Castle Rock, Colorado - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Mini Mexican Quiches

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I took these to our monthly game night and they were excellent. My only complaint is that the recipe says it will be ready in 50 minutes. So I allowed an hour. This caused a little bit of a problem when I later saw it needs to refrigerate for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cola Onion Pork Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Followed directions, easy to make. Chops were tender and done. Wife liked it, I didn't. Sauce tasted okay but was too thin. It all tasted okay served over rice with chilled pear sauce on the side. Would rather have had Stove Top dressing & gravy with the chops. Not likely to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Papa Joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I really liked this recipe. I made it exactly as written and used it in my "cake pop" pan. I baked them for 20 minutes at 350 and they came out really tastey. I drizzled them with melted mint chocolate chips and they were amazing. Thanks for the recipe. I will keep this one with my cake pop pan and use it over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melekay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheese Soup with Broccoli

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I was looking for a Broccoli Cheese soup recipe that doesn't call for 'processed cheese food' and they don't seem to exist. A few reviewers have done this soup with cheddar, so I gave it a try - there is NO REASON to use PCF in this recipe! I made it as written, using chicken bouillon as the broth, 2 cups 2% milk, and 2 cups half and half, and about 3/4 lb grated extra sharp cheddar cheese. I only used about 1/4 of an onion because my husband doesn't like them. While I personally would have liked more onion, I DO think that 4x as much would be too much, so you may want to scale back the onion a bit. I also added a bit of fresh garlic to the onion/butter mix. Prepared the soup as instructed. My 6 year old and my 2 year old both had 2 servings. Even my husband who wasn't going to eat it (because of the above mentioned onion) had 2 huge bowls! For my 2 year old, I used a blender to chop up the veggies so she wouldn't notice them. After her first bite, she atarted clapping and saying 'Yay!' - now that's a good review!Next time I make this, I think I will blend half of the soup just to eliminate some of the chunks of broccoli. I can't wait to make this with chicken, crab, smoked cheddar... the possibilities are endless! I went ahead and gave this 5 stars, because even though I don't think the recipe is perfect, you SHOULD try it if you are looking for a great Broccoli Cheese soup, and add what your family loves to make it perfect for you :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Egg Mayonnaise

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
When I made this the first time I didnt run it in the blender long enough. The second time I also took the cap off on the blender and drizzled Canola Oil as one of the other reviewers suggested and added a little bit of pepper. This is the Only Mayo we will ever use again. It is so simple and tastes so much better than store bought without all the chemicals and additives :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Egg Mayonnaise

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
When I made this the first time I didnt run it in the blender long enough. The second time I also took the cap off on the blender and drizzled Canola Oil as one of the other reviewers suggested and added a little bit of pepper. This is the Only Mayo we will ever use again. It is so simple and tastes so much better than store bought without all the chemicals and additives :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Applesauce Appetizer

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I just realized I haven't rated this recipe. I have been making it for several years for get togethers. I rarely have any leftovers. I do make sure the sausage is good and browned before I mix it with the other ingredients. If its only lightly browned it doesn't taste quite as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was delicious! I made it exactly as stated, but didn't have to cook for as long as it stated to make sure not to overcook. I think next time I will cook in aluminum foil to preserve even more moisture. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Party Meatballs

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I made these for New Year's in the crockpot and found the sauce to be a little thin. Would have liked it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

BREAKSTONE'S Creamy Layered Enchilada Bake

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This recipe rates at least 4 stars based on the versatility - I made some changes to this dish, because I wanted to make it for dinner, but didn't have all of the ingredients on hand. I didn't use the Italian seasoning (honestly can't see why you would need to), I made the 10 min enchilada sauce from this site because I think enchiladas should have ench sauce, and made the dish as follows: followed directions as written, but when it came time to add the ingredients to the beef, I skipped the Italian seasoning, skipped the taco seasoning (didn't have it) and added 1/4 cup of the ench sauce instead, plus remaining ingredients. I lined the baking dish with foil, and quartered the tortillas. I put some ench sauce in the botton of the pan, placed tortillas with the corners in the corners of the pan and then filled in the rest, layered meat, skipped the sour cream (we prefer it on top after cooking) layered cheese, next layer of tortillas, meat, then enchilada sauce, last layer of cheese. Covered and baked as written. It was super tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bella's Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Thank you for an easy to follow recipe! I had never cooked brussel sprouts before and they turned out great. I read all the reviews on changes etc., but decided to stick with the original the first time. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was really tasty and unique. I followed the recipe to a "T" and wouldn't change anything next time around. I did keep the noodles separate from the chicken for leftovers so things wouldn't get soggy. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Twice-Baked Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE these potatos. I make them ALL the time-- the pair really well with ham, and chicken fried steaks :) The last few times, I tried a variation that makes them even more rich and creamy. Don't add the green pepper; instead of vegetable oil, use about 4 tbs of melted butter; reserve the bacon grease, and use about 3-4 tbs of that; add heavy cream or milk to smooth potatos out; add cream cheese, sour cream, sharp cheddar. Add onion powder, salt and pepper to taste. I was kinda just throwing random things in to add lots of flavor to it. Obviously not the healthiest variation, but it is SO yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cake Pops

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
My husband (who will eat just about anything that resembles cake) was really excited to make these to take to work as a Holiday treat. He made four ahead of time as an after dinner treat for our daughter, and decided not to make the rest - his exact words were "The doughnut holes make them gross, they don't taste anything like cake pops."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Graham-Streusel Coffee Cake (Coffee Pie)

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
We prefer to use a Vietnamese cinnamon (that's incredibly fresh that we get from The Savory Spice Shop)... it makes a huge difference in the taste (in anything that uses cinnamon). Also, the nuts are optional for those who have nut allergies. We also prefer to use a Betty Crocker French Vanilla white cake (with pudding) mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig Kendall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Corn and Crab Bisque

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This was very good! I hate it when people don't make the recipe as is, but I didn't have any liquid shrimp and crab boil seasoning or Cajun seasoning so I just used Old Bay and cayenne pepper. The flavor was great, so I can't imagine how good it would be with the seasonings that were called for. I prefer my soups a bit thicker so I think next time I make this I will use cream corn. Great cold night dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

RamJam Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This was good...I marinated overnight and then grilled...followed the recipe. I just ate the chicken alone with a salad on the side. Very juicy...I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly except that I cut the salt...personal taste. I gave this 4 stars because it wasn't the consistency that I prefer. I will definitely make it again but perhaps puree one of the potatoes or add flour and I will cut the basil in half...it gave a nice flavor, but a bit strong for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey in a Bag

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I've used this recipe for the last two Thanksgivings and just love it. The turkey comes out perfectly moist every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I used the decadent chocolate cake mix, a cup of unsweetened applesauce instead of oil and sugar free fat free instant jello pudding mix and it was so good! Very dense but great flavor and looks good coming out of a bundt pan. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States