Billings, Montana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Drunken Mussels

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Simply superb! I decreased the amount of white wine (1.5 cups) and added a large splash of heavy cream (about 1 Tbsp). Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly as written. As someone who really loves mussels and who has made them many times in a variety of ways... I can say that this is my new favorite recipe for them. I made 'em especially for my elderly father, who really enjoyed dipping his crusty bread into the amazing sauce. Many thanks to Chef John for yet another splendid recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Bacon Dressing

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
My family loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scpuerner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Hingham, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Kale Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This is a great recipe. I've made it as written and also with subs as once I didn't have Yogurt so used sour cream. I've also used cranraisins and pecans or I've diced apples and feta. Use your imagination. I always try to make enough for left overs. This recipe can also be made the day before. I recommend messaging the kale with a little olive oil, the lemon and a pinch of sea salt until it turns bright green and starts to soften, usually 3 to 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Butter

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Very good. A dollop of this on top of a medium-rare ribeye steak, just after it's come off the grill and is "resting" --- adds something really special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Twice Baked Potatoes

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Perfect as is; just subbed garlic salt for the regular salt. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Barbecue Beans

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Very good! Made exactly as written... except I added 1/3 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 tsp. of ground cayenne pepper. For the hot sauce, I used both traditional Tabasco and Frank's Red Hot. The balance between sweet and spicy, along with the liquid smoke, made this dish have a complexity of flavors; yet none were overpowering. They were a great side to my slow-cooked baby back ribs and corn on the cob. 'Twas a hit with the whole crew. Will make again... for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic German Potato Salad

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Many many years ago, while married to my ex-Husband who's step Mother came here with her Army Husband, from Germany, made this every time we came over to eat. Me being really really young (17), I had an attitude about "Mother-in-laws" & I would NOT admit that I liked her German Potato Salad, so, I never asked her for the recipe... To ANYTHING she made. How stupid I was. And here after 34 years, here is her recipe!! I was used to Miracle Whip, egg, mustard etc potato salad & I always hated potato salad. Her German Potato Salad took me a while to get used to, but I DID learn to love her GPS. Now, after all my years on "Allrecipes" is the GPS My ex-Mother-in-law made. I am going to make this & take it to her house & say "Thank you" for all the patients she used with my stupid arse!! She really was good to me, in spite of my nasty attitude. Thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie4222

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
So here's the deal: Mrs. Montana Elk Guy says this is THE best thing I've ever made. Enough said. I followed the recipe exactly, with one minor modification: I browned and crisped the hash browned potatoes (shredded 'em myself, using non-peeled, Yukon Gold spuds) first, and placed them in the bottom of my baking dish. All other ingredients then went on top of the hash browned potato base. My two sons INHALED this, as well. In our household, this will become a recipe used for "special" breakfasts - you know, Christmas morning, Easter Sunday, etc. Many thanks for a true 5-star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Chicken Vegetable "Flu-Buster" Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
We just had this for lunch, and it was phenomenal! I actually forgot about the eggs, but it was really good just the same. I will certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xhenifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanna City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Laura's Lemon Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Meh... OK... Nothing special. Fixed exactly as directed; could've roasted my spuds better than using this recipe. I'd give it 4 stars; Mrs. Elk Guy and my son gave it 3. I'm giving the benefit of the doubt... I'd make additions - carrots, onions, and possibly a turnip - and leave some things out... mainly oil and fat. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't anything that gave me the "WOW" factor. I will make this again... with significant modifications. Thanks for a decent base recipe to work from, though. If there's one thing I've learned from spending many, many hours on this site, personal tastes, et cetera, are a definite factor. I've seen 5-star recipes (in my opinion) rated with one star, and seen different recipes - that didn't work for me at all - that had many 5-star ratings. I guess you never really know until you try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This is a tried and true method for perfectly cooked hard-boiled eggs... and the only method I've used for years. (I used to struggle mightily to hard-cook a decent egg.) For those who are complaining about the yolks being undercooked, perhaps you are starting your 17-minute timing a bit prematurely. One should wait until the eggs themselves start to "dance" on the bottom of the pan; this is the exact time to turn off the heat, cover, and set your timer for exactly 17 minutes. Do not remove the saucepan from the burner; I believe the residual heat to be an essential part of completing the process correctly. Oh, and following these directions explicitly has always produced eggs that are easy to peel... but only after complete cooling, and I never use fresh eggs... only those that have been in the fridge for at least a week. (After cooling according to the directions posted in Chef John's recipe, I usually cool them in the fridge for at least an additional hour before peeling.) I hope these suggestions are helpful to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Diane's Colcannon

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Regarding the cabbage versus kale debate: why not both? Regarding the amount of bacon: why not more? I made this for the first time this year for St. Patrick's Day, and after reading the many comments, I decided to use both cabbage and kale. I also decided to use more bacon than the recipe called for, because... well, you know... it's bacon! It was delicious, and the whole family really loved it. I have made it once since then, and plan on doing so many times in the future. It was a wonderful complement to my own famous Guinness slow-cooked corned beef. This will become a staple recipe in our household to replace traditional mashed spuds. It'll give me a chance to show off my Irish heritage in future meals, even when it's not St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I have made this salmon recipe - exactly as written here - for family (both immediate and extended) and for friends... dozens of times over the past several years. I will never... I repeat NEVER... make salmon with any other recipe other than this one. So simple, yet so delicious. My two sons ask me to make it for them all the time; I would, except buying quality salmon isn't inexpensive. I have found that our local Costco has some of the freshest salmon available here in the desert southwest... plus, I like that their salmon comes skinless. (Just a matter of taste, but I'm not a big fan of skin on fish of any kind.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I've made these many times; it's simply the best grilled shrimp dish I've ever had, including those at high-end restaurants. As Barbara43 said, the COARSE salt (1 tbsp) is not a typographical error, but to use that much FINE salt might ruin the dish. Both the garlic and cayenne pepper amounts may be increased, according to your particular tastes... I do; they just make the shrimp "yummier", in my opinion. I always grill these in a seafood basket for for both ease and more product consistency. As others have said, do not overlook your shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I love these for when I'm looking for something simple and mild. I love spicy but the kids don't. Add 1 cup salsa, pepper jack cheese, or spicy green chilies instead of the mild. We all love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made this recipe first exactly as written on a busy weeknight, and it was good. We all liked it, and the left overs were all eaten. I did use a few less noodles because we like it saucy. The second time I made I sautéed green peppers, celery, onions, and mushrooms in the beef, added some garlic and Italian seasoning to the meat and veggie mixture, then deglazed the pan with 1/2 cup of red wine. I then added the jar of spaghetti sauce. I would only do this for company or on weekend when I have more time, but it was EXCELLENT! It turned it from good, to amazing. I was trying to use up the veggies so they wouldn't go bad, and it made a world of difference. My kids said it was the best spaghetti they'd ever had. They are 4 and 6 year old boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Napa Cabbage Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I make this all the time but add carrots and broccoli. I usually make it for lunches for the entire week by having 2 zip locks, and a bottle for the dressing. Put all "crunchy" items in a bad, ramen, almonds, sesame seeds. Then put all veggies in a separate bag that way nothing looses it's crunch. Bring the dressing along and toss before eating! If I add chicken I can easily get a weeks worth of healthy salads out of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fajita Seasoning

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I made this exactly as is and have some stored so it's very handy! I also do a lot of freezer cooking so I cut up my chicken and steak strips, put in 2 heaping TBSP of seasoning, juice of 1 lime, and 1/8 cup corn oil and froze it in its own marinade. The results are wonderful and can thaw in the fridge if you take it out the night before, no need to add any kind of oil to sauté the onions and peppers in because there is enough left over from doing the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dave's Georgia Black Eyed Peas

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Made for a New Year's Day dinner party. 1/2 the recipe. I didn't use the water the beans had soaked in, I rinsed the beans after soaking them over night, put in crockpot with 2 cups of chicken stock and 1cup of water. I did not use bacon, cooked 1 cut up onion in butter and olive oil, added 2cups cut up ham and pepper then put in crockpot. Cooked on high for 1 hour then low for 6 hours. Perfect. No one had ever had black eyed peas but they all loved it and there was none left. Thanks for this easy wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Ham Balls

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I made these exactly as directed. Ok but if I make them again I will add butter to the batter and some additional spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States