Boise - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
My 15 year old made this, her fist attempt at anything other than the box stuff and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Refreshing Cucumber Watermelon Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I made this for a family get together and substituted cilantro for the mint as that is what i had on hand. I have a cousin who hates watermelon and he thought it was a tomato salad so grabbed a big scoop if it. He was so surprised...he went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Price, Utah, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Imagine my dismay when I showed up to a potluck with this dish and all of the other pasta salads were Italian dressing based. I'm pleased to say: in the battle of the pasta salads, mine was the only bowl that was completely empty at the end of the day! The fresh veggies make this an excellent and refreshing summer salad. I also added some fresh basil, some chunks of mozzarella cheese, and a little salt and pepper. Taste-wise, this is a 4-star dish, the quick & easy factor makes it a 5. Thanks for a great recipe! A follow-up caution: Be sure to check the sodium content of your dressing before adding extra salt. I used a different Italian dressing the second time I made this dish and added salt, like I had done before. It turned out too salty because my dressing had way more sodium than the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Lewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dad's Pan-Fried Green Beans

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I left out the balsamic and I used vegetable oil instead of sesame. So tasty! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baron's Blackberry Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
My children got about 4 cups of raspberries from a neighbor for helping in her yard, so I suggested making a cobbler. My daughter (14 years old) used this recipe and it came out AMAZING! It was my girl's first cobbler, and it was better than mine! Just don't tell her I said that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thousand Island Dressing II

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Good and quick! I only wanted a bit for making corned beef sammiches later, and the boyfriend isn't a fan of anything with mayo in it.. I didn't measure, but I scaled it (more-or-less) proportionately, and the flavour is very nice. It'll be my go-to when I need Thousand Island! Thanks for sharing, Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Kids at a 4th of July reunion devoured these. Very good brownies. Added chocolate chips and were irresistible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Snickerdoodles III

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
These turned out very good. I used 3 cups flour, though. Think it made them a little less likely to fall in the middle and turn out flat. Very good cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
My husband loves Snickerdoodles, Seems that kids really like them, too, as they are simple and just plain good. I used all butter, though, and 3 cups flour. I always like to use butter in recipes if possible..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scott Hibb's Amazing Whisky Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
These were delicious and easy to prepare. They were tender, and just great! I broiled mine in oven and found that you could put sauce on ribs about 5 min. before they were done, and it wouldn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
We don't often make cookies at all. Or any kind of sweet. But I really wanted cookies... these turned out amazing. Mykids were able to help make them, which is always good. The dough was a little wet looking so we added about another quarter cup flour and a bit more cocao powder. Used Andes mint pieces instead of chocolate chips. They are chewy, soft, and full of flavor. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Szechuan Beef

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I read through the reviews and noticed most people left negative ones, which is usually when I look for the next recipe. For some reason I tried this one anyway, following a little bit of the advice given. I added a little extra red peppers,soy, garlic powder rather than cloves (all out), added cayenne and some Chinese five spice powder. Stir fried the beef in sesame oil, then aaded one small onion and the broccoli and green bell pepper. Turned out amazing. Kind of mellow flavor when you first take a bite, but by the time you swallow you can taste the spice and the subtle heat. The veggies were delicious, and my kids asked that I add this to rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I've made this a few times. The family loves it, with the exception of my daughter not liking shrimp (She picks it out). Only thing I did differently was use different veggies once or twice according to our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Red Pepper Spread

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
So after reading the one review here I added about 4-5 oz of cream cheese for thickness, and since I was out of garlic gloves I used granulated. But the reviews I got for the dip were raving. I used a mix of red and orange mini bell peppers and over roasted them, then blended it all together. Definitely will make again, most likely with a few tweaks here and there since I am incapable of following a recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Cheesecakes

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Made these last minute (nine pm!) on Father's day. Aside from deflating a bit as they cooled, they were great. Creamy and flavorful. I added some vanilla and cinnamon to the batter and crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Romaine Rice Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
My husband found this and made it with leftover jasmine rice we had. Followed the recipe exactly but added red onion. I went back for seconds it was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Paananen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon-and-Egg Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I have been making these for a while now. I lov that they are so versatile. Differences though: I put the bacon on a baker's rack on a cookie sheet and bake them at 400 for about ten minutes. Once cooled and blotted I line the muffin tins. We have topped the eggs with tomato, feta, cheddar, onion, pepperoncini, hashed browns, sausage... anything you can think of! The whole family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dad's Cheesy Bacon Wrapped Meat Loaf

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Seems like a good spin on what I usually do. I don't do the ketchup mix but I always top it with cheese. I will try your bacon idea ith my own original recipe. I'll update you when I do
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Make-Ahead PHILLY Spinach Phyllo Roll-Ups

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
It has an amazing flavor, but doesn't hold together well. The phylly dough can't stand up to the filling so the whole thing kind of goes flat. Everyone loves it though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy and Thick Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Yummy! Added 3 Serrano peppers, garnish with homemade guacamole, sour cream, sharp cheddar, tomato, cilantro, and lime. Big hit with the roomie and boyfriend, saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States