Boise - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Paulwall

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Goes great with cheesecake and/or vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulwall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
My family and I love this for its simplicity and it's delicious. We make it once or twice a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulwall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I could probably have used another half jar of spaghetti sauce. But we all loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslee Haylett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheeseburger Soup I

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Great tasting fall/winter soup, but I'd call it Cheeseburger-potato soup! I also used sharp cheddar and fresh parsley, chopped, along with half 'n half for more richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Hume Turnbull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato and Cheese Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I use sage sausage and omit the basil and chili powder. So amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hamburger Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I give this 5 stars but I made a lot of changes. haha. First, I sauteed a large pkg of mushrooms and several leeks in olive oil. Then I added a tsp of garlic powder to the ground beef. Then I also used about a half cup of feta and a quarter cup of shredded parmesan. Also used my homemade cream of mushroom soup. Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housgrll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Halibut Supreme

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Quick and easy - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Potato Pancakes

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
My daughter makes potato pancakes every Sunday for me, and I had her try them this way last time. She followed the recipe almost exactly, using a splash of milk rather than a half cup, real bacon, and mxing the butter into the cakes instead of with the oil. They were amazing! Crispy, cheesy, full of flavor! Wonderful recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I dropped the "F" bomb followed by the letter "A" when I tasted these(way by myself); SO GOOD! But SWEET. I mean, really SWEET. I'll use something like SPLENDA as half of the sugar next time. I did use about 1/4 cup brown sugar instead all white and a drop of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Hume Turnbull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Tenderloin with Apples

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I took the advice of some others and doubled the sauce, as well as used half balsamic vinegar along with the apple cider vinegar. I did need to use a bit more cornstarch as the sauce was on the thin side. Also, I used Chardonnay instead of Riesling simply because that was what I had and was opened. I was able to shave 5 mins. off the pork cooking time by simply putting a lid over the skillet. The most tender pork hubs and I have ever tasted. You can easily cut it with a fork. What a perfect autumn recipe, and definitely company worthy! Next time I think I will try adding some thinly sliced onions along with the apples and letting it all simmer together. P.S. Responding to another recent reviewer.... The 2 T. water is mixed with the cornstarch and added at the end. I found that I needed to use a bit more cornstarch-to-water ratio to get it to thicken up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Karamales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Stroganoff

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Made a few adjustments, but a great base. I used chicken instead of beef, added green onions instead, some Riesling and more paprika and chopped Portobello mushrooms. And it turned out excellent for me, thanks for sharing your recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Snack Wraps

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I like the concept, it's a good idea for a light lunch/snack. But...they are bland! It's best to add a bit of seasoning to the cream cheese to give more flavour. Or use ranch or different types of mustard as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
My 15 year old made this, her fist attempt at anything other than the box stuff and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Refreshing Cucumber Watermelon Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I made this for a family get together and substituted cilantro for the mint as that is what i had on hand. I have a cousin who hates watermelon and he thought it was a tomato salad so grabbed a big scoop if it. He was so surprised...he went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Price, Utah, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Imagine my dismay when I showed up to a potluck with this dish and all of the other pasta salads were Italian dressing based. I'm pleased to say: in the battle of the pasta salads, mine was the only bowl that was completely empty at the end of the day! The fresh veggies make this an excellent and refreshing summer salad. I also added some fresh basil, some chunks of mozzarella cheese, and a little salt and pepper. Taste-wise, this is a 4-star dish, the quick & easy factor makes it a 5. Thanks for a great recipe! A follow-up caution: Be sure to check the sodium content of your dressing before adding extra salt. I used a different Italian dressing the second time I made this dish and added salt, like I had done before. It turned out too salty because my dressing had way more sodium than the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Lewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dad's Pan-Fried Green Beans

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I left out the balsamic and I used vegetable oil instead of sesame. So tasty! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baron's Blackberry Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
My children got about 4 cups of raspberries from a neighbor for helping in her yard, so I suggested making a cobbler. My daughter (14 years old) used this recipe and it came out AMAZING! It was my girl's first cobbler, and it was better than mine! Just don't tell her I said that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thousand Island Dressing II

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Good and quick! I only wanted a bit for making corned beef sammiches later, and the boyfriend isn't a fan of anything with mayo in it.. I didn't measure, but I scaled it (more-or-less) proportionately, and the flavour is very nice. It'll be my go-to when I need Thousand Island! Thanks for sharing, Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Kids at a 4th of July reunion devoured these. Very good brownies. Added chocolate chips and were irresistible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Snickerdoodles III

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
These turned out very good. I used 3 cups flour, though. Think it made them a little less likely to fall in the middle and turn out flat. Very good cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States