Golden, Colorado - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I made this as written: marinated over night and baked for the whole 5 hrs. Really really good, moist and flavorful. My man said "better than store bought" and it really was. I baked this in my Le Creuset Dutch oven (lid off) and let the chicken rest while I made the gravy (which was really good and spicy) right in the pot. May start doing this every Sunday during the Winter as the left overs were super juicy and easily encorporated into other meals during the week. Thanks for the 5 hr roasting idea. BTW this is NOT sticky...nothing to carmelize so if that's what you're wanting this isn't that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Wow! The only things I changed: added 1/4 tsp. of cream of tartar and let the cookie dough sit overnight. By far the best chocolate chip cookies I have ever made and I've made a few. I don't understand the reviewer who thought these were too floury. They came together and baked up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingersnap

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Our family had rotisserie chicken earlier in the week so I just added the cooked chicken in the skillet and it (still) turned out AWESOME!! This one is DEFINITELY a keeper and I will be making it for the rest of the family. BTW, LOVE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adriane Garrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

Easy Sausage Gravy and Biscuits

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Fabulous! I use sage sausage and double the milk and flour and have enough for 2 days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Meyer Hachlica
Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Diabetic-Friendly Spin on a Caribbean Favorite

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Have you lost your mind?! White rice, cornbread and cobbler in the same meal?? 100+ carbs?! There are a lot of new diabetics and those new to cooking for diabetics still trying to figure it out and will see "diabetic friendly" and take your word for it- this could be a DANGEROUS menu to many - in no way shape or form is this menu "diabetic friendly"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

Spirit Ranch Mexican Rice

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Made for a not so spicy crowd- so cut down the chili powder to half tsp. and cumin to 1 tsp. added a tsp. of salt and used tomato sauce as I was out of tomato paste and baked in a very heavy Dutch oven. Came out fluffy (not saucy) and lovely added a 1/4 cup of pico de gallo when finished and was very pretty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

Simple Mexican Rice

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Made for a not so spicy crowd- so cut down the chili powder to half tsp. and cumin to 1 tsp. added a tsp. of salt and used tomato sauce as I was out of tomato paste and baked in a very heavy Dutch oven. Came out fluffy (not saucy) and lovely added a 1/4 cup of pico de gallo when finished and was very pretty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

Spirit Ranch Tri-Tip Tacos- (Crock pot or Oven method)

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Warm, aromatic Mexican spices fill the house all day and make for delicious tacos! An easy way to feed a hungry crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

Saltine Toffee Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
REDICULOUS! AND SO MUCH FUN! Teen daughter calls this "CRACK-ers" it is sooo addictive! When I saw this I had to try it- I love toffee and am now terrified for my bikini now that I know how delicious and simple this toffee treat is to make! I made 2 batches on (2) 11x15 jelly roll pans allowing for more crackers(left no spaces) but didn't increase the other ingredients so the toffee layer may not have been as thick as if I had used a smaller sheet/fewer crackers- but plenty plenty to coat everything nicely. I made one batch with a good dark chocolate and one with regular ol nestle semi sweet chocolate chips- the dark chocolate was by far my favorite. Wont use the semi sweet again- as it was a bit too "waxy" in the finished product and I didn't love the flavor nearly as much. Think it would be really fab with milk chocolate too. Make sure you put into a HOT oven to keep the sugar cooking to a golden toffee-you don't want the sugar to cool. After cooling thoroughly - I covered both sheet pans and put in the fridge overnight. Just finished breaking/chopping it all up- very easy when cold. If you're making this for gifts I recommend doing this when no one is around or you have nothing left!! (sill pat on sheet made it super easy to lift off AND to collect and store all the broken bits for ice cream later). I just finished putting into gift boxes- I have to get this out of the house ASAP or it will never make it! :-) I'm happy to have found this silly delicious recipe- thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

Morning Glory Muffins I

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Made as written Wow- I don't often think that many recipes are worthy of 5 stars because they generally require so much tweaking but this one EXACTLY as it's written is superb! I finally got around to making these last night for overnight guests to have this morning and these muffins are both beautiful and delicious. The only thing I didn't have was apple butter so used apple sauce and that worked just fine. I usually would have done all the chopping in a food processor but so glad I didn't. Grating the carrots with a box grater resulted in a dryer less pulverized chop which added to the lovely texture- I diced the apple (a mediumish apple about 5 oz) about the same size as the raisins resulting in each muffin having distinguishable apple bites- (chopping too small will cause the apple to disappear) and the apple bites were part of what I liked best. Mixing /coating the apple, carrots and raisins in the flour first helps keep all the goodies from sinking to the bottom of the muffins- don't skip this step. Hand mix only- just until moist- don't over mix and you'll have a muffin that has your family and guests begging for more! Thank you so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
As written this is just so so... pretty bland- definitely not a gingerbread cake- more of a molasses cake. Texture was fine- moist, dark and dense- but NOT enough ginger and spice to be a gingerbread cake. I made it a second time and doubled the spices- left all other ingredients and measurements as written and still the [unsulfured] molasses was the predominant flavor. Not a bad cake. Both times served with vanilla ice cream - it would not have been good on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

Hot 'n' Spicy Buffalo Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I cheated and made with frozen chicken nuggets -but the rest was as written- very very good. I made it for a family get together for all ages and laid out the ingredients in "salad bar" style and let the guest's assemble as desired. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

Yogurt Granola and berry parfait

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
good- all depends on great ingredients- great overnight guest recipe- pretty and they can assemble themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

Eggs Benedict

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I DID IT!!! I am primarily rating this recipe 4 stars for the hollandaise METHOD not for the taste I would only give it a 1-2 for taste--(made as written) Waaay way to much lemon. I have tried and failed catastrophically many times to make a good hollandaise- but this method with these proportions worked perfectly for me. I used a thin stainless steel bowl for the top of my double boiler and found that much easier to whisk/incorporate all in than a flat sided pot or "real" double boiler. I had the heat a bit too high initially and had to use the hot water trick- worked great- so have it standing by as you can't stop whisking to run and get it. I found it cumbersome to add butter from dipping the tablespoon- so just drizzled it in from the glass measuring cup I had microwaved the butter in. This was my pre-Christmas practice run- so glad I have time to adjust for the over powering lemon! The rest of the recipe is easy except for timing and keeping things warm during assembly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA
Photo by LoHo

Breakfast Pies

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
DISCLAIMER- I am doing the very thing I hate when you do ...reviewing a recipe I modified. Sorry. But I wanted to share that if you don't have refrigerator biscuits on hand you can use Bisquick with some success. I rolled the biscuit dough very thin (1/4") and still the finished product was very "biscuity" a bit too much bread and the egg and cheese kind of melted into the biscuit. Next time I might bake the biscuits a bit first to seal it off to keep the filling more separate. I filled the cups with sausage and cheese and egg beaters. I baked in greased large six muffin tin for 18 minutes. Gather the crowd when these come out of the oven they are puffed, golden and beautiful. They were good and worth continuing to experiment with ...I may even try the actual recipe! Thanks CraneJWR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

Chef John's Caramel Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I made this last night and here are a couple of things I learned: 1)It’s pretty delicious. 2)Definitely watch the video first- Chef John gives the reassurance that you cannot really burn this but you can quit too soon. The difference between the point I started to get nervous (hot bubbling molten lava) and 2 minutes more on high heat was a DELICIOUS caramel crunch. IF you wimp out too soon won’t have the mahogany color and deep flavor you want. (per video) 3)Don’t put too much sauce in with the chicken- I added a touch too much and it took a while to get to kind of the dyrish syrup stage and caramelize the chicken. 4)Add all the jalapeño. I only added one (and we like spicy) and for our taste the dish can handle all the heat- as it’s really the sweet, salty and spicy that makes this exceptional. 5) Make extra and freeze it. This should freeze wonderfully- and easy enough to reheat and add the fresh ingredients at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

Zucchini Cornbread Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made this with ingredients as written except with yellow squash- as far as pocess I benefited from many of your suggestions ie I salted and allowed it to drain and incorporated 2/3 of cheese into mix and reserved last bit for the last 30 min of baking. I liked this much more than anticipated- (BF swears he hates squash and ate two helpings)but next time I will make some changes 1) saute onions prior to adding to squash 2)make in rectangle baking dish or muffin tin as some of the best bits were the crunchy areas around the edge. and 3) experiment with some additions like red pepper as it needs a bit of color. Thanks for the unique dish and all the suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

Honey Glazed Ham

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Made this for New Years day with collard greens. Followed someone's suggestion on using oven bag. Only problem with that is, because of the 6 holes that need to be cut into bag, kept me from rolling ham around. Glaze was beyond delicious. My eyes rolled back in pure ecstatic pleasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Mountain Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

Cabbage Roll Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Used V8 juice in the place of tomato sauce. Added a clove of minced garlic. Also used a bag of shredded cabbage as a shortcut. Tasted great, will have again. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Mountain Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

Aunt Bev's Famous Apple Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 47) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States