Boise - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Homemade Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
So I made a few tweaks to this, after reading many of the reviews. Changes I made: I added a dash of salt, a teaspoon of garlic powder, 1 1/2 teaspoons onion powder instead of onions, 2 or so teaspoons dijon mustard. I used a whole can of evaporated milk (1 1/2 cups), half cup sour cream, one cup milk. Added half cup ish of swiss cheese as well. Used 2 cups noodles so just over 8oz. Instead of bread crumbs (can't stand them on pasta) I baked some hickory bacon at 425 for 23 minutes, and broke it into pieces before baking the whole thing. It was PHENOMENAL! The only complaint was from the 14 year old who thought we should cut the onion and dijon a smidge next time. I will be making this again. Thanks for the base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Royal Raspberry Cheesecake

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I have made this a few times, and it comes out great, if a little heavy. I think that is my error though. I didn't use raspberries as I do not like them, usually I just left it plain. I did a sauce from blackberry jam though and it was alright. The cheesecake was the important part though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Great recipe. The turkey was moist and juicy! The house smelled delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSCOMPTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yelm, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DSCOMPTON

Sourdough Scones

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Made these for brunch this am. This recipe is a keeper! I left of the apple pie spice and did half chocolate chips and half blueberry lemon- both were fabulous. I forgot to sprinkle them with sugar, so I made a glaze and drizzled it over the top. Gave them just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSCOMPTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yelm, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Toast Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Made it just like it is written. Magically delicious! I'll make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSCOMPTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yelm, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is how I do turkey! All but the salt: salt leaches moisture. Also, Pampered Chef's Italian seasonings work great also. Some of the best Thanksgiving turkeys were when I bought a Butterball. They also have a great site for calculating roasting times, etc. THIS RECIPE WORKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Hume Turnbull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Chicken Barley Risotto

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Very creamy and mild. I used arborrio rice instead to stay gluten free and it turned out great! I also used a 3 cheese blend. Everyone loved it! Would be good served with asparagus on the side. This only served 4, double for a bigger portion or leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Chicken Barley Risotto

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Very creamy and mild. I used arborrio rice instead to stay gluten free and it turned out great! I also used a 3 cheese blend. Everyone loved it! Would be good served with asparagus on the side. This only served 4, double for a bigger portion or leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Chicken Bouilloun - Gluten Free, Vegan

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Incredibly flavorful and I love that it is all healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I have made this a few times, and the kids love it. I have tweaked it a little with which veggies we use, but the rest done as written. Love the peppery flavor (we use fresh ground) in the gravy, and with the right combination of veggies we are all happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paulwall

New York-Style Cheesecake

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Best cheesecake I've ever had. Even my mother-in-law loved it. She wouldn't stop talking about it the whole time she was visiting. I made it along with Chef John's strawberry sauce. You can't go wrong with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulwall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Photo by Paulwall

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
These are incredible. I've made them three times, making a larger batch each time. We eat them as is, or with bleu cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulwall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Photo by Paulwall

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Goes great with cheesecake and/or vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulwall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
My family and I love this for its simplicity and it's delicious. We make it once or twice a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulwall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I could probably have used another half jar of spaghetti sauce. But we all loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslee Haylett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheeseburger Soup I

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Great tasting fall/winter soup, but I'd call it Cheeseburger-potato soup! I also used sharp cheddar and fresh parsley, chopped, along with half 'n half for more richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Hume Turnbull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato and Cheese Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I use sage sausage and omit the basil and chili powder. So amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hamburger Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I give this 5 stars but I made a lot of changes. haha. First, I sauteed a large pkg of mushrooms and several leeks in olive oil. Then I added a tsp of garlic powder to the ground beef. Then I also used about a half cup of feta and a quarter cup of shredded parmesan. Also used my homemade cream of mushroom soup. Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housgrll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Halibut Supreme

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Quick and easy - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Potato Pancakes

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
My daughter makes potato pancakes every Sunday for me, and I had her try them this way last time. She followed the recipe almost exactly, using a splash of milk rather than a half cup, real bacon, and mxing the butter into the cakes instead of with the oil. They were amazing! Crispy, cheesy, full of flavor! Wonderful recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States