without those add-ins! Try this, you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Drunken Mussels

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Simply superb! I decreased the amount of white wine (1.5 cups) and added a large splash of heavy cream (about 1 Tbsp). Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly as written. As someone who really loves mussels and who has made them many times in a variety of ways... I can say that this is my new favorite recipe for them. I made 'em especially for my elderly father, who really enjoyed dipping his crusty bread into the amazing sauce. Many thanks to Chef John for yet another splendid recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Bacon Dressing

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
My family loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scpuerner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Hingham, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Kale Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This is a great recipe. I've made it as written and also with subs as once I didn't have Yogurt so used sour cream. I've also used cranraisins and pecans or I've diced apples and feta. Use your imagination. I always try to make enough for left overs. This recipe can also be made the day before. I recommend messaging the kale with a little olive oil, the lemon and a pinch of sea salt until it turns bright green and starts to soften, usually 3 to 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Butter

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Very good. A dollop of this on top of a medium-rare ribeye steak, just after it's come off the grill and is "resting" --- adds something really special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Twice Baked Potatoes

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Perfect as is; just subbed garlic salt for the regular salt. What a treat! UPDATED on 1/19/15: While this is a very, very good recipe, I actually have found one I like even better. So if you're of a mind, check out Chef John's Twice-Baked Potatoes on this same website. Personally, I like CJ's version just a little bit more. (In no way is this meant to diminish or denigrate this recipe, however... It's still rock solid!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States