Boise - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Spinach Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Wish I'd read some of the suggestions before making for a potluck. Too much onion! I did scoop out about a half a cup when I saw how much I was adding, but it still wasn't enough. Also, 4 cloves of fresh garlic was too much, regardless of how big of a garlic fan you are. Next time I will probably cut down on everything except the pasta and spinach. But ingredient-wise, it was a great recipe! Just need to do some adjusting for next time. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Tried this over the weekend for a party we had. It was a HUGE hit! The guests loved it, even my kids loved it, including the five year old! I think next time I will exchange the chicken for bacon, and maybe add a little liquid smoke for a little more depth. I baked it rather than used the crockpot, since I had other things going at the same time. The only issue I really had with it was the cream cheese kind of "curdled" so the dip had lil bits of it rather than everything mixing smoothly. I used and electric mixer so I am not sure what happened. Update: Made it again, with bacon. Still super yummy, although a little salty. Still a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Wonderful and filling. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding spinach and baby lima beans. I also gave a guick rince over the cooked sausage to drain some of the fat and salt. This recipes great, it'll be added to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA HUME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I expected this to be bland but it was pretty good. I added a dash of Worcestershire and some garlic to give it some zip and it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSCOMPTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yelm, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
It was AWESOME! I was a little skeptical about the lemon glaze, and it was certainly interesting. But not in a bad way. This is definitely going into our keeper file. With or without the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Blossoms II

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Followed the recipe and used dark chocolate kisses...excellent! They do spread, so don't put them too close together. I refrigerated the dough between batches and had to turn my oven down after a couple batches to 365 degrees because they were getting too crispy. I even used some Kraft Caramel Bits in the middle when I ran out of kisses---wonderful! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAYNIE13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cerritos, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DSCOMPTON

Toffee II

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Great recipe. I was confused with the temperature as 310f is only 154c. I checked other recipes and cooked it to 300f and it turned out perfect. Don't scrimp on ingredients-use the good stuff! I used Hershey bars because I had them and topped with chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSCOMPTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yelm, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I have now cooked two prime ribs this way. They were different weights, but both came out absolutely perfect. I have an electric range that has a self cleaning feature, so, I cook the meat 5 min. per lb. @ 500F.Then, I turn off the oven, but pull the locking lever on the door (Normally used for self cleaning) and let it sit for 2 hrs. No heat loss, works perfect! By the way, why does the cooking time total 2hrs. and 20 mins. on your example, but you show 6 hrs. and 30 mins. on your total cooking time at the end? It says no need for resting time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danatboise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Oaty Cereal Bars

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
We added 2Tbsp.of cocoa powder to the sugar to give it a reward like flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dry Rub for Ribs

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
If you used smoked paprika instead of regular, and halved the salt, this is a 5 star rub. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ourlilzoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Strawberry Pound Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
So my daughter and I made this cake. It was awesome, except WAY too sweet. We doubled the amount of strawberries, because we're rebels that way, but next time we plan on cutting the sugar in half. Aside from the overpowering sweetness, it was moist, dense, and oh so good. With a few adjustments it will definitely be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Really, Really Easy Chocolate Raspberry Mousse

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I needed a gluten-free dessert for my Bible study group. They loved it so much they were scraping every last bit out of the glasses and have asked me to bring it again. Easy recipe, turned out great. I did make one change though. I used fresh raspberries instead of frozen and only had about 6 oz at that. It seemed like enough. I used Lindt Excellence 70% cocoa smooth dark chocolate bar for the chocolate. I served it in wine glasses and it was a really nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I made these for Thanksgiving dinner and they were a big hit. Nice flavor and texture. Will definitely make these again. I didn't make them by hand; I made the dough in my Bosch mixer and also used instant yeast, so they had to raise only once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dreamy Nighttime Drink

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made this for my ten-year-old daughter. She found the recipe and wanted to try it.. She has a cinnamon allergy, so we omitted it and added a pinch of nutmeg instead. Oh, and we doubled the honey. We both thought it was wonderful and soothing! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn and Egg Flower Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Fast, easy, yummy and healthy! What more could I ask for! I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSCOMPTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yelm, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I did a 1/3-size batch (with four eggs), and I changed it a wee bit: I mixed a couple splashes of milk in with the eggs along with salt, pepper, and some green onion. I used about 2/3 of a pound of diced-and-cooked bacon, an extra slice of bread, and a bit more cheese. I cooked it in a rectangular 2-quart baking dish. It held together really nicely and the boyfriend was able to munch it on the way to work with no problems. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramel Apple Cranberry Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Made this for our church Thanksgiving pie social. It was not a hit. Even though it was labeled Caramel Cranberry Apple Pie, the cranberries looked like raisins, which does not look appetizing in an apple pie. (All the pies were cut up and served on plates). Also, because I sprinkled the cinnamon and sugar on the top crust as the directions say, the cinnamon made the pie look burnt or dirty. I think overall the flavor of the pie was fine, it was more aesthetic problems, and I made a pretty pie. I didn't make the lattice top, instead I cut out about 30-40 small maple leafs out of the dough and laid them on top in a pattern, leaving room for the filling to bubble up. I got lots of compliments on that. So, if you are going to make this pie, my biggest recommendation would be to add the extra cinnamon to the apples, not to the top crust. I would still sprinkle the sugar on the top, which is what I do to all of my covered fruit pies. I think the cinnamon on the top was the biggest issue, with the cranberries looking like raisins being the 2nd.. I personally think a regular apple pie is still better than a caramel cranberry apple ; I will be sticking to my go-to apple pie recipe from "The Joy Of Cooking."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Potpie

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Can't go wrong with this one. I left out the corn as it looked like it was going to be too much filling and thought I could eliminate that starch. Worked perfect! Served with thinly sliced danjou pears as a finger food side...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idagal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Creamy Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Oh, my! This is SO good! Love the light creamy flavor. I followed a few other reviewers suggestions: I made sure my rice was cooked to tender before I added it to the milk/sugar mixture. For some reason, my rice took about 25 minutes to cook. I must have had the temp down too low. And, thank you to Shaz for the advice of adding a little rice mixture at a time to the egg and milk before adding it to the pot so it wouldn't come out as “egg-drop” rice. I did make 3 slight changes. First, I used Lactose-free 1% milk because of my dairy issues. It came out nice and creamy still. I used just a little less than the 1/3 cup of sugar just to cut back a little. I think it would be fine with the full 1/3 cup of sugar, but I personally don't like things very sweet. And, I didn't put the raisins in it because I am not overly fond of raisins. I will definitely make this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Best Clam Chowder

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
AMAZING!! However, I would use bottled clam juice instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housgrll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States