Centennial, Colorado - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Tangy (Not Sweet) Tartar Sauce II

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
The first time that I made this, I followed the recipe exactly and I loved it. The last time that I made this recipe, I substituted green olives, pitted but not stuffed with pimentos and used olive brine and it was equally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Wow! If you are in need of some cooking inspiration, try this recipe, its like a food mediation and the end result is fabulous. Is chef John making millions of dollars on food network? If not, he certainly should be. I was blown away by this recipe that is full of flavor despite its simplicity. This has become part of my regular repertoire and I haven't made any adjustments or experiments with it. Its simply delicious as is (though I use baby bells generally). I usually serve it with equally simple mashed potatoes (goes great with mushroom sauce) and sautéd spinach. My family thinks its interesting to eat four things for dinner. I tell everyone about this recipe even friends I know are great cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SolarMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Excellent! Almost the same as my recipe with the exception of mushrooms and tomato paste. I like to use a 7 bone roast for this as well because of marbling of fat and marrow from the bones. I might be a little more efficient than Chef John in that I have the carrots and celery chopped ahead of time and in the crock pot so that I could transfer the meat from the skillet to the crock pot immediately. I usually add a can of drained green beans and add the fresh herbs during the last half hour of cooking. I was surprised to see that Chef John added the fresh herbs at the start. Fresh herbs should always be added towards the end of the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Citrus Turkey Brine

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Great, great, great! This brine recipe makes for a succulent, juicy bird. I did heat the brine to boiling, then cooled before placing the bird in the brine. I also liked one reviewer's suggestion to put some citrus juice into the brine, which I did in my second time using the recipe. I also recommended this recipe to my son's father-in-law for a Christmas dinner we were invited to. Super flavor! Funny how you are able to enjoy more a meal you don't cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Dale's Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I authored this recipe. I modified it slightly by increasing the liquid smoke to 2 tablespoons for more smoky flavor. I slow roast the roast for 31/2 hours so that the roast absorbs more flavor. I no longer shred the pork with forks, rather I shred it with my fingers so that I can remove all chunks of fat and remove any slimy fat or gristle from the meat. A 3 pound pork shoulder roast will make about 4½ packed cups of shredded pork. Use this base recipe for making carnitas, green chili or barbecue pork. Just use your favorite recipe for making green chili or barbecue pork with the pulled pork from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stew VI

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
The first time that I made this recipe, I followed the recipe to a "T" for half of the recipe ingredients and it was quite good but too salty because of the bouillon. The last time that I made this, I made a roux out of the pan drippings and flour then I mixed in 2 cups of cold beef broth to make a darker and richer tasting gravy. Again, I made half of the recipe and added an 8 ounce can of diced tomatoes to the pot and a large bay leaf before simmering the beef. The acidity of the tomatoes helped tenderize the beef during the simmer time. I didn't use dried parsley, but rather I offered freshly snipped Italian parsley to the diners to top their serving of stew with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Moist Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
this was very good, added garlic powder and minced onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Very Good will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Italian Meatballs

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Excellent meatballs! They are perfectly seasoned! I prefer to mix the bread crumbs with milk in a large bowl and allow it to rest for 20 minutes then mix in the eggs, parsley, parmesan cheese, the sautéed onions with garlic and all of the dry seasonings into this bowl. In a separate large bowl, I mix the beef and pork together then mix the contents of the previous bowl into the bowl of meat and place it into the fridge for an hour or so before forming the meatballs. I think that by doing so – everything mixes together more evenly. I find it impossible to mix the beef and pork together without using your hands, same goes for mixing the meat with the remaining ingredients. I didn’t notice any toughness in the meatballs by doing it my way. I’ve heard numerous times to not work ground beef too much otherwise the meat will turn tough. I don’t believe that myth. I use an ice cream scoop to form the meatballs and pack them into balls with wet hands. I added half of the cooked meatballs to a simmering pot of marina sauce and finished simmering them in the sauce for an hour. The remaining meatballs were put in a freezer bag and frozen for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This makes a nice side dish for fish dishes as well. Very good, I only rated it 4 stars because of the onions. I omitted the onion because I don't like onions in my Au gratin potatoes. I halved the amount of potatoes in this recipe but kept the cheese sauce ingredient amounts the same as the full recipe. I used 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese and 1/2 cup of shredded Gruyere cheese. I used about 2/3 of the sauce to make the Au gratin potatoes and saved the remaining sauce for making Chef John's Crispy Mac&Cheese recipe later in the week. I topped the casserole with about 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan cheese before baking it. I also removed the foil from the casserole dish for the last 20 minutes of baking time so to brown the top. Tip on the potatoes: I use an old Presto Salad Shooter® with the smaller slicing cone for fast and consistent slicing of the potatoes. I also pared only half of the skins off of each potato for fuller flavor and for appearance. Tip for making the cheese sauce: Turn off the burner that you have the sauce pot over before adding the cheese. Doing so will prevent the cheese from separating and making a gloppy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is an awesome meal! I didn't have green bell pepper on hand and made this without it and I increased the amount of onion. I live at 6,000 feet elevation and it took 1.5 hours for the brown rice to get tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Pie II

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This is my recipe but with a few changes. I use 3T cornstarch instead of flour and add the eggs with the rest of the mixture as it cooks and then add the vanilla and butter after it has thickened. The time is about right - I just go by how it looks and stir after every two minutes. I've done it in the microwave and stovetop and it's great either way. I usually use Dream Whip, Cool Whip or whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Winter Leek and Potato Soup II

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Excellent soup after my alterations! Everyone loved it! My initial reading of this recipe alerted me that it would be a very bland tasting soup. My only alterations were that I used 2 pounds of Yukon Gold potatoes, added 1 sliced celery stalk and added a large bay leaf. I also substituted the garlic powder with 4 garlic cloves that I minced and sautéed with the leeks and onions. I used 6 ounces of shredded sharp cheddar cheese and omitted the parsley. I offered crumbled cooked bacon, fresh snipped chives and prepared garlic-Parmesan croutons as options for diners to top their soup serving with. Next time, I will use individual sized shepherd loaves as serving bowls and make homemade garlic-Parmesan croutons out of the scooped bread from the shepherd loaves. Tips: Yukon Gold potatoes won't get mushy like russet potatoes will when boiling them. Use russet potatoes if you want a thick soup and mash them when they are tender. Rinse the leeks in a bowl of cold water so to remove any sand, remove the leeks and wring dry in towels. Keep the cubed potatoes in a bowl of cold water till needed. Always turn off the heat before stirring in the cheese so that the cheese won't separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Winter Leek and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Excellent soup after my alterations! Everyone loved it! My initial reading of this recipe alerted me that it would be a very bland tasting soup. My only alterations were that I used 2 pounds of Yukon Gold potatoes, added 1 sliced celery stalk and added a large bay leaf. I also substituted the garlic powder with 4 garlic cloves that I minced and sautéed with the leeks and onions. I used 6 ounces of shredded sharp cheddar cheese and omitted the parsley. I offered crumbled cooked bacon, fresh snipped chives and prepared garlic-Parmesan croutons as options for diners to top their soup serving with. Next time, I will use individual sized shepherd loaves as serving bowls and make homemade garlic-Parmesan croutons out of the scooped bread from the shepherd loaves. Tips: Yukon Gold potatoes won't get mushy like russet potatoes will when boiling them. Use russet potatoes if you want a thick soup and mash them when they are tender. Rinse the leeks in a bowl of cold water so to remove any sand, remove the leeks and wring dry in towels. Keep the cubed potatoes in a bowl of cold water till needed. Always turn off the heat before stirring in the cheese so that the cheese won't separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Chicken Soup Ever

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Will make this again. This was very good. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Onion Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was ok, it needs more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Baked Chicken II

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This was really good, I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Really good, could use more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bangers and Mash

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made for St. Patricks Day Bunco Party. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States