Durango, Colorado - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Best Friend Doggie Biscuits

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I just made my first batch of these for our 5 month old Golden Retriever. She loves them. I did make some changes: whole wheat flour, 1+ tablespoon of smooth peanut butter, and two teaspoons bacon grease. I used coconut oil. Easy just to make small balls, place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper (no sheet clean-up)and push balls into circles with the palm of one's hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Orange Beef

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I made this recipe as written, other than doubling the sauce, adding red pepper flakes to taste and chopped onion and using marmalade rather than so much sugar. It was very authentic-tasting -- perfect balance or sweetness, orange and garlic/ginger. For those who found the cornstarch gummy, I would suggest that you really shake off all the excess and brown extremely well. I used a wok, but with only about an inch of peanut oil in the bottom and browned the meat in small batches and drained well. I made this for a Chinese New Year's banquet with seven courses and cooked the meat several hours in advance, along with prepping the seasonings and chopping the onion. I left the meat out on the counter, not refrigerated, to keep the crispiness. I had some cornstarch in the bottom of the wok when I finished browning the meat, so I completely wiped out that oil and cornstarch. When I was ready to finish preparing the dish, I added peanut oil back into the wok, stir-fried the onion and aromatics, then tossed the beef back in -- even prior to adding the sauce. The meat stayed nice and crispy, just as it should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Egg Salad English Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This recipe is nearly identical to one that we used when we owned a B&B in Durango, CO. The only difference is the addition of horseradish, and we used a lot of cayenne. It's a great recipe and we always got very positive comments on it when we served it. The only down side was peeling 5 dozen eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by durangokid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Spice Cookie

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
As suggested by others, I added about an 8th of a teaspoon of cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg, as well as 1 cup of raisins for a double recipe of these. Additionally, after they were cooled, I drizzled them with a glaze of confectioner's sugar, maple syrup and a dash of cinnamon. The glaze was a great addition. They are excellent -- soft and chewy and full of autumn flavors! One reviewer described them as being like the top of a cupcake and they are just like that. I live at 7,000 feet, so baked them on convection bake for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Donna Mae's Custard Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Excellent custard pie. I've made three batches since I found the recipe three weeks ago. This is the best recipe that I tried for Egg Custard Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asiago Toasted Cheese Puffs

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This is super easy and would be great if you need an app in under ten minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Photo by stefani

Chocolate Cream Pie II

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I have made this recipe many times, and it always turns out great!! It is super easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Florida Key Lime Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This did not work for me. Possibly the second can of condensed cream should never have been added. My grandsons were so disappointed because it did not set in the refrigerator after two plus hours. I'm looking for another Key Lime Pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Modified Egg Custard Pie IV

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Excellent custard pie. I've made three batches since I found the recipe three weeks ago. This is the best recipe that I tried for Egg Custard Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Egg Custard Pie IV

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Excellent custard pie. I've made three batches since I found the recipe three weeks ago. This is the best recipe that I tried for Egg Custard Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Bread Bowls

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I am not an expert bread baker. Living at 7,000 feet often adds to my less-than-perfect results. However, this recipe turned out fabulously! I followed the advice of others and made the dough into 6 generous bowls, and added Italian herbs and garlic powder, as well as waiting to bruch with the egg wash until after the first 15 minutes of baking. i intend to use this a lot -- and not just for bread bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Almond Wedding Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Great recipe! I put seedless raspberry jam into the butter cream filling between layers & finished frosting it in the regular butter cream. My husband isn't a huge fan of cake but LOVED this one! I made it in 2 nine inch round pans....and yes, it is just like a wedding cake yummmmmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Durango

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Foolproof Rib Roast

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This was ABSOLUTELY the best prime rib we have EVER had even in some of the very best of restaurants. My husband is coming home from a long business trip tomorrow & I have a very special dinner planned with this Foolproof Rib Roast...he is going to LOVE it! Do as the recipe says & you can't go wrong!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Durango

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Orzo

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Really good, would be better if I would have had fresh Parmesan on hand instead of the powdered :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

Banana Cream Pie I

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
My dad's favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

Melt - In - Your - Mouth Shortbread

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
These are amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

BREAKSTONE'S Chicken and Sour Cream Enchiladas

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Excellent dish. I substituted homemade vegetarian green chile and shredded the chicken but other than that I followed the recipe. Even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA
Living In: Aztec, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Too dry & not enough spice for a Mexican dish. Husband poured hot sauce over the top to add taste. Sorry, won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Durango

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This is perfect cornbread. I made two small changes. I used blue cornmeal (I live in the Southwest) and I reduced the amt. of sugar to a half cup. I have it in the oven right now in muffin top pans so that we can freeze the muffins and then heat them in the toaster. Very convenient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by durangokid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Pork Chops III

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I made these pork chops for Father's Day dinner and they were EXCELLENT! I followed the recipe as written and would not change anything. My husband raved about them and I have to say I agree completely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddiesmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States