Centennial, Colorado - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cinnamon Lemon Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I don't understand why some baked goods improve so much overnight but, these cookies got about 60% better overnight. After they cooled completely and my husband and I had about 5 apiece, I put them in a big ziplock bag because I wanted these soft cookies to stay soft. I thought they were good last night, but not spectacular. And not as good as the other reviewers thought they were. Well, today I reached for one and now I DO think they are spectacular. Soft, buttery little mounds of cinnamon/lemon deliciousness. However, I do have a problem with how few cookies this recipe actually makes. I doubled the recipe as I intended to send some to my grandkids. Even doubling the recipe only yielded 70 cookies. And I made them quite small, only forming the balls to 1-inch size. The picture accompanying the recipe shows a much larger cookie. It is, unfortunately misleading. I should have gotten 120 cookies by doubling the recipe or at least over 100. And these came out so small they looked like dog treat cookies. But for the discrepancy in the number of cookies, I would have rated this cookie 5 stars. Any ideas as to why some bakers got many less cookies from this recipe? I stuck to the recipe except for doubling it and I used the adjustment feature Allrecipes has to change proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Slow Cooker Tender and Yummy Round Steak

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Slow Cooker Swiss Steak

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Poifect as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seminary Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Don't get me wrong, I do appreciate chocolate chips in many recipes. I am just not crazy about putting them in muffins. I used dried cranberries and dried cherries instead of the chocolate chips. Made these as per the recipe except for the chocolate chips. Very, very good. I think these are a good quick breakfast or with a nice cup of coffee. Nice tender crumb and sweet taste without being too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Janine's Best Banana Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This banana bread was just average in my opinion. It lacked nuts and a strong banana flavor. Meh...,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Dried Cherry Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I found this cake to be just wonderful. I discovered too late that I had run out of almond extract so used vanilla to soak the cherries and also added a bit more to the cake itself. I doubled the recipe so it would adequately fill a 9" round pound cake pan (with hole in middle). I also decided on impulse to chop up a large dark chocolate bar I snagged at Big Lots for $1 because I love chocolate and cherry flavor combinations. It turned out great. Besides doubling the recipe and adding chopped chocolate, and omitting the pecans, I followed the recipe. I also took Laurama's advice (great idea, Laurama) and made the cherry sauce she mentioned in her review, adding in the drained- off water from the dried cherries in the cake to the frozen cherries and sugar and cornstarch. What a wonderful, beautiful looking treat. The chocolate and the cherry sauce makes it more of a mainstream dessert than a coffee cake, but I think that is a good thing. I am the baking heroine tonight at my house. I think this cake is really versatile and is just waiting for more versions for people to imagine. I think dates and candied orange peel would make a great combination, for example. Loved this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Amazing! My whole family love it. No leftovers. We put it over rice. Did not exactly caramelize, but delicious. This is going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I made this and, basically doubled the recipe. I also added some chicken sausage, frozen spinach and smoked paprika. Really great cold weather one pot dinner. You don't need anything else besides some good bread. I am thawing the second half of it right now after we ate the first of it last week. Excellent taste and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Tangy (Not Sweet) Tartar Sauce II

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
The first time that I made this, I followed the recipe exactly and I loved it. The last time that I made this recipe, I substituted green olives, pitted but not stuffed with pimentos and used olive brine and it was equally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Wow! If you are in need of some cooking inspiration, try this recipe, its like a food mediation and the end result is fabulous. Is chef John making millions of dollars on food network? If not, he certainly should be. I was blown away by this recipe that is full of flavor despite its simplicity. This has become part of my regular repertoire and I haven't made any adjustments or experiments with it. Its simply delicious as is (though I use baby bells generally). I usually serve it with equally simple mashed potatoes (goes great with mushroom sauce) and sautéd spinach. My family thinks its interesting to eat four things for dinner. I tell everyone about this recipe even friends I know are great cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SolarMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Excellent! Almost the same as my recipe with the exception of mushrooms and tomato paste. I like to use a 7 bone roast for this as well because of marbling of fat and marrow from the bones. I might be a little more efficient than Chef John in that I have the carrots and celery chopped ahead of time and in the crock pot so that I could transfer the meat from the skillet to the crock pot immediately. I usually add a can of drained green beans and add the fresh herbs during the last half hour of cooking. I was surprised to see that Chef John added the fresh herbs at the start. Fresh herbs should always be added towards the end of the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Citrus Turkey Brine

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Great, great, great! This brine recipe makes for a succulent, juicy bird. I did heat the brine to boiling, then cooled before placing the bird in the brine. I also liked one reviewer's suggestion to put some citrus juice into the brine, which I did in my second time using the recipe. I also recommended this recipe to my son's father-in-law for a Christmas dinner we were invited to. Super flavor! Funny how you are able to enjoy more a meal you don't cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Dale's Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I authored this recipe. I modified it slightly by increasing the liquid smoke to 2 tablespoons for more smoky flavor. I slow roast the roast for 31/2 hours so that the roast absorbs more flavor. I no longer shred the pork with forks, rather I shred it with my fingers so that I can remove all chunks of fat and remove any slimy fat or gristle from the meat. A 3 pound pork shoulder roast will make about 4½ packed cups of shredded pork. Use this base recipe for making carnitas, green chili or barbecue pork. Just use your favorite recipe for making green chili or barbecue pork with the pulled pork from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stew VI

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
The first time that I made this recipe, I followed the recipe to a "T" for half of the recipe ingredients and it was quite good but too salty because of the bouillon. The last time that I made this, I made a roux out of the pan drippings and flour then I mixed in 2 cups of cold beef broth to make a darker and richer tasting gravy. Again, I made half of the recipe and added an 8 ounce can of diced tomatoes to the pot and a large bay leaf before simmering the beef. The acidity of the tomatoes helped tenderize the beef during the simmer time. I didn't use dried parsley, but rather I offered freshly snipped Italian parsley to the diners to top their serving of stew with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Moist Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
this was very good, added garlic powder and minced onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Very Good will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Italian Meatballs

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Excellent meatballs! They are perfectly seasoned! I prefer to mix the bread crumbs with milk in a large bowl and allow it to rest for 20 minutes then mix in the eggs, parsley, parmesan cheese, the sautéed onions with garlic and all of the dry seasonings into this bowl. In a separate large bowl, I mix the beef and pork together then mix the contents of the previous bowl into the bowl of meat and place it into the fridge for an hour or so before forming the meatballs. I think that by doing so – everything mixes together more evenly. I find it impossible to mix the beef and pork together without using your hands, same goes for mixing the meat with the remaining ingredients. I didn’t notice any toughness in the meatballs by doing it my way. I’ve heard numerous times to not work ground beef too much otherwise the meat will turn tough. I don’t believe that myth. I use an ice cream scoop to form the meatballs and pack them into balls with wet hands. I added half of the cooked meatballs to a simmering pot of marina sauce and finished simmering them in the sauce for an hour. The remaining meatballs were put in a freezer bag and frozen for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This makes a nice side dish for fish dishes as well. Very good, I only rated it 4 stars because of the onions. I omitted the onion because I don't like onions in my Au gratin potatoes. I halved the amount of potatoes in this recipe but kept the cheese sauce ingredient amounts the same as the full recipe. I used 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese and 1/2 cup of shredded Gruyere cheese. I used about 2/3 of the sauce to make the Au gratin potatoes and saved the remaining sauce for making Chef John's Crispy Mac&Cheese recipe later in the week. I topped the casserole with about 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan cheese before baking it. I also removed the foil from the casserole dish for the last 20 minutes of baking time so to brown the top. Tip on the potatoes: I use an old Presto Salad Shooter® with the smaller slicing cone for fast and consistent slicing of the potatoes. I also pared only half of the skins off of each potato for fuller flavor and for appearance. Tip for making the cheese sauce: Turn off the burner that you have the sauce pot over before adding the cheese. Doing so will prevent the cheese from separating and making a gloppy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is an awesome meal! I didn't have green bell pepper on hand and made this without it and I increased the amount of onion. I live at 6,000 feet elevation and it took 1.5 hours for the brown rice to get tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States