Boise - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Thousand Island Dressing II

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Good and quick! I only wanted a bit for making corned beef sammiches later, and the boyfriend isn't a fan of anything with mayo in it.. I didn't measure, but I scaled it (more-or-less) proportionately, and the flavour is very nice. It'll be my go-to when I need Thousand Island! Thanks for sharing, Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Kids at a 4th of July reunion devoured these. Very good brownies. Added chocolate chips and were irresistible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Snickerdoodles III

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
These turned out very good. I used 3 cups flour, though. Think it made them a little less likely to fall in the middle and turn out flat. Very good cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
My husband loves Snickerdoodles, Seems that kids really like them, too, as they are simple and just plain good. I used all butter, though, and 3 cups flour. I always like to use butter in recipes if possible..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scott Hibb's Amazing Whisky Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
These were delicious and easy to prepare. They were tender, and just great! I broiled mine in oven and found that you could put sauce on ribs about 5 min. before they were done, and it wouldn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
We don't often make cookies at all. Or any kind of sweet. But I really wanted cookies... these turned out amazing. Mykids were able to help make them, which is always good. The dough was a little wet looking so we added about another quarter cup flour and a bit more cocao powder. Used Andes mint pieces instead of chocolate chips. They are chewy, soft, and full of flavor. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Szechuan Beef

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I read through the reviews and noticed most people left negative ones, which is usually when I look for the next recipe. For some reason I tried this one anyway, following a little bit of the advice given. I added a little extra red peppers,soy, garlic powder rather than cloves (all out), added cayenne and some Chinese five spice powder. Stir fried the beef in sesame oil, then aaded one small onion and the broccoli and green bell pepper. Turned out amazing. Kind of mellow flavor when you first take a bite, but by the time you swallow you can taste the spice and the subtle heat. The veggies were delicious, and my kids asked that I add this to rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I've made this a few times. The family loves it, with the exception of my daughter not liking shrimp (She picks it out). Only thing I did differently was use different veggies once or twice according to our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Red Pepper Spread

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
So after reading the one review here I added about 4-5 oz of cream cheese for thickness, and since I was out of garlic gloves I used granulated. But the reviews I got for the dip were raving. I used a mix of red and orange mini bell peppers and over roasted them, then blended it all together. Definitely will make again, most likely with a few tweaks here and there since I am incapable of following a recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Cheesecakes

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Made these last minute (nine pm!) on Father's day. Aside from deflating a bit as they cooled, they were great. Creamy and flavorful. I added some vanilla and cinnamon to the batter and crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Romaine Rice Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
My husband found this and made it with leftover jasmine rice we had. Followed the recipe exactly but added red onion. I went back for seconds it was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Paananen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon-and-Egg Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I have been making these for a while now. I lov that they are so versatile. Differences though: I put the bacon on a baker's rack on a cookie sheet and bake them at 400 for about ten minutes. Once cooled and blotted I line the muffin tins. We have topped the eggs with tomato, feta, cheddar, onion, pepperoncini, hashed browns, sausage... anything you can think of! The whole family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dad's Cheesy Bacon Wrapped Meat Loaf

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Seems like a good spin on what I usually do. I don't do the ketchup mix but I always top it with cheese. I will try your bacon idea ith my own original recipe. I'll update you when I do
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Make-Ahead PHILLY Spinach Phyllo Roll-Ups

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
It has an amazing flavor, but doesn't hold together well. The phylly dough can't stand up to the filling so the whole thing kind of goes flat. Everyone loves it though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy and Thick Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Yummy! Added 3 Serrano peppers, garnish with homemade guacamole, sour cream, sharp cheddar, tomato, cilantro, and lime. Big hit with the roomie and boyfriend, saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

B.L.A.T. Wraps

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
We have BLTs at least once a month, and we all like it different. I don't like lettuce but I add cheese. My son has BLT with cheese, my daughter adds cheese and avocado, and my fiance goes without cheese but adds avocado. I can't believe I never thought to do it as a wrap instead of a sandwich. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley

B's Cordon Bleu Bundles

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Good base recipe but needs extra love. Seasoning added, and finished with a bernaise sauce modified with whole grain dijon mustard and white wine. Used ham and swiss, turned out great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

Cherry Glazed Ham

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Let me start by saying I CANNOT STAND the traditional mustard-brown sugar glaze, not to mention I am mildly allergic to pineapple. The first time I wanted to make this I couldn't find cherry preserves at the store. But I happened to pick up some cherry-raspberry-rhubarb preserves and decided to give it a shot. I nixed the corn syrup, as we are converting to a paleo type diet. Used apple cider vinegar since that is what we had. Also was out of nutmeg and ground cloves, so used a little ginger (just under 1/4 tsp). A lil extra cinnamon and we were good. It came out AMAZING! Tangy sweet, could definitely taste the cherry, with an aftertaste of cinnamon and spice. Will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I didn't add sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reuben Sandwich I

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This is a wonderful sandwich! I had a craving for a Reuben, and bought the pastrami, so I guess it's a "Rachel". I didn't see marbled rye at our local market, so I bought a wonderful Idaho sour dough (yes, Apicella makes a really good sourdough bread). REALLY GOOD GOOD GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA HUME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States