Denver - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Zucchini Apple Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I tried it once, and made a double batch soon after! I used 1/2 oil, 1/2 applesauce, and shredded the zucchini and apple with a salad shooter. I also made them into muffins. 20-23 minutes was a more manageable wait for my sugar fix. :) Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Cinnamon Zucchini Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Delicious! A little like a fairly dense apple cake. Mine got sticky on top, but probably because I had to transport them with a lid before they cooled completely. I can't wait 'til the second batch gets out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Perfect chili! The pot was so full that I had to leave out 1 can of beans and 1 can of diced tomatoes, but it was still an awesome chili. All the flavors blend well and cooking time was spot on. Since we have a toddler, I reduced the spicy ingredients quite a bit and that was a good call. It still had a good spice to it in the end. This will be my go-to chili from now on! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

Plum Crisp

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I used a bunch more plums and a little cinnamon, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Wowza ... I don't ever review but felt compelled to because this was delish! Threw in about a quarter cup extra cab, minced garlic, white onion and chicken broth (that is what I had on hand) and the last hour cooked fusilli noodles (half bag for 3 pd cut of meat). Added water through out basting. Tender meat, great sauce with the noodles, amazing taste! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarahcp1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Creamy Peanut Butter

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Not necessary to refrigerate if you don't mind stirring before use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammyjammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shredded Beef Enchiladas

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Excellent recipe. Husband told me that these are the best enchiladas he has ever had and he is a Mexican food fanatic. I made only a few changes: I put the roast in my crock pot on high for 6 hours and I also added 4 chopped garlic cloves and half a chopped onion. I also added about 6 ounces of beer. Like other reviewers have remarked, I also added a red chile sauce before I baked the enchiladas. This recipe is definitely a keeper, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CelesteD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Salmon

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Loved it, so did my 3yr old!!! We cooked it skin side up at first, then flipped it and did a quick broil to get it crispy on top. Yum yum yum! Served with roasted broccoli and cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkhurt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Strawberry Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Sooo yummy and easy! Per other reviews I did add 1tsp vanilla, reduced the sugar from 3/4C to 1/2C, and used brown sugar instead of white for the topping, with a few dashes of cinnamon mixed in. I had closer to 2C strawberries and it needed an extra 10 min to get the middle cooked. These would be GREAT as a loaf or muffins!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkhurt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Peach Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This pie is absolutely fantastic. I followed recipe exactly as written. Thanks Chef John for another delightful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Easter Eggs

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
These taste good, but I have some issues. I pressed the pb mixture into the bottom of a silicone muffin cup, and they came out resembling reeses. But when I dipped them in chocolate (after freezing for quite a while), so much of them crumbled off that the chocolate was a mess, and the "reeses cups" came out looking rough. I would like to add more pb next time to see if they could be a little less crumbly but still be handled. I used super dark chocolate to counteract the sweetness of the confectioner's sugar. I also think tempering the chocolate would be a good idea, as mine didn't set up as well as I would like. I also used coconut oil in place of the shortening, so I don't know if that affected how it set up. If I tempered it, I don't think I would need to add anything to the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
FAAAAR too thin. It comes out to a syrup consistency. You could POUR it into the eggs. Had to boil 6 more at the last minute to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Herman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Pizza

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Yummy! It's a good thing my two boys went to the neighbors' for dinner, because there wouldn't have been enough for them after the three of us (daughter, hubby and I) ate our fill. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
It's true the moisture comes from the zucchini when it's all cooking. Do not change a thing and it will work out oh so yummy. Yummy, fudgey brownies that can easily be made vegan just by using vegan butter. That's what I did and it was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELIZARDQUEEN99

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ground Chicken Stew

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was delicious and even better the next day. I added a teaspoon of cumin while everything was simmering together and served it over whole wheat coucous and naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This is soooo easy and good!! Definitely a keeper and will be making it again. I used ground turkey and only had flour tortillas on hand, so we made burriros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimnan
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Sausage Quiche

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I use this recipe all the time. I also make it in small portions -- adding pie crust in muffin tins to make mini quiches or just leave out the crust and it will make a perfect size for adding to English muffins or on croissants. You can mix this the night before and cook in the morning a great time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gale Skinner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bill's Sausage Gravy

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Big brunches I make it as written and everyone loves it! Other times, I do alter the recipe based on what I have in my kitchen and it always turns out great. A lot times I don't have whole milk - so I use what I have on hand - even skim. I like spice so I use a country spicy breakfast sausage too - love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gale Skinner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Turned out amazing!! Will be making this again....and often! Only thing I changes is I cut up linked hot Italian sausage. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Slow Cooker Chili II

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Fantastic. The servings count was a little low - no serving size mentioned, so we used 1 cup. It was absolutely delicious. We'll be doubling the recipe for our next go around. This served 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States