Centennial, Colorado - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Mango Bread Pudding

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I have made both this recipe and the one from which it derived which is made with sugar. They are both very good. I made once using cinnamon and another time using the cardamom that the recipe calls for. Again, both were very good. I used leftover multi-grain hamburger buns and the second time leftover challah bread. A really simple, yet versatile recipe. Several other reviewers noted that very ripe mangoes should used and I agree. Really great bread pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Baked Pasta

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
this was ok, it was missing something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Obviously this recipe has been around a long time with many reviews too. I doubled the recipe, using an extra cup of blueberries. I substituted unsweetened applesauce for half the oil and also used orange juice in place of some of the milk as I wanted a bit of tang. I also saw Chef Joy's suggested topping in her review from 2009 and used her version instead. These were really good and a bit sweet, but others in my house thought they were perfect. I had to add more blueberries as they needed to be used, but was glad I did as these were just full of blueberries. Made in the jumbo muffin tins I have resulted in 13 very large muffins. Super recipe and I think it does outshine most bakery muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Lemon Glazed Date Sticks

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I liked the idea of this recipe better than the finished product. I also agree with Ralwattar's review that there isn't enough batter to fill the pan adequately. Maybe that would help. I ordinarily love dates, so I will try to make this one work. Did like the tartness of the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Berry Oatmeal Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Overall a good recipe. Used fresh raspberries and got a nice, tasty muffin. I do agree with some other reviewers that the topping was the best part of the overall taste. Will try again and make some of my own refinements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Peruvian Style Beer Can Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Excellent! I love Peruvian style chicken and this hit the mark. The ingredients as listed were perfect as was the lime water wash. I didn’t cook a beer can chicken, rather I direct grilled a cut up chicken on the grill after marinating the chicken as described in the recipe. DO NOT skip the lime water wash step because I think that it moistens and tenderizes the chicken. For the person that said that the marinade didn't penetrate the meat very much - pierce the meat thoroughly with one of those needle style meat tenderizers such as a 24 pin meat tenderizer tool, I have the Deni brand. I grilled it over mesquite coal of which added another dimension of flavor. Thanks ricfera for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lime Chicken with Cilantro Cream Sauce and Roasted Zucchini

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Did not have much flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Asian-Style Honey Chicken

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This was pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Potato Wedges

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
First time making these I stuck to the written recipe. Second time around I used olive oil, added paprika, rosemary and a dusting of cayenne pepper once they were in the pan. I think the cayenne gave this dish some zing that was lacking in the original recipe. I usually substitute sea salt for regular table salt as I think it imparts a better flavor and I did with this dish, as well. As others have noted, this recipe is very versatile and can be changed as per individual tastes or occasions. A winner in my view!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Asian Salmon

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemony Steamed Fish

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
this recipe was ok, it needed more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Pork with Sour Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
This was very good, I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Lemon Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I don't understand why some baked goods improve so much overnight but, these cookies got about 60% better overnight. After they cooled completely and my husband and I had about 5 apiece, I put them in a big ziplock bag because I wanted these soft cookies to stay soft. I thought they were good last night, but not spectacular. And not as good as the other reviewers thought they were. Well, today I reached for one and now I DO think they are spectacular. Soft, buttery little mounds of cinnamon/lemon deliciousness. However, I do have a problem with how few cookies this recipe actually makes. I doubled the recipe as I intended to send some to my grandkids. Even doubling the recipe only yielded 70 cookies. And I made them quite small, only forming the balls to 1-inch size. The picture accompanying the recipe shows a much larger cookie. It is, unfortunately misleading. I should have gotten 120 cookies by doubling the recipe or at least over 100. And these came out so small they looked like dog treat cookies. But for the discrepancy in the number of cookies, I would have rated this cookie 5 stars. Any ideas as to why some bakers got many less cookies from this recipe? I stuck to the recipe except for doubling it and I used the adjustment feature Allrecipes has to change proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Slow Cooker Tender and Yummy Round Steak

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Slow Cooker Swiss Steak

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Poifect as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seminary Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Don't get me wrong, I do appreciate chocolate chips in many recipes. I am just not crazy about putting them in muffins. I used dried cranberries and dried cherries instead of the chocolate chips. Made these as per the recipe except for the chocolate chips. Very, very good. I think these are a good quick breakfast or with a nice cup of coffee. Nice tender crumb and sweet taste without being too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Janine's Best Banana Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This banana bread was just average in my opinion. It lacked nuts and a strong banana flavor. Meh...,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Dried Cherry Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I found this cake to be just wonderful. I discovered too late that I had run out of almond extract so used vanilla to soak the cherries and also added a bit more to the cake itself. I doubled the recipe so it would adequately fill a 9" round pound cake pan (with hole in middle). I also decided on impulse to chop up a large dark chocolate bar I snagged at Big Lots for $1 because I love chocolate and cherry flavor combinations. It turned out great. Besides doubling the recipe and adding chopped chocolate, and omitting the pecans, I followed the recipe. I also took Laurama's advice (great idea, Laurama) and made the cherry sauce she mentioned in her review, adding in the drained- off water from the dried cherries in the cake to the frozen cherries and sugar and cornstarch. What a wonderful, beautiful looking treat. The chocolate and the cherry sauce makes it more of a mainstream dessert than a coffee cake, but I think that is a good thing. I am the baking heroine tonight at my house. I think this cake is really versatile and is just waiting for more versions for people to imagine. I think dates and candied orange peel would make a great combination, for example. Loved this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Amazing! My whole family love it. No leftovers. We put it over rice. Did not exactly caramelize, but delicious. This is going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States