Englewood, Colorado - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Irish Cream Brownies

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
We have made these twice now and they turned out pretty well. We needed to double the frosting part of the recipe to get enough for the whole pan. We'll make these again. We used the Reduced Fat brownie mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassLeeAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

Tuna-Filled Shells

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I tried to cut a little more calories out of this dish using skim milk and just a spritz of oil in my non-stick to sauté the veggies. I don't know that I would use non-fat milk again. It turned out great last night but I noticed that the leftovers in the fridge this morning had a bit of water resting in the bottom of the container. Separate from the sauce... Anyways, this recipe was good and I know we'll have it again. My husband liked that the tuna wasn't overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassLeeAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

Anniversary Chicken I

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This was wonderful! I sliced russet potatoes lengthwise and placed them under the chicken breasts. Made for a great side dish! I also used cold leftovers the next day to make wraps...added lettuce, tomato, and a bit more ranch. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Roasted Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
My husband requests this time and time again - a definite keeper for us. I use boneless/skinless breasts, cut them in half, flatten, fill with mixture, roll, and secure with toothpick. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Applesauce Oat Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very yummy! I used the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe (from the website) to top off the cake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Yum! I halved the cream cheese and used on top of the Applesauce Oat Cake (another great find on Allrecipes). So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Texas Oven Brisket

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Easily, this is the best brisket I have ever made. I made no changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassLeeAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

Artichoke Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I have been making this for years now...I don't use measurements, just make it according to how many chicken breasts I use. The only change I made was to use real minced garlic rather than the garlic pepper. I like a stronger garlic taste and I add parsley for color. Like another reveiwer, I can't imagine changing this recipe beyond a little personal tweeking since it's 1st rate as it's written. I get rave reviews and get asked for the recipe all the time and I make this at least once a week. I've also used this sauce over boneless pork chops which turn out awesome as well. Hghly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri McCabe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Southwestern Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I like to add some chopped green onions to my salad as well. With the addition, I love this recipe even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassLeeAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

Microwave Mexican Manicotti

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I did this is in the oven instead of the microwave method. We didn't use sour cream and I added a couple of tablespoons of taco seasoning to the meat when cooking it. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassLeeAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Photo by CassLeeAnne

Enchilada Meatballs

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Thanks for the recipe these disappeared fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassLeeAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

Cheddar Flat Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made this for dinner tonight with a Beef Stew. I made a few minor alterations for high altitude because I live in Denver. High altitude changes at the bottom of the post for anyone interested. Not sure what the issue was with the poster having trouble with water/milk temp. I used hot tap water, nuked about 20 seconds and nuked cold from the fridge milk for 45 seconds. Temps were perfect and I used a mixing bowl that I had pre-heated with hot tap water. My kitchen is a little cold today because outside temp is about 5 degrees right now. The only alteration I made not associated with altitude was to make one with the topping as written in the recipe and used the 2nd one for cinnamon and sugar (my family has a big sweet tooth :)). Just melted some butter and spread on top of the 2nd loaf, then sprinkled with 1/3 cup sugar and about a teaspoon or so of Cinnamon. This turned into a great bread to go with the soup and a yummy desert as well. Thanks for sharing! High Altitude changes (I live at about 6,000 feet): Reduced the yeast by 1/8 tsp. Increased flour by 2 TBS and increase water/milk by 1 TBS each. Also to compensate for altitude I increased oven temp by 15 degrees and decreased cooking time by 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I never thought something could be to chocolaty until I tried this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yam Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
My family refuses to eat Yams/Sweet Potatoes ... until now that is! Once again this year for Thanksgiving I bought fresh Yams in hopes of finding a recipe that my family would actually eat. I will never have to search or hope again. This is the recipe I will use going forward. Only change I made was to use fresh Yams. I simply washed the Yams well with cold water and threw them into the oven with the Turkey. No foil, no butter/oil ... just as they are. Pulled them out of the oven after about 45 minutes. Let them cool for about 30 minutes then peeled and mashed. Followed the recipe from this point on omitting the corn flakes and nuts. My husband refuses to eat anything with nuts too but that's another discussion. I made everyone take at least 1 small "no thank you" bite and was amazed when they actually LIKED it and scooped on a regular serving. Thanks for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I hereby dub thee Lazy Cake & Bake cookies, and therefore I LOVE them! Add the 2T veg. oil and 1t vanilla extract, it does ensure moist cookies. I did a choc. fudge cake mix with 1t of mint extract and walnuts - AWESOME. Also did a butter yellow cake mix with Ghirardelli choc. chips mixed in - equally AWESOME! So many variations for time-challenged and kitchen-intimidated persons like myself - I can't wait to try more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyDisdain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken-Fried Steak

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I used cube steak instead of what the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassLeeAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

Mexican Ham and Bean Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I added some Wondra flour to this recipe to thicken the broth a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassLeeAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Photo by CassLeeAnne

Ham and Cheese Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This dish didn't cook very evenly for me. The outside pieces were much better than the ones in the middle, and held up a lot more like what is in the pictures. The flavor was okay, no one had seconds. I did feel the bread could be cut down significantly. My mother in law's favorite part was the top of it. I would have named this recipe breakfast stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassLeeAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Photo by CassLeeAnne

Crescent Bacon-Cheddar Pinwheels

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
If I make these again I would consider adding something to them. The 'ranch' flavor wasn't as strong as I would have liked it to have been even though I used the proper amount. This recipe was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassLeeAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 61-77 (of 77) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States