Denver - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Chili II

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Fantastic. The servings count was a little low - no serving size mentioned, so we used 1 cup. It was absolutely delicious. We'll be doubling the recipe for our next go around. This served 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Award Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
These were a hit at our kids play date!! All the moms asked for the recipe. My search for the perfect cookie is over!! Only thing I changed is I only added 1 box of pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This came out even better then I thought it would. Only thing I changed about it was I used less onion, added poultry seasoning, used 1 can of biscuits and 3 chicken breasts. So glad I tried it. Adding it to the family cookbook. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Honey Wheat Sandwich Rolls

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I was out of wheat flour, so I used all white, but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Unbelievable Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Easy, excellent marinade. Used Dijon mustard, all the rest was as stated. Only marinated about 2 hrs, so I left a little on the side to drizzle over the top. This was a great suggestion by a previous reviewer! My bro suggested to make extra as a salad dressing, and use the leftover grilled chicken in a salad which is also brilliant. Thanks for this easy & tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkhurt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese I

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This recipe is fantastic. I don't know why it got so many bad reviews. We loved it and will make it again and again. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooked Apple Peach Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I made this as is and then tasted it. It needed something more so I added a little bit of sugar. It was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Herb Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I am giving this 4 stars since my husband gave it a 4 but I only gave it a 3. It's technically a 3.5. I used quinoa instead of rice since we don't really use rice. I am familiar with the difference in flavor so am rating this recipe without the difference. The only other change is that I added more/different vegetables, fresh herbs (since that's what I had) and diced chicken. I, honestly, didn't like the paprika. I am a big paprika fan and this is the first time I've ever not liked the flavor of paprika in a meal. I will make this again because my husband really liked it but I may adjust the paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple White Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I am reviewing this recipe as written with the caveat that I live at altitude. I make a recipe as written before I adjust for altitude. Some work and some do not. This one did not for cupcakes. That being said, the flavor was amazing...they really do taste just like sugar cookies. I am going to decrease the baking powder. I also think that this recipe makes more than 12 cupcakes. It's more like 15 regular cupcakes. I will make again with adjustments and suspect I'll love it and will change my rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I followed the recipe as written, including using the chinese 5 spice. I was hestitant to how it would affect the flavor, but I actually like it a lot. These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Chimi in the Oven

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Yum! These turned out great. All of us enjoyed these - even the kids. I pretty much followed the recipe although I did add some cheese to the inside. I eyeballed the chili powder but I'm pretty sure I didn't use anywhere near 1/4 cup - didn't want to make them too hot because of the kids. I baked a little longer then 15 minutes to get them to crisp up. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Bread Loaf

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Perfect cornbread. Period! This recipe makes exactly 24 mini muffins which is perfect for our family with a 2 yr old. He loves these "baby cornbread muffins" that are crispy outside and moist inside. He'll put away 6 mini muffins at a time with his soup or chili. Then he and the hubs will fight over the last muffin.. That makes this recipe a 10 star recipe in my book! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Photo by TTV78

Belle's Hamburger Buns

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Great hamburger bun recipe! Simple, fast (as far as yeast dough is concerned that is), and delicious. I halved the recipe using a full envelope of yeast and and entire egg. It made 8 perfect buns for Slopy Joes II. I have no complaints here. Baked up beautifully as instructed. Will definitely use this bun recipe in the future. Thanks for a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

Asian Noodle Bowl

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
We loved this recipe! Since I'm allergic to beef this was a perfect recipe for me and my family enjoyed it equally as well. I doubled the amount of broth and used chicken broth due to my allergy, and used 3 cups of water. Everyone likes a lot of broth with their soups here. I added about 3 tablespoons of soy sauce and 1 1/2 tablespoons of sesame oil to the broth to give it more flavor. It is now a rich and delicious accompaniment to the rest of the ingredients. Make sure you get a good cut of bison for this recipe. My local health foods store has a bison 'event' every three months, but otherwise just has ground or an inferior cut off steak in their frozen section. I will be sure to stock up the next time their event rolls around just for this recipe! I could eat this on a weekly basis-its that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
After reading other reviews, I added a tsp. of cinnamon, zest from one orange and a 2 tsp. corn starch to fruit mixture. I let in stand in turned-off oven for a while after baking time and used a lattice top to be sure rhubarb was cooked through. The pie looked and smelled wonderful and the filling was just right too! Not runny, not crunchy, perfect balance of sweet and tart. Took it to a summer BBQ and everyone went nuts over this pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenpear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Wow! What a fun surprise to share. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I didn't even read the ratings before making this recipe, but I knew before I started that I wanted them to taste like my favorite 'orange spice crackles'. Instead of the water I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of orange extract- next time I will increase that to 2 1/2 teaspoons. I love the orange flavor with the spices and I doubt the orange juice suggested by others would even make a difference. I used shortening (1/2 cup) plus goat milk butter (1/4 cup) due to a milk allergy and these came out perfectly. I didn't have any issues with needing to freeze or refrigerate the dough prior to rolling. I used turbinado sugar to roll the cookies in before placing on the cookie sheet. My husband said that the turbinado made these cookies. It gave them a crunch compared to the chewy texture of the cookie and a nice extra sweetness. These are much easier to make than the orange spice crackles I make at Christmas-and will become a regular at our house. Thanks Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almond Cheddar Appetizers

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
These were very tasty and everybody loved them. I will make again and probably triple recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Canadian Friend's Bean Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Do NOT use ground italian sausage. It was NOT good. The rest of the soup was tasty, so may try it again if I can find the turkey Italian sausage with casings mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalie

Best Ever Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Great recipe, I've used it twice. The first time I made the muffins as written, and added about 1/2 cup blueberries and 1 mashed ripe banana. They were good, but not quite sweet enough and a little on the tough side (I think that may have been my fault, I overmixed the batter). The next time they turned out perfectly, and here's what I did: instead of all white sugar I used 1/4 cup white and 1/2 cup brown sugar. I used two mashed, very ripe bananas, and I think those added some moisture and reduced the "toughness". I then poured the batter into the cupcake molds, almost filling each one (I had leftover batter both times). I shoved about 1/4 of a strawberry down into the batter of each one (left a little showing on top). Then I placed some sliced almonds on top of each. I baked them for about 15-20 mins at 375 (I live at high altitude, so this is always different for me). My picky family agreed that these muffins were absolute perfection, thanks Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States