Denver - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Eggnog-Raspberry Belgian Waffles

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I would give the texture five stars, but I punched up the flavor with added spices, thus the four star rating. My waffle iron must be bigger than the original poster's, because I doubled the recipe and got eight waffles. To the doubled flour, sugar and baking soda, I added 3/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. Then I mixed the melted butter with the dry ingredients (and Alton Brown trick - looks weird, great results). Finally I poured in two eggs mixed with two cups eggnog and a splash of vanilla. After mixing, I added a bit more eggnog until the batter was thick but pourable. Didn't have raspberries so I topped with real maple syrup and had a fun, Christmas flavored treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindee Greivel Myers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Touchdown Taco Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Huge hit at the party. I added hamburger to it because I had already cooked it thinking I was making another taco dip and it was delicious. I did everything else like the recipe said. I'm going to try it warmed up next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Magic Peanut Butter Middles

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
These are really really good. We all loved them. I followed the recipe as written. They're a bit of work, but worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Enchilada Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Meh- edible but nothing special. Followed the recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmoxie1212

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lyme, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Followed the recipe and this turned out perfect. The top didn't crack either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Key Lime Pie VII

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Made this recipe as stated and it was simply amazing. Will definitely make this again in the spring/summer time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I used others' suggestions, and sautéed onions, garlic, celery and carrots in butter. Used all chicken broth, because I didn't have vegetable broth on hand. Added a couple shakes if thyme as well. Diced frozen chicken breasts and boiled with everything else to cook. Cooked noodles separately and added to the soup just before serving. So tasty! Too bad my sickies went to bed early and missed out. I enjoyed all four bowls I got! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amatriciana

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
We love this. It is one of those rare meals that everyone in my family actually likes. I do follow the recipe as stated. One piece of advice when using canned sauces is to add a little sugar to remove the bitter/acidic flavor. I also added just a touch of salt. The bacon is the key to making this sauce super yummy. This is definitely going into our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Minute Steaks with Barbeque Butter Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Can you say yum? My family can't because their mouths are so full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Rector

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Delicious just the way it is written.!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Rector

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
These are amazing. Light, fluffy, melt in your mouth! I followed the recipe exactly - i just added vanilla and cinnamon. A definite recipe we will keep and use over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Rector

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

Pork Steaks

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Great recipe! I used a yellow onion instead of green because that's what I had in the kitchen. The only other thing I did was to add 1 cup beef broth to the pan drippings after removing the meat to a plate and thickened it up a bit to use as a gravy over mashed potatoes. My entire family loved it and will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
My husband made this for thanksgiving this year, it took a long time, but it was so worth it! This is a great recipe that takes all the guess work out of cheesecakes, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

Bridal Shower Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This was a great recipe! I used this to make a 9 in and 8 cupcakes. The 9 in is for a Neapolitan cake for my daughters golden birthday. The texture is wonderful, a little too sweet for me, but the girls all loved it! I did use almond instead of vanilla to keep it as white as possible. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

Chef John's Swedish Meatballs

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
These were so yummy! The only thing I did differently was that I did not refrigerate the meat. I didn't have enough time for that step, but my meatballs still kept their shape and were easy enough to form. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
We aren't Indian food eaters at home (I've only eaten Indian food once before) but my bff sent us a spice jar of curry that I felt obligated to use. This was our second dish and boy, it was superb! The only deviation I made from the recipe was using butter instead of ghee. A couple things...it was almost too creamy. Next time I'll cut back on the whipping cream, reduce to 2/3 c. I served it over fried rice with 1 t curry added in and a drizzle of fresh lime juice. That added a zing to cut the creaminess. It could have used some fresh greens. A previous reviewer mentioned serving with cilantro - that's on my radar for next time! Maybe some red pepper as well. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucyloohoo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garden Valley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Crunch Squares

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Super easy to make. Added some marshmallows over the cranberry sauce to get rid of the extras from Thanksgiving. Really good. I may of messed up on the measurements because they were a little gooey. Also added a dollop of whip cream above the squares. Unhealthy, but tasted awesome. Will have again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I doubled the rub... Came out fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grammie's Cranberry Salsa

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Most of my guest really liked this salsa. I did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was delicious and super easy to make. I used three 12oz bags of frozen beans and added onion powder and Italian seasonings per other reviews. The crock pot was literally scraped empty at a potluck of 30+ guests. Should have doubled the recipe??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Kennedy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States