Centennial, Colorado - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chef John's Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I made this exactly as per the recipe. I despise the flavor of cinnamon but used it anyway and I believe that it denigrated the recipe for me. The rest of my family loved this recipe thus Chef John still deserves 5 stars for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braunschweiger Potato Hash

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Das schmect gut! I sauteed fresh onions and garlic with the spuds. Perfect with soft sunny side up eggs. Thanks for the recipe! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Followed this recipe EXACTLY as written, including using real Spanish SMOKED paprika, something most reviewers admit they did not do. It has been in the crockpot for about eight hours on low. It smells good, but the flavor is very strong and tastes very much like the smoked paprika. I'm okay with that as my family is from Spain and we use that spice in many dishes. It is not a traditional American beef stew flavor, however. I'm not sure anyone other than me will really like it. I've done several samples and agree with some of the other reviewers that it is somewhat bland. It needs "something". I'm reluctant to just add a lot of salt but I do think that would help, although I'm not sure that's the best solution healthwise. As of right now what is in the crockpot is more of a soup than a stew, sort of the consistency of typical beef barley. The paprika also has made the entire thing pretty red in color, not at all like the photo and again not a typical looking American beef stew. I am going to serve it with a crusty bread for soaking up the broth, will add more salt, and will keep my fingers crossed that it is better tomorrow, as some reviewers have stated. I am giving it three stars now as it doesn't look anything like the photo and is definitely missing something it needs to give it a more full bodied flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cauliflower Prosciutto Pizza

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I make a "traditional pizza" for my husband and son and a second one with flair for myself. This will go on my repeat list. The flavors worked great together simple and straightforward but flavorful, it was easy to make and I'm looking forward to plenty of left overs for myself as everyone else in the house will say "Cauliflower? On Pizza? Yuck!" Little do they know...Glad to be the first to rate the recipe and thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SolarMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Potato Salad Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I neglected to read the reviews before making this recipe, as I usually do. I chopped some onion and also used dill relish. I didn't have Miracle Whip, but used a vegan mayo with a small splash of an Italian vinaigrette instead. Really, really good variation on a typical deviled egg recipe! Having now read the reviews I wish I had added chopped celery, but I will next time. I pretty much stuck to the recipe otherwise,though I did make 12 eggs. I did add some Penzey's coarse ground Telicherry Black Pepper as my family loves its dishes very peppery which gave the egg/potato mixture a nice snap. Will make this one again. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Layered Chicken and Black Bean Enchilada Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I have made this several times for family & friends and it never fails that someone asks for the recipe :) I use cilantro paste located in the fresh herb section of my grocery store and use 4oz only because I'm a huge fan of cilantro! Very good, very filling! Thanks for the share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staysea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Delicious! I made this for supper. I don’t have a sweet tooth so I omitted the sugar and reduced the allspice and cinnamon to just a dash each in the batter. The whipping cream is sweet enough without the need for additional sugar. I also omitted the salt from the batter because I didn’t see any reason for it when the ham is already salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I followed other reviewer's suggestions of precooking the veggies (I used diced raw potatoes, frozen asparagus, frozen diced red peppers, frozen baby carrots, frozen peas and frozen green beans). I sauteed a 1/2 cup of diced celery with 3/4 cup of chopped onion in the butter. Instead of making one large pot pie, I made 4 single serving size pot pies. I used more broth so that the pie filling wouldn't be dry. I also brushed the top crusts with egg white before baking the pies for 20 minutes at 425F. After 20 minutes of baking time, I covered the pot pies with foil and baked them for another 10 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scott Hibb's Amazing Whisky Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This recipe is for those that have a very rich sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
The marinade/sauce is incredible. My steak was a bit tough but that was my own fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Spaghetti alla Carbonara

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Another nice rendition of Spaghetti Alla Carbonara by Chef John. I couldn't find guanciale (the authentic meat for carbonara) anywhere so I used pancetta instead. I also added a bit of minced garlic and shallots to the sauté pan of the pancetta. Magnifico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
An outstanding side dish for shrimp or pork. I always use pasta that is imported from Italy because the bronze equipment that is used in Italy produces a rough texture to the pasta and that makes any sauce cling better to the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I added freshly minced garlic and freshly minced onion to the salt water brine. I also added some soy sauce to the buttermilk brine for even more flavor. I seasoned the meat first and then sprinkled the flour over the meat. My modifications to this recipe produced an excellent entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Spaghetti al Tonno

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I've made this recipe a few times and it is awesome! The last time, I used fresh yellow fin tuna in place of the canned tuna. I cheated by not making the sauce of this recipe the last time by using Chef John's "Hide The Little Fish" pasta/pizza sauce that I had leftover in the fridge and it was great! I prefer using imported pasta from Italy because it is pressed through bronze extruding equipment that gives the pasta more texture and that makes any sauce stick to it a little more. Another tip: ~ 1 teaspoon of anchovy paste equals 1 anchovy filet. I keep a tube of anchovy paste in my fridge for sauce recipes like this or for my Caesar salad dressing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beau Monde Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
sub some greek yogurt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Meatloaf

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
So tasty, moist and tender. For those of you that have been following Chef John for awhile: you should know that he underestimates cooking times quite often because I don't think that he accurately times anything outside of his perfect prime rib recipe. Just use an instant-read thermometer and remove the meatloaf from the oven when it reaches 155 deg F. The addition of pureed veggies to the meat was essential for making it so moist and the Sriracha sauce added the needed kick for the glaze. I have enough leftover meatloaf to make cold meatloaf sandwiches for awhile. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Absolutely delicious! The only thing that I did different was that I brined the pork chops in the fridge overnight so to ensure tenderness. Tip: If you don't have a large enough of a skillet: brown the chops in 2 separate batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Denver Omelet

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Delicious! I made this in a cast iron skillet. I didn't have any ham on hand so I substituted cooked bacon for the ham and I added a small diced tomato to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Bulgogi

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Excellent recipe! I followed this recipe very closely except I subbed top sirloin steak for the flank steak. I try to refrain from using refined sugar so I subbed a 1/2 cup of natural pear juice in place of the sugar. Natural pear juice has a neutral flavor and isn’t as sweet as using honey as a substitute for sugar. Outside of this recipe; I sautéed some carrot sticks, freshly grated ginger, sliced mushrooms and sliced onions to add with the bulgogi in red leaf lettuce wraps. The sautéed veggies subbed for kimchee that is traditionally used. I added some water to the reserved marinade, boiled it in a small pot for a minute or so and poured it over steamed rice. I also made a marinated cucumber salad as a side dish. My entire family loved this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Decided to make the Passion Bars recipe I found and made several years ago also on AR. Starting a baking project at 10 pm is pretty typical for me, but when I disovered what I thouht was sweetened condensed milk in my pantry was evaporated milk I was not happy. Fear not! Another enterprising cook had posted a recipe to turn the evaporated milk into just what I needed! So I initially followed the directions as written and while I waited for the milk and sugar to come to a boil, I read the reviews and decided to deviate from what I had in the pan. I added a half cup powdered sugar, a cup of fat-free half and half, 1 tsp vanilla and cooked everything for 30 minutes, stirring constantly at a rolling boil. Placed in the fridge to cool ang voila! The result was a great tasting sweetened condensed milk without a late night run to the grocery store. Also, the bars turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States