Billings, Montana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Norwegian Potato Klub

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
This recipe is so close to the one my Mother-in-laws Sister made. Her name was Dagmar. (Spelling maybe wrong, but you get the idea) Norwegian!!!! She too used the raw and cooked potatoes. She put side pork in the center. She boiled them in salt water. While waiting for those to cook, she fried up bacon, crumbled it up and then added some canned milk. I didn't think that I even wanted to try them. My Husband sliced his up in thin slices, poured the bacon and canned milk over the slices and then sprinkled sugar over the top of that! I was shocked to say the least. I did try it with the bacon/canned milk. It was wonderful. My Husband said try the sugar, and I'm like "no way!" I did try the bacon/canned milk. I have no say that it was the best meal that I have ever eaten. I still won't use the sugar, but I also don't like brown sugar, pineapple and cloves on ham! Yes we had left overs and we fried them in butter and those were super. I have looked all over trying to find this recipe. Thank you so much for posting it. I'm sure my Hubby will thank you too. I am from Danish descent and have lots of experience with raw potatoes. I'm going to make this recipe both ways and let you know they fare in my Family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Norman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

Richard's Breakfast Scramble

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Yep, it's a good'un. The only changes made were the addition of a red bell pepper, some sliced fresh mushrooms, and a generous shake, shake, shake of cayenne pepper. Loved by Mrs. Elk Guy and our two sons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spareribs and Kraut

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I LOVE country ribs and sauerkraut!!! I always come to this site to double check, to seeif what I'm thinking of making is here. I have made this on my own without a recipe. I thought I'd just check to see if maybe there were some other ideas. I always brown my ribs in a frying pan 1st. Don't need to add oil. The ribs have MORE than enough grease to cook with. That grease gets tossed out. I season with salt (not much, as the sauerkraut has plenty) pepper, granulated garlic and Johnnys Seasoning. I then place the ribs in my crock pot, with the sauerkraut. Put the lid on, place the crock pot on high, and go about my way. About an hour before we eat, I make mashed potatoes. MY personal little trick with my mashed potatoes is, instead of using milk with a little bit of butter with pepper, is to use a little bit of canned milk. To my family and myself, it makes the mashed potatoes not quite so thin. Then we can make a little well in the center of the potatoes and put sauerkraut and juice over the top. This is my little kingdom of heaven. Thank you for putting this recipe up!!! It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Norman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Made exactly as written. One word... Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Absolutely outstanding! Made exactly as directed... except... had no feta cheese, so I sprinkled shredded cheddar on top, and then thought, "What the heck, I'll put some fresh mozzarella rounds on top of the cheddar and see what happens!" OH, MY! Thanks CJ, for yet another great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lance's French Onion Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Right on! I made this a few days ago... I omitted the sugar - and I added two beef bullion cubes to the beef broth for a ramped-up beef flavor. I also used a shredded blend of Swiss and Gruyere found at T.J.'s, which was fabulous. I've made several different recipes for French Onion Soup over the years - including some much more complicated & involved than this one - and this one is as good as it gets. I will use this recipe again, with my slight modifications. Thanks, Lance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Twice-Baked Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I've made these twice-baked spuds many times... both as written, and by tweaking the recipe to accommodate my family's individual tastes... real bacon really jazzes 'em up! My buddy and his wife will be joining us for Christmas dinner this year, and this recipe has been requested as a side dish for what I anticipate will be a spectacular dinner... (I'm also serving Chef John's Crispy Honey-Baked Ham, found on his blog at food wishes.com). Simply put, Chef John has never once let me down, and I remain a HUGE fan of his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Dutch Babies

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
So easy, and so scrumptious! Made exactly as written with the exception of the lemon juice...(I used the last of the lemons for some yummy cocktails last night!). I devoured my portion with Montana huckleberry syrup; my bride and my son had theirs with good old maple syrup. Delightful... I'll make it many times hence. Chef John, you've done it yet again! A tip of my camo hat to you! (My 17-year-old just came into the room and said five words: "Dad, Dutch babies are amazing." Enough said.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jamie's Minestrone

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I've made this recipe as is and changed out veggies depending on what I had on hand. My favorite addition so far is 1/2 tsp of crushed red pepper. It freezes so well that I love that it makes such a huge batch!!! It's amazing, you won't regret making this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Sarah's Applesauce

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I found this a couple years ago and we have loved it every time! My kids can barely wait for it to cool down enough to eat it! I always triple the recipe and put it in the crockpot on high for 3-4 hours. Perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Ham and Split Pea Soup Recipe - A Great Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
As always chef johns recipe is the best. I've made mine similar to this for years, but I loved the addition of the garlic, and I add shredded carrot. It's a winner everytime, since I eat this soup way more often then I have ham bones left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Taco Stuffed Shells

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
A huge hut with my kids and visiting grandparents! Only change was to put a can of enchilada sauce on the bottom of the pan and stirred in the 8oz of salsa into the meat mixture instead of the taco seasoning (I didn't realize I was out). But the mix up was so good that I'm leaving it like that!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Chicken and Stuffing Skillet

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I cube the chicken so I don't have to cut it up for small kids later. I add garlic and onion, then too with Frenches Fried Onions and there is always empty plates! This is a favorite of the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Easy Cream of Chicken Rice Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I used 1 cup heavy cream and a little more seasoning, it was wonderful! The kids and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

White Chicken Enchilada Slow-Cooker Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I halved it, added dried onion, garlic, and cumin. I also used fat free soup, and extra sharp cheese. I put it in th oven for 35-40 min because of time. It was great and kids loved it. It's just 3 of us, so I have the perfect amount left for 2 lunches for me this week. Next time I'll try the crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Chef John's French Toast

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Outstanding, like all of Chef John's recipes! Just one question, C. J.; where's the pinch of cayenne? ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
The best roast chicken I've ever made. Sometimes simplicity is a beautiful thing. Thank you, Chef John, one more time; your recipes are seemingly always spot-on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I've made it several times, only things I've ever changed was to add some green onions and garlic. But it's amazing with to without those add-ins! Try this, you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Drunken Mussels

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Simply superb! I decreased the amount of white wine (1.5 cups) and added a large splash of heavy cream (about 1 Tbsp). Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly as written. As someone who really loves mussels and who has made them many times in a variety of ways... I can say that this is my new favorite recipe for them. I made 'em especially for my elderly father, who really enjoyed dipping his crusty bread into the amazing sauce. Many thanks to Chef John for yet another splendid recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Bacon Dressing

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
My family loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scpuerner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Hingham, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States