Boise - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Red Skinned Potato Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This is a potato salad for everyone! I don't usually like potato salad, but this one is yummy. I've have several friends (also not fond of potato salad) ask for the recipe. I subbed Cajun seasoning for the salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Sauteed Portobellos and Spinach

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I loved it,I also used white wine instead.I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leni

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This turned out amazing!! I followed others suggestions and substituted a can of southwestern diced tomatoes for a can of soup and added 1/2 cup of water. I also used 2 tsp chili powder instead of 2 Tbs. super yummy, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneAzureAngel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tilapia Scampi

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I have not made this twice. The first time I did it, it was wonderful! Loved it! My husband requested it again. I used a Dutch oven to cook it. I used it again this time and changed it up a little bit and it was AMAZING! I cooked the sauce in the dutch oven on the stove. I used some olive oil with the butter and when adding the lemon, I also used a microplane, to add some of the lemon peel which intensified the lemon ever so slightly. I also added dill as well as the parsley. I then seared the fish on both sides in the sauce. I seasoned both sides of the fish in the searing liquid with salt, pepper and some old bay, and basted it with the liquid when I turned it. Then I put it in a 350 degree oven and let it finish. I never touched the fish after the initial sear and it was done a little faster because I seared it first. Thanks for the idea! We will make this regularly. It was like an expensive seafood dish we would pay big bucks for at a restaurant, and SO EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

Spicy Eggplant

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This was a geat recipe. The only change I made I added some ginger with the galic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leni

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Pad Thai

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Pad Thai is so versatile and I only rated this to my taste from my experience of Pad Thai. I do LOVE the lightness of this, but the Pad Thai I have tried is hotter and has more of a peanut sauce taste. To do this you can add peanut butter and sriracha to taste. Maybe that is only because all the Pad Thai I have had has a lot more peanut buttery taste, but both are good. I don't always want the richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I have tried this recipe several times and it is a delicious recipe as is! It is VERY simple as written. The thing I love about this recipe is you can use any type of chicken, cut, ripped, baked boiled, or rotisserie. It all works. You can mix the sour cream with the chicken, which I too prefer, or dollop it on. I do find Jack Cheese is best and melts great in this recipe, but again that is personal preference. I might throw in some Mozzarella next time, but I do love it with white cheeses... pairs really well with the mild taste of Green Enchilada sauce. Top with Green Onion and sliced Black Olives YUM! I like Salsa and Sour Cream on the side for guests so they can add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Wonderful! Definitely take the advice of others and way undercook your pasta. I used very thin spaghetti and cooked it for half the recommended time. Stir-fried some cut up chicken ahead of time and added at the end. Also added some broccoli slaw to the cut up stems since I had some on hand. Hubby gave it two thumbs up! Will absolutely keep it in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Karamales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Korean BBQ Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
It was amazing though I added a bit of thai sweet chilli sauce to it. I made it for hamburgers with grilled mushrooms and it knocked my socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Hanson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Chef John's Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
When my non dessert eating hubby mentioned liking lemon bars, I thought "Score!". I love how easy these were to make, and how the shortbread wasn't dry or overpowering. The lemon filling was silky smooth. I did use orange zest instead of lemon. Next time maybe I'll try lime, for a little extra kick, as we like the citrus tart more than sugar sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Had doubts while mixing it - the dough to apple ratio looked strange, all apple and hardly any batter. But it came out amazing, moist and delish. I did reduce the sugar since I live at 6000'. Will make this again, maybe with a sour apple like Granny Smith.Just noticed that GS apples are called for, I used Galas, which were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Black

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELA CAROL

Husband's Delight

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
My husband likes it. Of course, he loves sour cream and cheese. I added the taco seasoning to meat, used two cups of sour cream, eight oz of cream cheese, and about three - four cups of shredded cheddar on top. Needed more salt and some ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA CAROL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I wasn't crazy about this dish. I followed it exactly - almost. I only used 1 T of chili powder, because I can't have dishes that are very hot. I would try making it again and using taco powder or adding cumin. My husband liked it but wasn't crazy about it, either. It was easy to make and didn't take long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA CAROL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Fantastic! I had smaller 8 ct. flour tortillas and using my scale I determined that the amount of chicken mixture worked out to 5.4 oz per tortilla. Also, used fat free sour cream and "healthy request" cream of chix soup. I felt 6 oz. of olives was way too much. Chopped up 1.5 oz to sprinkle over top. A full 6 oz. would have dominated the entire dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Karamales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

French Onion Soup Gratinee

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This recipe is fabulous. Thanks so much! I have just recently tried French Onion Soup and can't believe it took me over 30 years to try it, so I wanted a good recipe to make at home. My onions took about 45 minutes to cook and caramelize. I followed all directions and measurements except for one. I am allergic to molasses which is in Worcestershire sauce, so instead, I substituted 2 tsp of "Better Than Bouilon" beef soup base in place of the Worcestershire sauce. It worked great as a substitute. I also used an organic Balsamic Vinegar which is a lot purer. No caramel coloring or added nitrites. I am not a wine person so I was a little clueless as far as that goes. I used a Charles Shaw Cabernet Sauvignon. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Chicken Skillet

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Great base recipe! I took the advice of some others and added some chopped bell pepper and onion along with the chicken and garlic (doubled up on the garlic). Also took the recommendation of par-cooking the pasta then adding it just before putting the spinach on top w/the lid. Cooked for a couple of minutes then stirred it all together several times allowing the spinach to cook down. Added some fresh black pepper, a bit of ground sea salt, and some Italian seasoning. Would definitely make again! This recipe is quite adaptable. I'd probably add more herbs like basil and oregano next time, and try it with Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Karamales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Waffles I

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
After reading many of the reviews on this recipe, we decided to give it a go using some of the alterations. We subbed out the oil for yogurt, doubled the sugar and vanilla, added cinnamon and nutmeg. We separated the egg whites and blended them, then added the yolks, milk, yogurt, vanilla and dry ingredients. The result was incredibly thin. It would not cook, but rather burned outside and remained gooey inside. We added another 1/8 cup flour hoping to solve that, and they cooked but tasted pretty not-good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Drunken Noodles

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Definite keeper. Didn't need quite as much bell pepper-- ended up using 1/2 green and 1/2 yellow. Used a can of Rotel tomatoes, and also some bulk sausage fried out first. Drained the grease from the sausage and rinsed the meat in a colander as I usually do. This is an easily adjustable recipe. I didn't use much oil at all, didn't need it. And I finished it off with shaved Parmesan cheese as another reviewer did. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Karamales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Grilled Pheasant Poppers

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
We do this on the Traeger using dove and add a little dab of cream cheese in the middle. I'm sure its just as good with pheasant! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idahosandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fast & Easy Lo Mein

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States