Centennial, Colorado - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Delicious! I made this for supper. I don’t have a sweet tooth so I omitted the sugar and reduced the allspice and cinnamon to just a dash each in the batter. The whipping cream is sweet enough without the need for additional sugar. I also omitted the salt from the batter because I didn’t see any reason for it when the ham is already salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I followed other reviewer's suggestions of precooking the veggies (I used diced raw potatoes, frozen asparagus, frozen diced red peppers, frozen baby carrots, frozen peas and frozen green beans). I sauteed a 1/2 cup of diced celery with 3/4 cup of chopped onion in the butter. Instead of making one large pot pie, I made 4 single serving size pot pies. I used more broth so that the pie filling wouldn't be dry. I also brushed the top crusts with egg white before baking the pies for 20 minutes at 425F. After 20 minutes of baking time, I covered the pot pies with foil and baked them for another 10 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scott Hibb's Amazing Whisky Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This recipe is for those that have a very rich sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
The marinade/sauce is incredible. My steak was a bit tough but that was my own fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Spaghetti alla Carbonara

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Another nice rendition of Spaghetti Alla Carbonara by Chef John. I couldn't find guanciale (the authentic meat for carbonara) anywhere so I used pancetta instead. I also added a bit of minced garlic and shallots to the sauté pan of the pancetta. Magnifico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
An outstanding side dish for shrimp or pork. I always use pasta that is imported from Italy because the bronze equipment that is used in Italy produces a rough texture to the pasta and that makes any sauce cling better to the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I added freshly minced garlic and freshly minced onion to the salt water brine. I also added some soy sauce to the buttermilk brine for even more flavor. I seasoned the meat first and then sprinkled the flour over the meat. My modifications to this recipe produced an excellent entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Spaghetti al Tonno

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I've made this recipe a few times and it is awesome! The last time, I used fresh yellow fin tuna in place of the canned tuna. I cheated by not making the sauce of this recipe the last time by using Chef John's "Hide The Little Fish" pasta/pizza sauce that I had leftover in the fridge and it was great! I prefer using imported pasta from Italy because it is pressed through bronze extruding equipment that gives the pasta more texture and that makes any sauce stick to it a little more. Another tip: ~ 1 teaspoon of anchovy paste equals 1 anchovy filet. I keep a tube of anchovy paste in my fridge for sauce recipes like this or for my Caesar salad dressing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beau Monde Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
sub some greek yogurt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Meatloaf

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
So tasty, moist and tender. For those of you that have been following Chef John for awhile: you should know that he underestimates cooking times quite often because I don't think that he accurately times anything outside of his perfect prime rib recipe. Just use an instant-read thermometer and remove the meatloaf from the oven when it reaches 155 deg F. The addition of pureed veggies to the meat was essential for making it so moist and the Sriracha sauce added the needed kick for the glaze. I have enough leftover meatloaf to make cold meatloaf sandwiches for awhile. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Absolutely delicious! The only thing that I did different was that I brined the pork chops in the fridge overnight so to ensure tenderness. Tip: If you don't have a large enough of a skillet: brown the chops in 2 separate batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Denver Omelet

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Delicious! I made this in a cast iron skillet. I didn't have any ham on hand so I substituted cooked bacon for the ham and I added a small diced tomato to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Bulgogi

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Excellent recipe! I followed this recipe very closely except I subbed top sirloin steak for the flank steak. I try to refrain from using refined sugar so I subbed a 1/2 cup of natural pear juice in place of the sugar. Natural pear juice has a neutral flavor and isn’t as sweet as using honey as a substitute for sugar. Outside of this recipe; I sautéed some carrot sticks, freshly grated ginger, sliced mushrooms and sliced onions to add with the bulgogi in red leaf lettuce wraps. The sautéed veggies subbed for kimchee that is traditionally used. I added some water to the reserved marinade, boiled it in a small pot for a minute or so and poured it over steamed rice. I also made a marinated cucumber salad as a side dish. My entire family loved this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Decided to make the Passion Bars recipe I found and made several years ago also on AR. Starting a baking project at 10 pm is pretty typical for me, but when I disovered what I thouht was sweetened condensed milk in my pantry was evaporated milk I was not happy. Fear not! Another enterprising cook had posted a recipe to turn the evaporated milk into just what I needed! So I initially followed the directions as written and while I waited for the milk and sugar to come to a boil, I read the reviews and decided to deviate from what I had in the pan. I added a half cup powdered sugar, a cup of fat-free half and half, 1 tsp vanilla and cooked everything for 30 minutes, stirring constantly at a rolling boil. Placed in the fridge to cool ang voila! The result was a great tasting sweetened condensed milk without a late night run to the grocery store. Also, the bars turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Roast in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
this is ok needs more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chicken Ever

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I only used 2 skinless, bone-in chicken breasts that I marinated in a 1/2 cup of buttermilk and 2 tablespoons of soy sauce for a couple of hours. Then I sprinkled a bit of garlic powder, onion powder and freshly cracked pepper over them before rolling them in the cornflake crumbs. I baked them for an hour in a 350 degree oven and they were so moist and tasty. Next time, I think that will sprinkle some freshly grated Parmesan cheese on them before baking them. I served the chicken breasts with sides of: made-from-scratch potato pancakes, made-from-scratch creamy chicken gravy (for topping the potato pancakes with) and steamed carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Creamy Blue Cheese Dressing

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This dressing/dip is incredible! I made the full recipe w/o the buttermilk then separated the mixed ingredients into separate bowls. That way I could add the right amount of buttermilk to make a dip and a dressing to their proper consistencies. I served the dressing over wedge salads and served the dip with my own version of buffalo wings on NFL conference championship Sunday in January 2014. I also taught my guests Chef John's trick on how to eat a flat wing piece. It was the perfect football meal and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Barbeque Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This recipe was very good, the chicken was great, I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Praline Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
WARNING! Don't make this for your holiday table unless you are willing to make it EVERY year for the the REST of your LIFE! I've made this for at least ten years, it is such an enormous hit that now every TG and Xmas I am under strict orders to make this. I will add that every year there are fewer pies and sweets brought to the table because everyone fills up on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SolarMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Brownies

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Amazing! We love brownies in our house and for a while I was making brainy brownies which were great only because my husband and I didn't go near them! I was looking for ways to use up zucchini from the garden as I'm the only one that likes z. bread. Anyway, these brownies are amazing, moist and totally decadent. There is no taste or texture from the zucchini, I think it just moistens the brownie considerably. I've made it several times and I would say this is between a cake and a chewy brownie, not super dense but super moist. Not sure how some people get a dry brownie out of this. It doesn't seem possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SolarMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States