Englewood, Colorado - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Florentine Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Loved this dish! Made it last night and will have it again tonight - really great comfort food! Thanks so much - Jeanine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annabutton

Marshmallow Fondant

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Very sticky at first but becomes an easy to use fondant. I highly recommend using a durable mixer. It really makes the job easy. Excellent recipe!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annabutton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I just made this ( had a craving for chocolate puddin'!) and it's outstanding! The butter added at the end made it so smooth and creamy! Simple ingredients and so easy to make. I can see making this when we camp - what a treat! Thanks, Kelly - I'll make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bierocks (German Meat Turnovers)

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I make my own dough and use this filling. This is the best! I have to double the recipe because they don't last very long and I like to freeze a few for lunches during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato Bread/Rolls

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Absolutely amazing!!! 5 stars is not enough. This is a 10 star recipe without a doubt. The addition of potatoes makes this recipe. I will never again make breads or rolls without adding mashed potatoes. Potatoes is what makes these rolls moist and tender. I have no idea why potatoes makes such an enormous difference, although I did attempt to find out why. If anyone knows the science behind mixing yeast and potatoes, please reply. I tried for a couple of hours yesterday to find the answer but came up empty. When making these rolls I did follow a couple of tips from previous posters. Mixing the butter, sugar, and cinnamon really does help keep the filling in place when rolling. Also, dental floss for cutting is the best way to cut dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Absolutely amazing!!! 5 stars is not enough. This is a 10 star recipe without a doubt. The addition of potatoes makes this recipe. I will never again make breads or rolls without adding mashed potatoes. Potatoes is what makes these rolls moist and tender. I have no idea why potatoes makes such an enormous difference, although I did attempt to find out why. If anyone knows the science behind mixing yeast and potatoes, please reply. I tried for a couple of hours yesterday to find the answer but came up empty. When making these rolls I did follow a couple of tips from previous posters. Mixing the butter, sugar, and cinnamon really does help keep the filling in place when rolling. Also, dental floss for cutting is the best way to cut dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
So yummy! I did have to flatten the cookies out on the sheet, as essentially they are cake. Makes it easier to evenly glaze later. Apriva (no calorie sweetener) substituted great for white sugar, so I don't feel so guilty about loving these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyDisdain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Upside-Down Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Not to difficult to make, but definately do NOT use the springfoam pan! Made a huge mess in the bottom of my oven even with the tin foil wrapped all over the bottom. Taste, well my husand loved it, as for me I would have said it was a 3 out of 5. It tastes best a a breakfast treat vs. dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Acorn Squash Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Made this and loved it! I didn't put it in the blender, but mashed the ingredients before heating - it was awesome! Simple and savory - I did add more curry and a dash of hot sauce and so enjoyed it! Thanks so much! I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gingerbread Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Excellent, moist and tasty cake... with a few caveats. I substituted Apriva (no-calorie sweetener) for the sugar, and milk for the water. I also found the baking time was more like 35 minutes vs. 20... but once it was done it was delicious! I used a vanilla glaze over the top, which is absolutely excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyDisdain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Made this according to directions and everyone loved it! Didn't have chili powder but I think it would have this dish even better. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mimi's Slumgullion

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Yum and easy. A great weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Pudding II

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
The best Bread Pudding ever! My family loves Bread Pudding so I have to double the recipe or listen to them complain when it’s gone too quickly. I've made this recipe several times; sometimes as written and sometimes with a few tweaks to match my current mood. Tweaks I’ve made: about a ½ cup less of the milk, sugar ½ white ½ brown. Add a ¼ tsp nutmeg per recipe (so ½ tsp for a double batch). Also, I like it dense so I don’t really count the bread, just tear it up until the pan (13x9) is about ½ way to the top, gently but closely compacted. The milk mixture just covers the bread after using a fork to gently push anything sticking out down. I do live at about 6000 feet so I do have to modify baking time and temp slightly. High Altitude changes: pre-heat oven to 370. After putting the dish into the oven, drop the temp back down to 350 and back 45 to 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Pudding II

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
The best Bread Pudding ever! My family loves Bread Pudding so I have to double the recipe or listen to them complain when it’s gone too quickly. I've made this recipe several times; sometimes as written and sometimes with a few tweaks to match my current mood. Tweaks I’ve made: about a ½ cup less of the milk, sugar ½ white ½ brown. Add a ¼ tsp nutmeg per recipe (so ½ tsp for a double batch). Also, I like it dense so I don’t really count the bread, just tear it up until the pan (13x9) is about ½ way to the top, gently but closely compacted. The milk mixture just covers the bread after using a fork to gently push anything sticking out down. I do live at about 6000 feet so I do have to modify baking time and temp slightly. High Altitude changes: pre-heat oven to 370. After putting the dish into the oven, drop the temp back down to 350 and back 45 to 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easier Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Made this for a work potluck - and it was a hit! Used a bit of butter with the olive oil when browning the chicken for flavor. First time making Chicken Marsala and this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jennie's Heavenly Slow Cooker Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I added carrots, broccoli and cauliflower - used chicken stock instead of wine and sauteed onion and garlic. GREAT recipe! Excellent comfort food! Will make this again for camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Yum. Everyone enjoyed this soup. I added two tomatillos and a bit of habinero
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ratatouille Pasta

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Great and very hearty meal! I doubled the servings to 6 and just needed to use a very large skillet and then a baking pan for the broil at the end. I also slightly increased the amount of olive oil for sauteeing the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyDisdain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Walnut Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I reduced the orange juice to 2 cups and added 3 tablespoons sour cream. Made two loaves and 12 muffins with the batter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheese and Sausage Stuffed Zucchini

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I.ve no doubt this recipe will taste very good as it is baking as we speak. However, I read and reread the recipe as I found it strange that you could pop the zucchini in the microwave and cook it for 5 minutes with out piercing it or something...well I took you at your word. Needless to say there was no need to remove the seeds after cooling...the microwave took care of that when the end exploded off. Bit of a mess but next time I will pierce the vegetable even if it doesn't tell me to. Live and learn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHI4002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Worland, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 77) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States