Durango, Colorado - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Spicy Egg Salad English Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This recipe is nearly identical to one that we used when we owned a B&B in Durango, CO. The only difference is the addition of horseradish, and we used a lot of cayenne. It's a great recipe and we always got very positive comments on it when we served it. The only down side was peeling 5 dozen eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by durangokid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Donna Mae's Custard Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Excellent custard pie. I've made three batches since I found the recipe three weeks ago. This is the best recipe that I tried for Egg Custard Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asiago Toasted Cheese Puffs

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This is super easy and would be great if you need an app in under ten minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Photo by stefani

Chocolate Cream Pie II

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I have made this recipe many times, and it always turns out great!! It is super easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Florida Key Lime Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This did not work for me. Possibly the second can of condensed cream should never have been added. My grandsons were so disappointed because it did not set in the refrigerator after two plus hours. I'm looking for another Key Lime Pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Modified Egg Custard Pie IV

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Excellent custard pie. I've made three batches since I found the recipe three weeks ago. This is the best recipe that I tried for Egg Custard Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Egg Custard Pie IV

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Excellent custard pie. I've made three batches since I found the recipe three weeks ago. This is the best recipe that I tried for Egg Custard Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Almond Wedding Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Great recipe! I put seedless raspberry jam into the butter cream filling between layers & finished frosting it in the regular butter cream. My husband isn't a huge fan of cake but LOVED this one! I made it in 2 nine inch round pans....and yes, it is just like a wedding cake yummmmmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Durango

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Foolproof Rib Roast

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This was ABSOLUTELY the best prime rib we have EVER had even in some of the very best of restaurants. My husband is coming home from a long business trip tomorrow & I have a very special dinner planned with this Foolproof Rib Roast...he is going to LOVE it! Do as the recipe says & you can't go wrong!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Durango

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Orzo

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Really good, would be better if I would have had fresh Parmesan on hand instead of the powdered :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

Banana Cream Pie I

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
My dad's favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

Melt - In - Your - Mouth Shortbread

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
These are amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

BREAKSTONE'S Chicken and Sour Cream Enchiladas

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Excellent dish. I substituted homemade vegetarian green chile and shredded the chicken but other than that I followed the recipe. Even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA
Living In: Aztec, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Too dry & not enough spice for a Mexican dish. Husband poured hot sauce over the top to add taste. Sorry, won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Durango

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This is perfect cornbread. I made two small changes. I used blue cornmeal (I live in the Southwest) and I reduced the amt. of sugar to a half cup. I have it in the oven right now in muffin top pans so that we can freeze the muffins and then heat them in the toaster. Very convenient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by durangokid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Pork Chops III

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I made these pork chops for Father's Day dinner and they were EXCELLENT! I followed the recipe as written and would not change anything. My husband raved about them and I have to say I agree completely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddiesmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Makeover Morning Glory Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I've made these many times now and today's batch is the best yet. I always double the recipe, and today I used 2c white whole wheat flour, 1c quinoa flour and 1c oatmeal bran. I used 5 eggs, milk (because I was out of oj) and walnuts, coconut, craisins and raisins. Lots of carrot and apple chunked in the Cuisinart. I use muffin-top pans so that I can take them out of the freezer and put them in the toaster. I/3 c measure is great for geting the right amt. of batter in the pan. We love one of these for breakfast and doubling the recipe make almost 30, which we freeze on a tray and then put in gallon freezer bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by durangokid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Flat Iron Steak with Blue Cheese-Chive Butter

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I did not use the Blue Cheese part because I did not have the ingredients but the marinade was something I will always use when I make a Flat Iron Steak, I was never impressed with this steak but this marinade brought it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bordelaise Sauce with Mushrooms

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I rarely rate recipes but this was so good I could not resist. I have made so many others on this site and this was above and beyond all the others. I used it on a flat iron steak, it made the whole meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jamie's Cranberry Spinach Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This salad recipe is great! After making it exactly as written several times I changed it a little bit. I only had walnuts so I put them in a small skillet, cooked for about a minute. I then added 3 Tbsp. of sugar and 2 Tbsp. water. Once the walnuts were well coated I removed them from the heat and allowed to cool completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddiesmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States