Boise - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by DSCOMPTON

Sourdough Scones

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Made these for brunch this am. This recipe is a keeper! I left of the apple pie spice and did half chocolate chips and half blueberry lemon- both were fabulous. I forgot to sprinkle them with sugar, so I made a glaze and drizzled it over the top. Gave them just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSCOMPTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yelm, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Toast Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Made it just like it is written. Magically delicious! I'll make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSCOMPTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yelm, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is how I do turkey! All but the salt: salt leaches moisture. Also, Pampered Chef's Italian seasonings work great also. Some of the best Thanksgiving turkeys were when I bought a Butterball. They also have a great site for calculating roasting times, etc. THIS RECIPE WORKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Hume Turnbull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Chicken Barley Risotto

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Very creamy and mild. I used arborrio rice instead to stay gluten free and it turned out great! I also used a 3 cheese blend. Everyone loved it! Would be good served with asparagus on the side. This only served 4, double for a bigger portion or leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Chicken Barley Risotto

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Very creamy and mild. I used arborrio rice instead to stay gluten free and it turned out great! I also used a 3 cheese blend. Everyone loved it! Would be good served with asparagus on the side. This only served 4, double for a bigger portion or leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Chicken Bouilloun - Gluten Free, Vegan

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Incredibly flavorful and I love that it is all healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I have made this a few times, and the kids love it. I have tweaked it a little with which veggies we use, but the rest done as written. Love the peppery flavor (we use fresh ground) in the gravy, and with the right combination of veggies we are all happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paulwall

New York-Style Cheesecake

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Best cheesecake I've ever had. Even my mother-in-law loved it. She wouldn't stop talking about it the whole time she was visiting. I made it along with Chef John's strawberry sauce. You can't go wrong with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulwall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Photo by Paulwall

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
These are incredible. I've made them three times, making a larger batch each time. We eat them as is, or with bleu cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulwall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Photo by Paulwall

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Goes great with cheesecake and/or vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulwall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
My family and I love this for its simplicity and it's delicious. We make it once or twice a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulwall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I could probably have used another half jar of spaghetti sauce. But we all loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslee Haylett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheeseburger Soup I

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Great tasting fall/winter soup, but I'd call it Cheeseburger-potato soup! I also used sharp cheddar and fresh parsley, chopped, along with half 'n half for more richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Hume Turnbull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato and Cheese Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I use sage sausage and omit the basil and chili powder. So amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hamburger Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I give this 5 stars but I made a lot of changes. haha. First, I sauteed a large pkg of mushrooms and several leeks in olive oil. Then I added a tsp of garlic powder to the ground beef. Then I also used about a half cup of feta and a quarter cup of shredded parmesan. Also used my homemade cream of mushroom soup. Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housgrll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Halibut Supreme

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Quick and easy - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Potato Pancakes

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
My daughter makes potato pancakes every Sunday for me, and I had her try them this way last time. She followed the recipe almost exactly, using a splash of milk rather than a half cup, real bacon, and mxing the butter into the cakes instead of with the oil. They were amazing! Crispy, cheesy, full of flavor! Wonderful recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I dropped the "F" bomb followed by the letter "A" when I tasted these(way by myself); SO GOOD! But SWEET. I mean, really SWEET. I'll use something like SPLENDA as half of the sugar next time. I did use about 1/4 cup brown sugar instead all white and a drop of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Hume Turnbull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Tenderloin with Apples

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I took the advice of some others and doubled the sauce, as well as used half balsamic vinegar along with the apple cider vinegar. I did need to use a bit more cornstarch as the sauce was on the thin side. Also, I used Chardonnay instead of Riesling simply because that was what I had and was opened. I was able to shave 5 mins. off the pork cooking time by simply putting a lid over the skillet. The most tender pork hubs and I have ever tasted. You can easily cut it with a fork. What a perfect autumn recipe, and definitely company worthy! Next time I think I will try adding some thinly sliced onions along with the apples and letting it all simmer together. P.S. Responding to another recent reviewer.... The 2 T. water is mixed with the cornstarch and added at the end. I found that I needed to use a bit more cornstarch-to-water ratio to get it to thicken up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Karamales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Stroganoff

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Made a few adjustments, but a great base. I used chicken instead of beef, added green onions instead, some Riesling and more paprika and chopped Portobello mushrooms. And it turned out excellent for me, thanks for sharing your recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States