Denver - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Starlove3

Broccoli Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This was simply perfect. We enjoyed every bite. We did make a few changes. We used 3 cloves of freshly chopped garlic instead of the garlic powder, used a bit extra cheese, and instead of water with the cornstarch we used chicken broth. We also added in shredded chicken from a leftover roast. We topped it off with bacon bits. We put the leftovers in containers and put them in the freezer for an easy meal in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlove3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Photo by Starlove3

Rachael's Superheated Cajun Boiled Peanuts

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
We made this recipe and it is amazing! My dad is from Alabama and that is where we would always enjoy our boiled peanuts... my fiance and I now live in Colorado and they do not have this tasty treat. We added cayenne to make it more spicy... and I think next time we will add fresh garlic instead of powder. Another user said they used beer and that may be a good idea too... and maybe throw in some sausage too. Trust us... you will want to make more than just 1lb... because right when you're finishing the first batch you will wish you had more... but will have to wait another 24 hours... haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlove3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Simple Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This was great!! I skipped the oil, and added the garlic when I added the onions. I also replaced the water with chicken broth--one can plus water to make a full 2 cups. I didn't have crushed tomatoes, so used a can of diced tomatoes with chili seasoning. Fabulous served with sour cream and grated cheese. Yum! Thank you for the quick, easy, inexpensive and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shortbread Cookies II

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This recipe made the perfect shortbread cookie. I'm not much for sweets and desserts, but every once in a while I get a craving. Well, I had a 'need' yesterday, but didn't feel like spending an hour in the kitchen just to take care of a craving that will be taken care of with a bite or two of something sweet. I scaled down the recipe by 3/4, and was still able to get a nice sized log. I whipped these up in less than 5 minutes, then I placed the mixture in the fridge for about 10 minutes to let it firm up a bit. I then put the mixture in saran wrap and formed it into a log (just kind of form it into a log by hand, wrap it in saran wrap and roll it along your counter...it'll be the perfect log shape in no time), then I cut 8, 1/4 inch thick cookies and baked them for about 9 minutes. This was the perfect amount for my boyfriend and I to have a sweet snack. I wrapped the rest of the dough and placed it in the fridge, and I'll be able to slice and bake a few whenever I have my next 'need'. I think the next time I make a batch, I'll add a bit of lemon juice to make Lemon Shortbread Cookies! Either way, great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This asparagus was a hit at Easter dinner! My 13 month old didn't each much else. :) I covered my cookie sheets with aluminum foil before lining up the asparagus. Just before putting them into the 350 degree preheated oven, I sprayed them liberally with cooking spray, and sprinkled with salt, pepper, and a little bit of garlic powder. They were in the oven for 10 minutes, and then I sprinkled them with parmesan and a little lemon juice. Tasty! Thank you for the recipe and the cook's note about removing the woody ends--what a huge difference! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I just made these today and I too added 1 tsp vanilla, sprinkled cinnamon sugar on top before baking and they are very good. They really aren't as sweet as I thought they would be. I also added more strawberries to really get that flavor. I didn't have a large muffin tin so I made 12 small ones. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimnan
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Court's Creamy and Quick Burritos

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Great! I only made two changes--cream of chicken instead of cream of mushroom soup, and less cheese on top. My picky eater (3.5 years old) didn't care for it, but my 5 and 1 year olds gobbled it up. My hubby loved it and had to resist after his third or so helping. :D Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Favorite Barbecue Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
My husband really liked this! Instead of dipping chicken in sauce first, I put the chicken on my foreman grill about 5-7 mins, then into sauce snd back to grill another 10 and finally back in the skillet. To make it an Asian bbq all u need is fresh ginger and red pepper flakes, yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimnan
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Chicken and Zucchini

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Easy, fast, delicious, healthy, inexpensive! I might add a sprinkling of salt to the zucchini next time, but maybe not. The only down side is that my 3 and 5 year old sons needed some convincing to eat the veggies. Ah, well. Not every recipe caters to that crowd. :) Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Naan

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I've made this a few times and changed it up, so I know how I like it now- but it was a great starting point. Decreased sugar to just a teaspoon, use plain yogurt instead of milk, no egg, no butter, less flour (add as you go) and then brush with olive oil and sea salt before grilling. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sydd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Powdered Sugar Cookies I

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Just made these and, lo and behold, it IS the sugar cookie recipe that I lost several years ago and have been looking for the right one for awhile! Best of the best in texture and flavor!!! Thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Turns out amazing every time I make this. I use half & half in place of the cream to try and reduce the fat content - still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Enchilada Soup III

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Yum! This had a great flavor. I will make this again, but next time will use the masa harina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I decided after reading many reviews to bake the thighs and it was still good. I think the next time I make it, I will put them under the broiler. I made a some cheesy scalloped potatoes for side dish....yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimnan
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Beans and Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I made this last nite. This is so easy and quick. I served it with rice and salad. This is a keeper! Thanx :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimnan
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indian Dahl with Spinach

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I added a bit of curry and some extra salt but still felt like it needed more flavor. Maybe more curry or non-mild chili powder...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly, with the exceptions of deciding to "tent" the chicken so it didn't get too brown and using a whole chicken.My family went nuts, it is honestly one of the very best recipes on this site. Excellent cold the next day too! Thanks a lot for a permanent addition to our dinner rotations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Peach Tartlets

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Chef John has done it again. These are fantastic. I had to go to the Chinese items in grocery store to find the five spice powder. It made the tarts special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Poor Man's Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
It's nothing fancy, but it is tasty! My husband and 5-year-old son kept taking more helpings until it was gone. My 1-year-old daughter loved it too! My 3-year-old son is another story.... I don't care for cream of mushroom, so used cream of celery instead. I also used frozen corn and green beans (mostly thawed in the microwave) instead of canned. Thanks for the recipe to use up extra mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I made this pie last night, All I can say is that I love recipes that makes me look like a Rock Star Cook! It came out perfect. If any one has trouble with this recipe, watch the video first! So helpful, it gave me confidence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States