Denver - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Mocha Bundt Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Mine fell and stuck to the pan. :( But I'm guessing that's my fault. The liqueur glaze was too strong for me. I didn't even use it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Banana Bread Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
These were easy to make and tasty. I agree with other reviewers that the sugar could be cut by half, and I'll probably add some whole wheat flour from now on, but this is a very good recipe. Mine were done after 25 minutes so check them early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammyjammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Joseph's Best Easy Bacon Recipe

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I will never cook bacon any other way. Thanks Joseph for the wonderful new way. I set my oven to 375° since it bakes a little hot and I also used regular sliced bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sesame Shrimp Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
I was missing a few ingredients and didn't measure anything.....and it's still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyB1012
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Granola Bars

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
The coconut in the back of my pan was burned at 10 min, so I need to toast less and probably turn my tray. Otherwise, these were great. I added 1 tbsp of chia seeds in place of a bit of oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Toddler Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
My kids love these, and I don't think they're bad either. I used frozen pumpkin puree, ground up oats since I didn't have oat bran, and I threw in some raisins. Doubled the recipe and made 24 muffins, 24 mini-muffins and a mini loaf of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplants With Pesto

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Delicious! I made exactly as written, served it as the main dish on top of arugula as she suggested, (no dressing needed) put a sprinkle of goat cheese just for fun. Will definitely make again! One large eggplant split between two of us was the perfect size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
I used coconut cream instead of heavy cream, and it was great. I also used some leftover mild canned green chiles instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Pound Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Overall, a moist tasty pound cake that always gets positive comments when I make it for a birthday cake. The recipe calls for loaf pans, but I have never made it that way. I have used it twice now for a 4-tiered round cake (I use a pound cake when making a fondant-covered cake as a sturdier cake is required for stability). One batch makes 2 x 6” cakes; bake for 40 min. I haven’t tested it for other pan sizes. For high altitude and personal preference, I make the following adjustments to recipe: • Omit ground almonds • Add ½ tsp baking powder • Sub buttermilk for milk • Chop strawberries rather than quarter • Add 4 drops red food coloring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenpear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Strawberry Pound Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Overall, a moist tasty pound cake that always gets positive comments when I make it for a birthday cake. The recipe calls for loaf pans, but I have never made it that way. I have used it twice now for a 4-tiered round cake (I use a pound cake when making a fondant-covered cake as a sturdier cake is required for stability). One batch makes 2 x 6” cakes; bake for 40 min. I haven’t tested it for other pan sizes. For high altitude and personal preference, I make the following adjustments to recipe: • Omit ground almonds • Add ½ tsp baking powder • Sub buttermilk for milk • Chop strawberries rather than quarter • Add 4 drops red food coloring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenpear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Brownies

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Made these for vegan friends, and they were great. They did not cut well, so I wouldn't want to make them for a baby shower or something, but they tasted good. I used a bit less oil and used 2 shots of espresso in place of some of the water. Also threw in some dark chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

NAPTIME GOURMET HOT MANGO CHUTNEY

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
DO NOT ADD PEPPERCORNS Up salt by 1 TBS (for a total of 1/4 cup + 1 TBS) Allow to cook until thick - might be more than an hour. Then at the end add 1 TBS garam masala and 2-1/2 - 3 cups of vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia

Coconut Chicken Stir Fry

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
this was good but lacked flavor. i think it needs more spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I skipped the mushrooms and peppers, as I did not have them on hand. I also added a can of chick peas, used chili ready tomatoes, and frozen corn instead of canned. Good served with grated cheddar jack cheese and tortilla chips. I'd consider using less cumin and more chili powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
This was really good! I took the advice of one other reviewer and added some fresh basil at the very end, I think it was a great addition. I will make this again, my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sunday Brunch Casserole

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I served this for Mother's Day brunch and everyone liked it. I made it the night before and was glad that I did as it took over 10 minutes to prepare due to having to cook the bacon. I'd say that you can easily get 12 servings from this dish. There were 8 of us and we have leftovers which is great. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Mushroom Gravy

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
This gravy is delicious. I omitted the salt, the beef broth and butter has enough. Yes, I used beef broth instead of stock, all I had on hand. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yiayia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

Easy and Quick Swiss Steak

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
I've made this, but instead of using slow cooker, I put it in the oven for about an hour on 350°. I too have made this with either Mexican or Italian stewed tomatoes it gives more flavor, omit green pepper and use red only. The meat always turns out very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimnan
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Savory Bubble Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
This bread is amazing. It is so simple to make. So many people complained that it is so sticky after coming out of the bread machine. This is normal for machine made bread. Just add a little more flour and knead it in. I used 4 fresh minced garlic because we really like garlic. It is a regular in my files. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Ginger Shrimp

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This was a great recipe! I followed all of the directions, however I saved the leftover marinade. I brought it to a boil and added some flour to thicken, it was perfect as a dipping sauce for the shrimp. We will have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States