Denver - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Almond Cheddar Appetizers

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
These were very tasty and everybody loved them. I will make again and probably triple recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Canadian Friend's Bean Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Do NOT use ground italian sausage. It was NOT good. The rest of the soup was tasty, so may try it again if I can find the turkey Italian sausage with casings mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalie

Best Ever Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Great recipe, I've used it twice. The first time I made the muffins as written, and added about 1/2 cup blueberries and 1 mashed ripe banana. They were good, but not quite sweet enough and a little on the tough side (I think that may have been my fault, I overmixed the batter). The next time they turned out perfectly, and here's what I did: instead of all white sugar I used 1/4 cup white and 1/2 cup brown sugar. I used two mashed, very ripe bananas, and I think those added some moisture and reduced the "toughness". I then poured the batter into the cupcake molds, almost filling each one (I had leftover batter both times). I shoved about 1/4 of a strawberry down into the batter of each one (left a little showing on top). Then I placed some sliced almonds on top of each. I baked them for about 15-20 mins at 375 (I live at high altitude, so this is always different for me). My picky family agreed that these muffins were absolute perfection, thanks Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Chard and Caramelized Onions

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Wow! So so delicious!! The caramelized onions made this dish extraordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyB1012
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Lobster Tails

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Delicious! I followed suggestions of others and used old bay (my favorite spice) and watched the tails while broiling. Two 5-6oz tails took about 10 minutes. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyB1012
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Egg Rolls

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
These were fantastic! The first batch we deep fried and that's the best way to do them. We had put the others into bake.....not near as good. We will definitely be making these a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimnan
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This recipe was a home-run! I purchased chicken tenderloin fillets so that I did not have to pound the chicken thin. I took the advice of several others and used an egg wash prior to breading. For an extra kick and to make this a spin on a "croque monsiuer," I added a little dijon mustard into the egg wash. After the egg wash and before breading, I put the salt, pepper and a little paprika onto each piece of chicken. I then breaded the entire piece of chicken (as opposed to 'sprinkling' bread crumbs only on the outside). It turned out absolutely incredible, paired with rosemary garlic mashed potatoes and some haricots verts sauteed in lemon and garlic. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anwhite_08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Made this last nite. I had chicken thighs with mine cuz didn't have breasts on hand. My husband raved about this, so we will definitely be making this again. This is also a good one to make in the winter. Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimnan
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This is an awesome recipe, and the taste and texture is spot on. The only issue is that the directions are not the best, and this is why I only gave the recipe 4 stars. I think that many people had an issue with this recipe (though it still has a great rating overall), because the directions pretty much say 'put everything in the pot and cook.' I've made many a cheese sauces and if you follow those directions, you'll end up with grainy or weird textured sauce. The way I make it is I melt the butter, then add the heavy whipping cream. Bring it to a very small simmer, and slowly add the cheese. I literally add a pinch of cheese, stirring constantly and not adding more cheese until the cheese I added melts completely. Once all the cheese is incorporated and the sauce is smooth, I cover the pot, turn it to low and let it sit for about 10 minutes. As far as a few people not liking the taste...I don't know what to say. This is the true taste of a perfect alfredo sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Awesome Spicy Beef Kabobs OR Haitian Voodoo Sticks

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This one is a winner! I've made it twice and love it! I do have to cut back on the cayenne because it is a little too spicy for my son. I also use olive oil instead of vegetable oil because of preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flash-blasted Broccoli and Feta Pasta

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Delicious! I added a few ingredients I had lying around (shittake mushrooms, fresh tomatoes instead of canned) and ate it with blackened Mahi Mahi. Even as is this recipe is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyB1012
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sauteed Swiss Chard with Parmesan Cheese

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Unfrigginbelievable. Best chard recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyB1012
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cherry Dream Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
The frosting is fantastic, cake itself is ok but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oma's Rhubarb Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I was craving rhubarb, and this recipe came with great reviews, so I gave it a shot. Simple to prepare, and very moist, but too sweet for my taste. One of the reviewers made it with half the sugar, so I may try that the next time. After writing the paragraph above, I asked my husband what he thought of it. He loved it, and my 5yo son said he would give it 10 stars, if he could. I'm raising it to a four star, and eating it with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Edamame Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I really liked the flavor of this salad. The only thing I did different was to replace black beans with garbanzo beans. Unfortunately, I am the only one who liked - the kids and husband didn't care for it, but they aren't as adventurous as me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brownie Cupcakes

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I halved this, and it made 12 cupcakes in paper liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
They left rock-hard cake material around the inside of the ramekin. They tasted fine, but I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Potatoes and Onion

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Made these for Father's Day. I followed Barbalicious's advice and added other veggies and herbs. I had everything already sliced & diced then I laid out foil sheets. I let guest add whatever they wanted to their packet. Everybody loved these and got to make their own choices. Thanks for this delightful recipe Bob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream Pineapple Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This pie is so awesome you don't even know it is sugar free. It is light and creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mancakes

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I tried just half recipe so I would know what they were like before making these for Father's Day tomorrow. It is the first for my son. I know he will love these as I did when I tried them out. I did omit the onions but only because I didn't have any. I will buy some before tomorrow. Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States